We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat to your Saves list
Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Honeymoon Specials
Delhi
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Cannot begin to describe the feel of this place.
It kind of places you between the sky and water. You feel afloat the calm and tranquil waters of the Maldives.
The sunsets being watched from the decks of the water villas are to die for.
The oysters and the other sea food offerings are world class and second to none.
Had a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    52
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
294
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We recently returned from our honeymoon at Huvafen Fushi. We found the staff to be fantastic in every respect and nothing was too difficult for them. We stayed in a Lagoon Bungalow with the private plunge pool which we loved. The underwater spa blew us away and is an experience in itself. The choice of restaurants is somewhat limited although every effort is made at Celsius to hold themed dinner nights to mix things up. We decided to not go for the half board option which was a good choice as this gave us more flexibility and meant we could try different things. The food overall at Huvafen was tasty but we felt is somewhat overpriced given the already high accommodation costs. The views are like something out of a magazine and overall Huvafen Fushi was
pure bliss.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I like to give a proper balanced view when visiting resorts. I hate reading the sycophantic PR prose that gushes from travel brochures, but I’m struggling to find things to moan about at Huvafen Fushi and there is so much they do really well.

It’s large enough to have a range of amenities (4+ part/full time restaurants) and just about small enough to feel fairly exclusive. Not ultra exclusive at 44 rooms, but I knew that when I booked.

The ocean spa is simply beautiful, probably the best I’ve come across. Set out on the lagoon. A network of walkways connect blissful therapy rooms including one underwater with panoramic views into the ocean. We tested eight treatments between us, all in double rooms, and all therapists performed well. 5, 7 and 10 day packages save about 25% on treatment costs. They were happy for us to share one package and also personalize it a little.

The floating gym is well equipped but if you like to run for an hour, the air-con doesn’t cope fully with the heat and humidity.

We started in beach bungalow number 3. The room itself was well appointed with an exceptional garden bathroom and pool out back for private lounging and a few steps down through the foliage to the beach out front. I wasn’t thrilled with the sea view. Quite a lot of boats in the lagoon and an island about 3 miles away with a 150ft telecommunications mast, ours is only 50ft and mostly hidden by trees.

It diminished the ‘escape to nature’ feeling but then we all want Wi-Fi whenever it suits us. It stopped bothering me by day two. Day five we moved to the Ocean Bungalow on stilts, which was stunning and had pristine clear views. Beautifully designed, much larger inside than it appears from outside, and better in real life than the photos on the website. About 1000 sq. ft. of internal and another 800 sq. ft. of outside decks, pools, and lounging spaces.

All mod cons; 2 TVs and iPod linked into a Bose entertainment system, Nespresso machine with full compliment of coffees, effective air-con, marble bathroom with Jacuzzi and family sized shower, electric louvre blinds, and a big slab of glass in the floor of the sitting area to look down into the ocean. I didn’t see many fish here and the resident marine biologist is working on ways to get more of them swimming under and across the pontoons. I did suggest fish food from an autotimer but I think she was planning a more strategic solution! Stingrays come daily to the shore 100 yards away for feeding at 6.30pm and are friendly to touch. Just avoid the poisonous barb on the tail.

The idea of the night on the fully fitted dhoni sounded great. Your own crewed boat to go off and cruise around the islands, have dinner on board, sleep, get up for snorkeling and breakfast…

In reality, the few hours sunset cruising around the islands is fun, but then anchoring in sight of your hotel suite about 3 miles away, feels a bit like camping in your own back garden. I’m not 7. Do I want to sleep in my Ocean Bungalow, which feels like the Presidential suite spread across the top of a mega-yacht, or shall we bob around all night, shoehorned into an Asian barge? No contest really. My partner made the decision easy by feeling seasick. We returned to have a sumptuous feast on our own deck served by our butler Nash who was ever helpful. All the staff we came across seemed genuinely friendly without being cloying.

The main restaurant Celcius was great for breakfast inside or out but didn’t do it for me in the evening. Food and service was still excellent but the interior ambience and lighting was flat. 3 evenings a week it spills out onto the beach restaurant Fogliani’s with live music some nights too. This was great. They have an underground wine cellar, strikingly fitted out and with some serious wines and once each week hold a special sommelier accompanied dinner. I liked the room but couldn’t envisage eating in it so skipped that.

Bottled house water is freely available even in the restaurants if you ask. Otherwise you are generally directed to the chargeable European bottled waters.

My two favourite restaurants were set out at sea on stilts. Raw did lunch and Salt next door handled dinner. Both amazing, with a range and quality of ingredients so adeptly put together in refined and accomplished dishes, such as you rarely see outside the centres of a few global capitals. Salt is more expensive but worth it. However I couldn’t reconcile having paid for half board and only getting 25% discount if choosing to eat dinner there. The main restaurant, Celcius, wasn’t only a quarter as good, and paying another $100 – $150 a head for Salt seemed steep.

