We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat

Save Saved
You added Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2017   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent 10 days at the Huvafen Fushi for our honeymoon. It was heaven. The room, the spa, the food and the ocean were all heaven.

Room: We stayed in an ocean bungalow. It was sheer luxury but very private and understated. We could've stayed at the bungalow the whole time and enjoyed ourselves, but we didn't.

Food: The food was excellent. We had the tasting menu twice at Salt as well as great breakfasts daily, and casual lunches by the pool. I live sushi and fresh seafood, so I was in heaven.

Spa: We enjoyed numerous 90 minute couples massages, did yoga at sunset and finished off our stay with a final spa therapy right before we took the ferry back to the airport.

The Ocean: The island reef is great snorkeling. We went twice daily seeing colorful fish, reef sharks and beautiful coral. We also adopted coral, which I highly recommend and had a romantic lunch for two on the sand bank. It was incredible.

Finally, the staff was incredible, supplying anything we needed, but also giving us a wide berth to enjoy our romantic holiday in seclusion.

My wife and I still reminisce daily about our stay there.

If you are looking for a romantic getaway, I can't think of a place better than the Huvafen Fushi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    48
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
275
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was my honeymoon with my one and only love, so it had to be special. After a lot of research and pouring over countless websites we booked at the Huvafen Fushi.

Firstly, the journey in. As with all hotels in the Maldives you'll have to take a boat or a plane. Huvafen Fushi is close to Male, only a 20 minute boat ride in good weather. We were promptly met at the airport and escorted to the boat. Everything was taken care of and we were made to feel special before we'd even gotten to the hotel.

Almost 30 minutes after we left the airport in the boat (the weather was choppy), we arrived at Huvafen Fushi. We were met by the General Manager and our thakuru, our personal butler called Fares. After a personal welcome and cocktail reception we were taken all of 50 yards to our bungalow. All we could say is wow. We had a stunning view of the crystal clear waters and a door which exited to the beach.

We must have spent the next seven days in bliss. The Huvafen Fushi management had been kind enough to upgrade us from half to full-board. We did everything from canoeing to diving, snorkeling, we took boat trips to the surrounding islands and spent a wonderful evening learning about the marine fauna in the Maldives. The highlight of our activities was planting our very own coral reef. Simply incredible.

As for the food and drink, again remarkable. We loved, simply loved the seafood, the local dishes, barbeques and everything else. We even enjoyed personal cooking lessons from their amazing chefs.

All in all, I haven't been to a hotel or a resort which has left as much of an impression as Huvafen Fushi. My wife simply didn't want to leave, and neither did I! If you go to one resort in the Maldives make sure it is this one!

Room Tip: Book on the beach rather than the sea villas. It's much more comfortable (and romantic).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

One of the most unforgettable places ever ! Starting from the arrival, where the speed boat awaits with the cool drink and amazing ocean view , untill u arrive and find the resort Manager waiting for you with a smile and amazing hospitalilty. I loved the fact that there is NO RECEPTION ! there's a guide that serves you whenever you need with anything you want. The underwater SPA was a dream come true , the details are untill perfection , they cared that even when ur lying down ,face to the floor during your massage , they put a mirror down there where you can still see the reflection of the beautiful water and the colorful fish! The chearful team , the amazing restaurants, the good food , the entertaining library, the ocean water round pool at the end of the walkway in the middle of the ocean, the fish feeding on sunset !! , the dancing and music in the evening and not to mention the Amazing bunglows and villas ! It keeps you wondering if you ever want to get out of your bunglow :)
It's a place to die for and definatly a place worth visiting at LEAST once in your life time !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was by far the most luxuries and dream like holiday I ever experienced. I loved that we were asked to take off our shoes the moment we arrived and we didnt put them back on until we departed. We stayed in the beach and water villa and both were exceptional beautiful. I can not wait to go back and experience it all over again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Looking for something to never forget? If so this is the place for you.
Huvafen Fushi is just incredible.
The staff are so happy, efficent and nothing is too much bother, the rooms are to die for.
The Spa is something else.....underwater! Andy (Spa Manager) and his incredible team leave you wanting to go back time and time again.
The food is out of this world with such a fabulous selection and variety.
The diving is amazing, Peter (water sports manager) and his great team make you feel super safe and are clearly very experienced in all the activities they offer.
I work in the 5 star Hotel business and this resort impressed me beyond anything I have experienced before.

Room Tip: All Rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

How often do you leave your holiday hotel fighting back the tears as you wave goodbye to the general manager and your personal butler? They, waving, on the jetty and you, speeding across the aquamarine lagoon in an immaculate chocolate-and-white speedboat en route to the airport.
This was our second visit and though I would never have believed it possible, it was even better than the first. I could tell you all about the beautiful white sand beaches, the stunning coral reef with dolphins, turtles, sharks (the friendly kind), octopus, lobsters, stingrays and thousands of colourful fish, fabulous bungalows complete with amazing sound system, lighting and other gadgets and a huge outdoor bathroom, the gym, the spa, the sunsets, the sumptuous breakfasts.....but you can see all of that on the website. What makes this the place you always dreamed of is the way you feel while you are here: not so much a hotel guest as the privileged house guest of a very happy and close family. Every member of the team has a smile, a greeting, and time to chat, from Marco the GM and Daniel the Head Chef, to Indika our waiter or the guys who sweep the beaches. What a wealth of experience is there! Nothing is too much trouble. Our likes and dislikes were picked up on immediately so that things started happening even before we'd thought of them ourselves. I can't think of anywhere else in the world I'd rather spend a week. In fact I just wish I was there....

