We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort to your Saves list
BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   25 - 29 Shute Harbour Road, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Best Family Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are in Mackay so nice and close for us. They are all about Family's. We love the pool and golf. We had a powder site for our tent. Great value for money. We found the facilities where clean and easy to use. Looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    53
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
177
65
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Big4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort, Cannonvale, is 7 minutes drive from Airlie Beach.
– Pre-booked and one night paid for by phone the previous day. $47pn (£31) for powered site is very expensive, but this is a resort, rather than a Caravan Park. If you didn't guess that from the price, you would know it as soon as you step into the hotel-style reception, manned by 4 lovely uniformed young ladies.
- Resort very busy, so first 2 nights had to be on a new grassed area with only young trees and plants (only opened up a few months ago), a long way from either of the amenities. We had arranged for the next 2 nights to be on site 36, with trees around, and next to amenities and the drying green - but changed our minds, after we found we had fewer mozzies, and it was less busy, at our end!
- It is large well-established park, with 10 named streets, lovely cabins, and beautiful lush tropical plants and palms.

- By the office, there is a kids/function room and an internet kiosk.
- There is wifi throughout the park, but not free. (We didn’t use it, so don’t know it it had good reception.) TV reception was not perfect, it pixellated a lot..
- There are 5 small BBQ areas in the park, as well as the Camp Kitchen, with TV. The giant picnic bench tables are beautiful dark varnished wood with designs incised in the wood, and there is a similar panel along the front of the cooking area. (Drinks machine, 4 element stove top, small oven, 2 microwaves, BBQ, fridge and dish washing area.)
- There are 2 amenities blocks, both with a laundry, and rotary drying lines outside. At the main Amenities block, there are 2 family bathrooms and disabled bathrooms, as well as the standard.

In Fantasea Island (which is not an island) there is the ‘ 32 metre pool’ which is actually an interesting sort of trefoil shape, with a shaded children’s wading area in one section, and 2 water slides (one open and one a tube), between 2 of the sections. - Far too many people having a great splashy time, but we did manage not to get splashed too often! A blackboard said the water temp was 28, but it felt cool! There is one spa button to activate two small spa-bubble areas in two of the curves, but they are very gentle. - Open-air massage table seemed popular, at not much more than a dollar a minute. - 18-hole Mini golf, a super children’s playground, a large jumping pillow with a sail-awning above it, a volley/badminton net, a small picnic pavilion, basketball shooting circle, Tennis court, outdoor movie screen (Monday, Wed, Sat), Bocce (boules) and Giant Chess.
- Equipment for tennis, mini golf, table tennis, basketball, volleyball, badminton, bocce and board games all require a deposit. Various sizes of go-kart are available for hourly rental, and a lot of people seem to have brought there own bikes and scooters. People of all ages are pedalling or scooting around the park all day long! Scheduled activities every day, mostly for kids.

There are bands of Whistling Ducks, which are very attractive, all over the park, and at least one Bush Turkey and an Ibis. Also, green tree frogs, cane toads and possums, but we didn’t see any of those (except squashed cane toads by the entrance!).

To the right of the park, the Centro Whitsunday Shopping Centre, is 15 min walk (not a great deal of shade), and has a Woolworths supermarket.
To the left, it is 2 mins drive to Dunnings, and then a strip of shops with a Spar Express minimarket - or 4 mins to Whitsunday Shopping Centre, (there is a large vehicle parking area to the back left of the Whitsunday Shopping Centre, and they have a large Coles supermarket there - or 7 mins to Airlie Beach, where the night-life happens!
It is 10 mins drive from Airlie Beach to Shute Harbour, where there is a stunning Whitsunday view from the Lions’ Lookout.
A local bus stops outside the Park every 20-30 minutes, and takes 15 minutes to Airlie Beach or 27 minutes to Shute Harbour.

Room Tip: The 16 new ‘Tennis Court sites’ (opposite the tennis court, volleyball net and jumping pillow) are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this park for 4 nights and it was well worth the drive from Brisbane. The kids had a ball and mum and dad relaxed..Facilities were clean and all the people we met were lovely. Close to shops etc also makes Big 4 Cannonvale very handy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Big Frog rocks! Airlie Big 4 Cannonvale, stayed NYE 2013 for 3 nights. Neat and tidy, very well maintained facilities and a big thumbs up to the cleaners/caretakers for the high standards.
Pick ups are available from the many and varied tourist operators servicing Airlie Beach, and the Ocean Rafting guys dropped us off before the folks staying in town!!
Really helpful and pleasant reception staff (frogettes!) and we had same great pancakes made by the staff with the sale proceeds going to a local charity that they support.
Ripper of a stay, thanks guys!

Room Tip: We had an 'overflow' camping site, two along from the amenities block!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Was the most amazing and memerable time that the family have had in a long time. We will be returning. Everyone was very polite including the holiday makers. Great ensuit's cabins, pefect for the family. The aicon was quite noisy and vibrated the walls where you slept but that didn't matter because you where that tired from doing so much we just fell asleep straight away. Pool was fantatic, kids had a ball, so did we. Staff were friendly and very helpfull when booking tour's. Recommend for all wanting to get away.

Room Tip: No matter where you stay around the park, the area is great, really kid friendly. If just a couple g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We always stay at the Big 4 in Airlie in Cannonvale. Not sure how many times it has been but approx 10 and would not stay anywhere else. Their service is always A1 and cannot say enough about the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stopped in after my brother recommended this park, and we were not dissapointed. Unfortunately we could not get an ensuite site but that didn't matter, the amenities were the cleanest we have ever seen in a holiday park and very modern too. Right from checkin we were made to feel welcome, nice grassy sites seperated by trees, fantastic swimming pool, an all round rewarding stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort

Address: 25 - 29 Shute Harbour Road, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Cannonvale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cannonvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Airlie Beach (gateway to the Whitsundays), BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort is recognized as one of Australia's leading resort style holiday parks being a Whitsunday Tourism Award Winner for 16 consecutive years and Queensland state winner for 2011 & 2008, finalist for 6. We've built our reputation on providing an exceptional standard of facilities in a fun, friendly, relaxed environment. With 10 different styles of accommodation from camping to luxury condos, a huge lagoon-style pool (heated in winter months), kids club and numerous activities, you won’t want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big4 Adventure Whitsunday Hotel
Hotel Big4 Adventure Whitsunday

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Adventure Whitsunday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.