We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING can be more perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat

Save Saved
You added Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2017   |  
Hotel amenities
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
“NOTHING can be more perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

One of the most unforgettable places ever ! Starting from the arrival, where the speed boat awaits with the cool drink and amazing ocean view , untill u arrive and find the resort Manager waiting for you with a smile and amazing hospitalilty. I loved the fact that there is NO RECEPTION ! there's a guide that serves you whenever you need with anything you want. The underwater SPA was a dream come true , the details are untill perfection , they cared that even when ur lying down ,face to the floor during your massage , they put a mirror down there where you can still see the reflection of the beautiful water and the colorful fish! The chearful team , the amazing restaurants, the good food , the entertaining library, the ocean water round pool at the end of the walkway in the middle of the ocean, the fish feeding on sunset !! , the dancing and music in the evening and not to mention the Amazing bunglows and villas ! It keeps you wondering if you ever want to get out of your bunglow :)
It's a place to die for and definatly a place worth visiting at LEAST once in your life time !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    48
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
272
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was by far the most luxuries and dream like holiday I ever experienced. I loved that we were asked to take off our shoes the moment we arrived and we didnt put them back on until we departed. We stayed in the beach and water villa and both were exceptional beautiful. I can not wait to go back and experience it all over again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Looking for something to never forget? If so this is the place for you.
Huvafen Fushi is just incredible.
The staff are so happy, efficent and nothing is too much bother, the rooms are to die for.
The Spa is something else.....underwater! Andy (Spa Manager) and his incredible team leave you wanting to go back time and time again.
The food is out of this world with such a fabulous selection and variety.
The diving is amazing, Peter (water sports manager) and his great team make you feel super safe and are clearly very experienced in all the activities they offer.
I work in the 5 star Hotel business and this resort impressed me beyond anything I have experienced before.

Room Tip: All Rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

How often do you leave your holiday hotel fighting back the tears as you wave goodbye to the general manager and your personal butler? They, waving, on the jetty and you, speeding across the aquamarine lagoon in an immaculate chocolate-and-white speedboat en route to the airport.
This was our second visit and though I would never have believed it possible, it was even better than the first. I could tell you all about the beautiful white sand beaches, the stunning coral reef with dolphins, turtles, sharks (the friendly kind), octopus, lobsters, stingrays and thousands of colourful fish, fabulous bungalows complete with amazing sound system, lighting and other gadgets and a huge outdoor bathroom, the gym, the spa, the sunsets, the sumptuous breakfasts.....but you can see all of that on the website. What makes this the place you always dreamed of is the way you feel while you are here: not so much a hotel guest as the privileged house guest of a very happy and close family. Every member of the team has a smile, a greeting, and time to chat, from Marco the GM and Daniel the Head Chef, to Indika our waiter or the guys who sweep the beaches. What a wealth of experience is there! Nothing is too much trouble. Our likes and dislikes were picked up on immediately so that things started happening even before we'd thought of them ourselves. I can't think of anywhere else in the world I'd rather spend a week. In fact I just wish I was there....

Room Tip: The beach bungalows, though cheapest, are both the most convenient and private - and you're stra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had been to this island 4 times when it was 3* Nakatchafushi and it has always had a special place in our hearts. They then closed the island and re-opened as Huvafenfushi and we had always wanted to go back. Last month we were lucky enough to make it!

One of the best things about this island is that it is in a great position and small enough to walk around in about 15 mins. If you think you would be bored in the Maldives generally, then perhaps a bigger island would be the best choice for first timers. However, for us it is the perfect spot and we were not disappointed.

We had read the reviews prior to the re-furb and it is obviously a general view that the island needed an update but we were fortunate to go there straight after the re-furb and we couldn't have been happier.

It is sad to note that the service has received quite a lot of negative comments in TA but they have a new GM (Marco) who has only been there a short while and all we can say is that the service was second to none. Perhaps those issues have been addressed since Marco came to the island because we did not have one complaint about service at any time during our stay. In fact, Marco and other staff were regularly chatting to guests to make sure they were happy with their stay and if anything could be improved upon. I have to say, when it came to our party, we could not find one fault. The Manager's Cocktail Party on the Champagne Deck is a great touch - what a fabulous setting and great to be able to talk to the management IF you do have any concerns or just questions in general....

