We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Club Croc Hotel Airlie Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Croc Hotel Airlie Beach to your Saves list
Club Croc Hotel Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   240 Shute Harbour Road, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonvale
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Run Down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Club Crocodile arriving at about 6pm after a big work day, and at the end of a particularly gruelling week, we are a husband and wife team working away from home.
We checked for local hotel rooms available on wotif but didnt book on wotif as we were driving right past.
Upon entering the hotel and enquiring with the receptionist she took one look at us and advised there were no deluxe rooms left which is what we wanted and what wotif said was available - she said that she had just sold the last deluxe but we could have a standard room!
We are very responsible, hardworking people and were looking for a little luxury as a reward for our hardwork. We did not appreciate being treated as unworthy, untrustworthy guests.
The standard room was horrible. It had been stripped off all trimmings as though we were going to damage something. The base of the beds were frayed and dirty and not even covered with a valance. The room was dirty, the door lock was almost handing off, the curtains didnt meet to block other guests looking in, the bathroom was horrible, the furnishings sparse and totally shabby, and the mini bar non existant. There were no glasses to use, no tea, coffee, sugar - absolutely nothing.
We kept checking wotif that night and the deluxe rooms remained available.
It did not appear as though there were many guests staying as the carpark was empty and all the guest rooms overlooking the restaurant were in darkness. The handful of guests who were in the restaurant all looked as disappointed as we did.
The meal we ate was so average and the one girl serving was also doing some food preparation, the waitressing and looking absolutely worn out and frazzled.
We stay away often in all sorts of motels from whatever is available, to really nice depending on our requirements; eg short or long stay, and this resort is so run down it is pathetic.
Overall we didnt like being judged and lied to by the receptionist, and we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    61
    65
    115
See reviews for
65
107
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place needs HELP,dont stay here it is YUCKY,also club croc airlie beach?no its in cannonvale bit false on the name.DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY.Dont stay here its not worth it :(.Staff are un helpful place is in need of an overhall lifts dont work,sign said ATM not ATM in sight,lounge is stained and falling apart,more for backpackers,not for family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed there in the non peak season.
The shower needs to accomadate for bigger people.
The "Queen Bed" were two singles pushed together, we ended up taking the mattresses off and sleeping on the floor.
The pool/ garden could use a real good clean, i couldn't imagine how many snakes there are .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place was obviously built as a top notch resort. That was some time ago, and the property doesn't appear to have been well looked-after of late.
We visited out-of season, so I hope our room rate was not inflated by much in-season. It was about right. $99 for a queen room in this mid-high end tourism-heavy town was the best price we could get.
Decor was shabby and outdated but (just) functional. Think original mission brown wood grain laminex on wardrobes with coffee-cup stains from the 80's and other damage, original shower head and taps, cane coffee table and chairs. Pool area needed a gardener, the surrounds were dry and overgrown, not in a pleasant 'jungley' way, but in a 'we're-not-spending-cash-at-the-moment way'.
There was the impression of an owner who had lost sight of the reason people go on holidays; with signs up on every surface about things to not do ('No eating here (pool area), if you do you will be ejected from the hotel'. 'No cooking in rooms, if you do you will be ejected from the hotel and pay a $900 fine.' 'No prior purchased food is to be consumed, only food purchased on site is allowed in designated areas'. 'No diving.' No access.' Etc.) It really coloured our experience.
With a big cash injection, this place could hold its head up again, but for the moment I think I'd prefer one of the gorgeous-looking (seriously glam) caravan park cabins.
On the positive, it was close to the shopping centre (10min walk max) so we did a shop and got lovely fish and chips before coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Seriously needs a Reno, the place is falling apart. It was raining when we went and there was water everywhere, even dripping from an electrical cord. The bar stools had exposed nails and the pool wasn't clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The floors were filthy and the chair in the room we just placed outside because it was so dirty. We tried calling reception to have the room cleaned as my 1yr old's feet were black from walking on the room floor but the phone didn't even work. The air-con was small and old which didn't cool the room at all! May as well have not had any a/c. The signs out the front advertise austar but there was only free view tv. I can understand if you only paid $69 as advertised out front but we spent more than that. We would have been happy to pay more for an upgrade... However we weren't offered one.
The bathroom roof had holes patched up and I could hardly fit in the shower. I'm a small guy so anyone else won't even get in the shower. We had to wash our 1yr old with the shower door open. Our final dash was done when the fire alarm went off at 3am waking everyone up!
Overall, the rooms are old and in need of a good refreshment! I would not recommend anyone to stay here, especially if you have family!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanGroup, Manager at Club Croc Hotel Airlie Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear ConfusiousGuy,

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your recent stay at Club Crocodile Airlie Beach. Without feedback we can’t improve our shortcomings and enhance our strengths.

It is disappointing for us to read such a review. We are truly sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our housekeeping staff are trained to ensure that all rooms are serviced on a daily basis and all arrival rooms are checked by our Housekeeping Manager, I apologise that there was a lapse in this service on this occasion. I have passed this information and feedback onto my team to ensure that we continue to improve and meet our guest expectations.

If you would like to contact me directly, I am more than happy to speak with you personally regarding your stay.

I wish you well in your future travels and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. If you are in the area please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Whitsunday Regards,

Emma Waterman
Assistant General Manager
Club Crocodile, Airlie Beach
assistantgm@oceanhotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice location, friendly staff, but standard is going down with restaurant no longer serving meals, could only get 1 tv channel last night and none this morning, great setting, free wi-fi in ourdoor seating area is good. close to shopping centre and beach. air con is small box in one end of room so takes ages to cool room down. all in all value for money and clean accomodation if you are just passing through. Does have a great pool and area for children.

Room Tip: Not ground floor as it gets too noisy around pool at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Croc Hotel Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Croc Hotel Airlie Beach

Address: 240 Shute Harbour Road, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Cannonvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Croc Hotel Airlie Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Croc Hotel Airlie Beach is a 3.5 Star hotel and your perfect base while exploring the magical Whitsundays.  It offers the best value accommodation in the Whitsundays, with newly refurbished Superior, Standard and Family rooms, as well as cost effective, non-refurbished Budget rooms. The hotel is ideal for families, couples and groups of friends, featuring  a large lagoon style swimming pool, heated spa, a bistro and bar, free BBQ facilities, free wifi and ample parking for your boat trailer or caravan.  The hotel is only a short walk to the Whitsunday Shopping Centre, which includes Coles, a chemist, major banks and other specialty shops, and the Airlie Beach main street is only a 2 minute drive away. Please note that our restaurant and reception opening hours are seasonal and subject to change. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Croc Hotel Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Crocodile Resort, Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
Comfort Inn Airlie Beach
Hotel Crocodile Airlie Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Croc Hotel Airlie Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.