Room Tip: The beach bungalows, though cheapest, are both the most convenient and private - and you're stra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had been to this island 4 times when it was 3* Nakatchafushi and it has always had a special place in our hearts. They then closed the island and re-opened as Huvafenfushi and we had always wanted to go back. Last month we were lucky enough to make it!

One of the best things about this island is that it is in a great position and small enough to walk around in about 15 mins. If you think you would be bored in the Maldives generally, then perhaps a bigger island would be the best choice for first timers. However, for us it is the perfect spot and we were not disappointed.

We had read the reviews prior to the re-furb and it is obviously a general view that the island needed an update but we were fortunate to go there straight after the re-furb and we couldn't have been happier.

It is sad to note that the service has received quite a lot of negative comments in TA but they have a new GM (Marco) who has only been there a short while and all we can say is that the service was second to none. Perhaps those issues have been addressed since Marco came to the island because we did not have one complaint about service at any time during our stay. In fact, Marco and other staff were regularly chatting to guests to make sure they were happy with their stay and if anything could be improved upon. I have to say, when it came to our party, we could not find one fault. The Manager's Cocktail Party on the Champagne Deck is a great touch - what a fabulous setting and great to be able to talk to the management IF you do have any concerns or just questions in general....

We stayed in a Beach Bungalow. Even though our teenage daughter stayed in our room, the room never felt cramped and the outdoor bathroom was wonderfully spacious with the two different showers, huge bath, double basins, plunge pool and garden. The room was kept beautifully clean at all times and Wow, what a feature the bar is! Great design!

It was great to have our own Butler to look after us and as we were there for a special celebration, we did call on their services a couple of times and everything was arranged as we wished. Thank you Bassi!

We were on half-board, which was a God-send because like all 5* islands in the Maldives, nothing comes cheap. However, you get what you pay for and if you want a 5* experience then you have to expect 5* prices. Having said that, we did think the cost of the night fishing and jet-skiing were a little bit o.t.t., even for 5* Maldives! However, it did mean our teenager was never bored!

What they do give you on a complimentary basis is lots of bottled water - a must when you are in the Maldives and on most other islands, you have to pay for this. Not to mention the bottle of champgne on ice on arrival in our room - a nice touch!

To have half-board, dinner is taken in Celsius - we loved this restaurant and it was such a bonus that it was not a buffet. We had wonderful service from such a great team without having to keep getting up and down to serve ourselves. Nothing was too much trouble and we can't praise them highly enough. The menu in this restaurant was excellent and between our party we had many memorable meals. Special thanks to Suschita and his team.

Lunchtime we ate at Fogliani's and this was the highlight of our day because we had a table under the shade of the trees, served by more lovely waiters who got to know our requirements very early on! Twice during this holiday, when we requested a slight "tweak" to the menu, they had no hesitation in calling the chef to the table to check exactly what we wanted, then went off to create our dish - at no stage did the two chefs ever give us the impression we were a pain - in fact, quite the opposite! Don't ever change this Huvafen - it is a great touch and very much appreciated!!!!

We did not eat at "Raw" at all during our stay as it was not our kind of food but we did eat at "Salt" one evening. The setting of both of these restaurants is beautiful. When the jetty is illuminated at night, it looks stunning. The champagne deck is a great addition!

"Salt" has charming outside decks where you can sit under the stars and see the fish swimming beneath you - a great location. The seafood platter was HUGE - when they say it is for 2, they should mean 4! All of the food and wine was served by very friendly and professional staff in a wonderful atmosphere. Sadly I was not very hungry on the evening we dined here so I ate very little but everybody else said their food was delicious!

The pool area is stunning and even though the island was 60% full you would never know it! The loungers are extremely comfortable and are doubles! No fighting for sunbeds here! As soon as you sit down, you are given a water spray, cold towel and complimentary bottles of water. The bar staff then bring out mocktails/smoothies from time to time, which change day to day. They were always delicious! There are also some nice "banana leaf" shaped sunbeds under the shady trees so there is something for everyone. The infinity pool is huge and inviting!

The bar area was always very quiet but as soon as you want something, the staff are on the case! They also serve bar snacks there, which we tried on our first day and they were delicious. There is a wonderful deck in front of the bar where you can sit and admire the stunning view. One evening whilst we were there, they had a three piece band with a fabulous singer - it's a shame this isn't on more than one night as it was heaven listening to the band under the stars and drinking cocktails - paradise!

To sum up, Huvafenfushi was everything we thought it would be and as always, tears were shed as we left. Marco, you are doing a great job there - please send our thanks to all of your lovely team for a fabulous holiday - they are a credit to you. We hope to be back SOON!

Room Tip: If you have a beach bungalow, ask for one away from the water sports centre. We had 6 & 7 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat

Address: PO Box 2017
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Huvafen Fushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Huvafen Fushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
July 2012 the iconic Huvafen Fushi, the first Per AQUUM Retreat, reopened after a complete refurbishment. The renovation covered all bungalows and pavilions with new interior finishes and a fresh look; the addition of a new outdoor sunset cocktail lounge area over the reef at Raw; and a remodeled Celsius with a deliciously creative evolution of all restaurant menus. Already an award winning retreat renowned for its trailblazing concepts, these new touches reaffirm the retreat's status as a leader in premium luxury and creative hospitality. A waking dream.Set within its own lagoon,Huvafen Fushi Maldives, a Per Aquum Retreat is a pristine island offering 43 naturally-modern bungalows.Home to the world's first underwater spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Huvafen Fushi Island
Huvafen Fushi Male
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Male
Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat Huvafen Fushi Island, Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.