We stayed in a Beach Bungalow. Even though our teenage daughter stayed in our room, the room never felt cramped and the outdoor bathroom was wonderfully spacious with the two different showers, huge bath, double basins, plunge pool and garden. The room was kept beautifully clean at all times and Wow, what a feature the bar is! Great design!

It was great to have our own Butler to look after us and as we were there for a special celebration, we did call on their services a couple of times and everything was arranged as we wished. Thank you Bassi!

We were on half-board, which was a God-send because like all 5* islands in the Maldives, nothing comes cheap. However, you get what you pay for and if you want a 5* experience then you have to expect 5* prices. Having said that, we did think the cost of the night fishing and jet-skiing were a little bit o.t.t., even for 5* Maldives! However, it did mean our teenager was never bored!

What they do give you on a complimentary basis is lots of bottled water - a must when you are in the Maldives and on most other islands, you have to pay for this. Not to mention the bottle of champgne on ice on arrival in our room - a nice touch!

To have half-board, dinner is taken in Celsius - we loved this restaurant and it was such a bonus that it was not a buffet. We had wonderful service from such a great team without having to keep getting up and down to serve ourselves. Nothing was too much trouble and we can't praise them highly enough. The menu in this restaurant was excellent and between our party we had many memorable meals. Special thanks to Suschita and his team.

Lunchtime we ate at Fogliani's and this was the highlight of our day because we had a table under the shade of the trees, served by more lovely waiters who got to know our requirements very early on! Twice during this holiday, when we requested a slight "tweak" to the menu, they had no hesitation in calling the chef to the table to check exactly what we wanted, then went off to create our dish - at no stage did the two chefs ever give us the impression we were a pain - in fact, quite the opposite! Don't ever change this Huvafen - it is a great touch and very much appreciated!!!!

We did not eat at "Raw" at all during our stay as it was not our kind of food but we did eat at "Salt" one evening. The setting of both of these restaurants is beautiful. When the jetty is illuminated at night, it looks stunning. The champagne deck is a great addition!

"Salt" has charming outside decks where you can sit under the stars and see the fish swimming beneath you - a great location. The seafood platter was HUGE - when they say it is for 2, they should mean 4! All of the food and wine was served by very friendly and professional staff in a wonderful atmosphere. Sadly I was not very hungry on the evening we dined here so I ate very little but everybody else said their food was delicious!

The pool area is stunning and even though the island was 60% full you would never know it! The loungers are extremely comfortable and are doubles! No fighting for sunbeds here! As soon as you sit down, you are given a water spray, cold towel and complimentary bottles of water. The bar staff then bring out mocktails/smoothies from time to time, which change day to day. They were always delicious! There are also some nice "banana leaf" shaped sunbeds under the shady trees so there is something for everyone. The infinity pool is huge and inviting!

The bar area was always very quiet but as soon as you want something, the staff are on the case! They also serve bar snacks there, which we tried on our first day and they were delicious. There is a wonderful deck in front of the bar where you can sit and admire the stunning view. One evening whilst we were there, they had a three piece band with a fabulous singer - it's a shame this isn't on more than one night as it was heaven listening to the band under the stars and drinking cocktails - paradise!

To sum up, Huvafenfushi was everything we thought it would be and as always, tears were shed as we left. Marco, you are doing a great job there - please send our thanks to all of your lovely team for a fabulous holiday - they are a credit to you. We hope to be back SOON!

Room Tip: If you have a beach bungalow, ask for one away from the water sports centre. We had 6 & 7 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Huvafen Fushi in August 2012. We were there celebrating my 40th birthday. Simply put, Huvafen exceeded my already high expectations. While certainly not cheap and the trip cost more than our honeymoon, its the Maldives - and this would apply anywhere. If you are looking for a cost effective holiday, the Maldives is not for you.

We stayed in a Lagoon Villa. I was glad we didn't select the Ocean Villa as the Lagoon and Ocean were pretty much the same, both beautiful villas over water (with the Ocean being a bit pricier, and not worth the difference in my opinion).