I said as much the first night we tried it. Coincidentally the 18 cover restaurant was empty except for us. But to emphasise how lovely this restaurant is, it didn’t matter. It still had a great ambience from the staff and interior design. A few days later the resort offered a special for the month of June of $90 per head credit for full and half boarders at Salt. I thought this was spot on and the next two nights we were there, the restaurant was justifiably busy.

We enjoyed 12 chillaxed days altogether at Huvafen Fushi and I’d loved to have rounded it up to 3 weeks.

Room Tip: Ocean Bungalows have pristine sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northallerton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

After months of looking at various Maldive Islands we decided on Huvafen Fushi. We were not disappointed , in fact we could not have imagined such a fabulous place existed. Our only regret was that we did not book to stay longer than 8 days. The staff are just incredible , the food is unsurpassable and the feel good factor on the Island is priceless.
I had never snorkelled before but 10 minutes with Ageel and now I am hooked for life
If you are thinking of going here you will not be disappointed and I would strongly recommend visiting here for what will be the holiday of a lifetime

Room Tip: We stayed in a Lagoon Villa , fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We returned to Huvafen Fushi 2 years after our last visit. Since then, they have refurbished the rooms and put in the sunset bar at Raw.

This place is truly amazing. The service, which some people have commented on in a negative manner in the past, is second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. Everything from remembering what we enjoyed at breakfast after the first morning to organising a bottle of champagne as a surprise for us one evening at sunset.

We had some poor weather for a couple of days. Some hotels might see that as a means to extract more money from their guests - not so with HF. Instead, they organised free activities for the guests (e.g. cocktail making in the bar) and kept giving people free drinks here and there. They were really concerned to make sure that everyone was happy.

The food has improved in the last 2 years and is now top notch. We didn't have a single sub-standard meal and the staff went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect.

The refurb of the rooms has been made in a subtle yet elegant way and they are even better than they were (which was great).

See my other review for more detail on the resort itself but suffice to say that we saw turtles, reef sharks and every fish going on the house reef, the pool remains our number 1 in the world and the blue of the lagoon is worth a trip in itself.

We will be back.

Room Tip: We prefer the lagoon side rooms because of the view of the lagoon itself but that is all subjective...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a deluxe resort in every sense.
We only had a beach bungalow but this was, without doubt, the finest room/suite we have ever stayed in, from the Bose sound system with preloaded Ipod to the remote blinds - the outside bathroom with private plunge pool and daybed was straight from a James Bond movie! The furnishings are of the highest quality.
Service is so discreet you hardly ever see it - things just appear before you realise you need them.
The island is only small but even though the resort was almost full we only ever saw people at meal times in the restaurant. or in one of the bars.
I was the only diver staying so I was provided with my own personal dive boat (with 3 crew), a personal dive guide and all at no extra cost other than the normal dive fees - an unbelievable experience for someone used to the crowded dive boats of the Red Sea.
As a final comment, I can't believe you pay all this money and they give you an outside toilet in the back yard - but seriously if ever you get the chance to visit this idyllic part of the planet, take it and don't worry about the cost until you get home. Some memories are beyond money.

Room Tip: We had a 'basic' Beach bugalow - it was amazing, I can't imagine what the upgraded rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I have spent part of the honeymoon in this paradise island. We stayed there one week.
Perfect destination: the oversea villa was brand new, simple but elegant and with every kind of comfort (included the Nespresso machine), the island is cozy and relaxing, with lots of different small spots where you can enjoy the warm sea and the gorgeus vegetation.
Food is good and you can choose among three different restaurant and in the main restaurant you can join the bbq night, the lobster night and the maldivian food night.
Service is high standard and the people working there are absolutely nice and discrete.
The underwater SPA is an experience to live! especially during sunset you can appreciate the two moments: one with small and coloured fishes on the day light and the other with big fishes (reef shark included) during night time.
On top of this every evening around 6pm you can watch and feed the ray fishes gathered for dinner down the beach!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat

Address: PO Box 2017
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Huvafen Fushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvafen Fushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
July 2012 the iconic Huvafen Fushi, the first Per AQUUM Retreat, reopened after a complete refurbishment. The renovation covered all bungalows and pavilions with new interior finishes and a fresh look; the addition of a new outdoor sunset cocktail lounge area over the reef at Raw; and a remodeled Celsius with a deliciously creative evolution of all restaurant menus. Already an award winning retreat renowned for its trailblazing concepts, these new touches reaffirm the retreat's status as a leader in premium luxury and creative hospitality. A waking dream.Set within its own lagoon,Huvafen Fushi Maldives, a Per Aquum Retreat is a pristine island offering 43 naturally-modern bungalows.Home to the world's first underwater spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Huvafen Fushi Island
Huvafen Fushi Male
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Male
Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat Huvafen Fushi Island, Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.