We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've never been so knowledgable about insects!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Butterfly Farm

Jungle Butterfly Farm
Pueblo Nuevo, Bejuco, Nandayure 50906, Costa Rica
506-2655-8070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Nandayure
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Ricas largest open air butterfly farm!We feature fun filled guided tours high lighting butterflies of open fields, shade species and a variety of other insect life found in our area. An experience not to be missed and suited for all ages and experience levels.Savor the taste of exotic honeys from various types of bees and enjoy the effortless fun learning about our little paradise!
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I've never been so knowledgable about insects!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Butterfly Mike is an encyclopedic and engaging host... this is a good bit of fun and you'll learn a lot!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Porvenir, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The owner of the Butterfly farm is an amazing character who shares his considerable knowledge of bugs in an interesting and engaging manner. You won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Mike is very knowledgeable of all sorts of jungle insects and animals. He is funny and has lots of great anecdotes. We loved the tour and recommend it to anyone in the area.
His honey is unique.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One word - fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A beautiful place, and a great host! Mike was gracious to take us around before tourist season, so our tour was private - lucky us! He is knowledgeable beyond belief, and has planted the right things to attract butterflies to this completely natural setting! Butterflies aren't the only thing you'll see - we saw bees (stingless!) and bats (harmless!), and tasted honey! We learned so much! I'm sure each tour is different, based on what shows up in nature that day! Thank you, Mike! We'll never forget the day we spent on your farm!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa San MIguel, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“prepare to learn lots of cool stuff....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

its pretty simple.....build it and they will come.....and build it mike malliet did.....the entire farm is just perfectly laid out... in the lower corner set on an open hillside next to the jungle lies a simple flowered area just bursting with life......there are so many butterflies its almost too much to take in at first, but thats where mike comes in....his knowledge and expertise are second to none and he does a wonderful job of explaining genus/species/ habits, unique traits, and just about anything else you would wonder about each type of butterfly....a nice walk on the hillside, followed by a little jaunt into the edge of the jungle winds up at a wonderful little gift shop loaded with local art, jewelry, and of course mike's (and the bees') very own jungle honey....taste and take some home along with your pictures and wonderful memories of this not-to-be-missed tour near playa san miguel.....cant recommend enough, as evidenced by the amount of people we happily send there.....top notch stuff

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jungle Butterfly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Butterfly Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.