I liked the fact that you didn't need to 'Sea Plane it' to get there from Male. The speed boat took 30 minutes and was comfortable. From the time we stepped on the island, Marco, the GM and our hostess, Bassi, took care of everything - right down to dietary restrictions. We did half board, which was a great option. While a small place, there is so much do do. We jet skied, took a sunset cruise, went scuba diving, fed the rays, and of course snorkeled every day. We saw white and black tip sharks and rays every day, just spectacular.

Truly like a living dream. We are already saving up to go back to see Marco and the team next year!

Room Tip: Lagoon Villa near the end of the pier;
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here from 29th November 2009 for Two Weeks on our Honeymoon

We Stayed on Half Board Basis in a Ocean View Bungalow, but was upgraded to the Ocean Pavilion for the last Three Days of our Honnymoon.

On arrival at the airport, we were greeted by Huvafen Fushi staff who took our cases and escorted us to our speed boat. Now, you share this with other guests, but since we were the only resort guests on our flight, we had it to our selves. The boat staff gave us a cool damp face Flannel that smelled of Limes and bottles of cold Fruit Juice.

When we arrived at the resort, about 30-45mins later we were greeted off the boat by our Thukuru Azleef (personal butler) and the Resort Manager and Deputy Manager. They gave us a freshly squeezed juice drink and our Thukuru took us to our Ocean Bungalow with the Glass Viewing Panel in the Floor by Electric Golf Buggy.
Our Thukuru Azleef, walked us through our room and showed us how everything worked. We had some champagne and Chocolate Strawberrys to welcome us to our room!! It was lovely.
Then when we had settled in our Thukuru came on the Buggy and gave us a tour of the Island.

The service for us was amazing. We had no complaints about anything or anyone as our stay was incredible. The breakfast staff were great, they would know what coffee or tea you wanted, the juice and bar knew what you wanted, its like they read your minds. It was also a nice touch when your adressed by your first name when you run into staff.

All the staff were lovely if you treated them like People and not like your personal Slaves Ordering them about and shouting at them like some of the Guests did when we were there. You May be paying for their servirce but you can still be civil to them.

Everyday the resident marine biologist does stingray feedings at 6:30pm on the Beach nere the start of the Lagoon Bungalows. It's worth going to, because you get to do it yourself too!!
The Sand was as advertised talcum powder with the staff raking it every morning for us to put our Just Married inprint on them with our Flip Flops, it took them soom time to find out who it was but they caught up with us in the end and ask us to imprint the arival area with them when other Honeymooners were due to arrive.
The Ocean Water was crystal clear i have never seen such Clear Sea Water you could see all the Fish and the Coral.

Celsius restaurant was very good. We were on the half board package and never had an issue with the buffet for breakfast or the menu for dinner, Fogliani's was also good. We would go here for lunch if we didnt order room service. The Bar at night was good, lazing in the big seats with your cocktails.

We went on one of the luxury dhonis to our sandbank Picnic which was Lovely and on the Dolphin cruise spotting trip and hand line fishing trip, both were great.
We tried the spa which was good but not the Underwater Treatment room, but we went in the Underwater Treatment room at night to see all the house reef and Fish and it is a great concept.

In our Ocean Bungalow we got to see some amazing Sunsets just before we would go for dinner, they were Breath Taking


All in all, it was an experience that we will never forget and will cherish the time we had together and the Staff / Friends we made there.

Where ever you choose to go, Im sure you will have an amazing time!

Room Tip: Ocean Bungalow in the centre of the curve
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat

Address: PO Box 2017
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Huvafen Fushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Huvafen Fushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
July 2012 the iconic Huvafen Fushi, the first Per AQUUM Retreat, reopened after a complete refurbishment. The renovation covered all bungalows and pavilions with new interior finishes and a fresh look; the addition of a new outdoor sunset cocktail lounge area over the reef at Raw; and a remodeled Celsius with a deliciously creative evolution of all restaurant menus. Already an award winning retreat renowned for its trailblazing concepts, these new touches reaffirm the retreat's status as a leader in premium luxury and creative hospitality. A waking dream.Set within its own lagoon,Huvafen Fushi Maldives, a Per Aquum Retreat is a pristine island offering 43 naturally-modern bungalows.Home to the world's first underwater spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Huvafen Fushi Island
Huvafen Fushi Male
Huvafen Fushi Hotel Male
Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat Huvafen Fushi Island, Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huvafen Fushi, a Per AQUUM Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.