We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort to your Saves list
BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   25 - 29 Shute Harbour Road, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great for young families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here with a 4yr old, 2 yr old and a baby in a deluxe studio cabin. The cabin was good value for money and had everything we needed. The bunks were a novelty for our son too! The playground, jumping pillow and pool etc were EXCELLENT!! Our 4 yr old went on the waterslides all day on one of our days there. Honestly, with little kids you don't even need to leave the park, there is so much to do!! There is also a nice big camp kitchen, the bathroom facilities are great and so next time we are thinking of taking a tent. And if the kids have scooters, take them along too, it will keep them entertained for hours.
The only negatives were: No towels for the pool area, so you need to make sure you take your own!
The sandflies, Dont forget the bug repellent or you will be scratching for days! This is to be expected though in the tropics.
Overall, we absolutely loved it and enjoyed a really fun stay, thanks so much.

Room Tip: We had cabin 30, it was right next to an outdoor BBQ, really really handy! Though the creek was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    57
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
188
71
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Some months prior to the beginning of our trip, as Big 4 members we made a two night booking as part of our return journey south from Townsville. During the course of our holiday we found that we had an extra night available, and was able to arrange this to be added to our stay, via the phone, closer to our arrival, without it being a hassle to reception staff.

Our arrival was handled just as efficiently, with welcoming wishes and a friendly smile. I must say that the Green Frog at the front entrance to the Resort was almost outdone by the group of ducks that gathered at the bottom of the steps to our villa, no doubt looking for a handout.

This is a family park, and many of the facilities cater for couples with children rather than ourselves, however it was obvious from what we saw, and the apparent good times that people
were having, that this is a wonderful holiday location.

While the park was almost full, the location of our villa appeared to be free of 'people' noise most of the time. The accommodation was spacious and immaculately clean, and well set up with kitchen utensils / appliances.

Would thoroughly recommend this Resort to anyone travelling to the Whitsundays for a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

On the 1st steps through the reception doors to the most beautiful of tropical gardens this park has it all. Amazing pool, playground mini-golf and more for the kiddies. The bathroom was very attractive with large change area within the shower cubicle. Highly recommend this park.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here with our two daughters, their partners and two year old twins.
Although the park is a fair way out of Airlie Beach, it is not a problem as the local buses stop outside the door.
Facilities are excellent. Loved the pool and our toddlers loved the playground and big pillow as well.
The spit roast night was excellent and raised money for charity as a bonus. Open air cinema was also a winner.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and our cabin was excellent, and plenty of room for all of us.
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here with our two young children for a few days -- they loved the playground, the jumping pillow, the toddler pool was great too. Pool was heated. Front office women super, super helpful. We stayed in a cabin on the last row of the park -- I think it would be nicer if the cabins had their own BBQ on the porch because some nights it was a long wait at the collective BBQ place to cook dinner. Very clean, huge cabin and nice for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the 2nd time iv stayed here and ill be coming back for sure! I love going into town with the bus stop right out front is so handy!!!
The pool was really nice tempteture the weather was beautiful ... Perfect holiday thank u big4!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

First time at this Big 4 (have stayed at others). Excellent activities, loved how they emailed them a week before our stay. We did the charity bbq by the pool which was great, got to meet other families there. Couldn't stay for the quiz but that would've been really fun. There was a power cut and our hot water cylinder blew so they upgraded us for the rest of our stay. Nothing was a problem, I asked for several phone calls to be made on my behalf and they were made, with staff letting me know later. The best playground ever, and mini golf was a lot of fun too. Both have shade and ditto the pool. Best Big 4 ever! I think it's family owned and they're on site and I'd say they look after their staff well. Would not hesitate to stay there again. The only down side (apart from leaving) is there is no info in their lobby about other towns to visit, but they were really helpful about local stuff. It wasn't a cheap stay but value for money with the playground and activities certainly made up for it. Handy to a small but good mall (5 min walk). A bit far from Airlie Beach central but I wouldn't have found better facilities closer.

Room Tip: 2 brm holiday villa was good for our little family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonvale
2.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
3.0 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
3.0 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
3.8 mi away
BIG4 Airlie Cove Resort & Caravan Park
1.7 mi away
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort

Address: 25 - 29 Shute Harbour Road, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Cannonvale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cannonvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Airlie Beach (gateway to the Whitsundays), BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort is recognized as one of Australia's leading resort style holiday parks being a Whitsunday Tourism Award Winner for 16 consecutive years and Queensland state winner for 2011 & 2008, finalist for 6. We've built our reputation on providing an exceptional standard of facilities in a fun, friendly, relaxed environment. With 10 different styles of accommodation from camping to luxury condos, a huge lagoon-style pool (heated in winter months), kids club and numerous activities, you won’t want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big4 Adventure Whitsunday Hotel
Hotel Big4 Adventure Whitsunday

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.