We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great over night airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hulhule Island Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hulhule Island Hotel to your Saves list
Hulhule Island Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hulhule Island, PO Box 2118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great over night airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over night whilst waiting for our sea plane transfuere to Centara. We arrived at approx 10pm there was a rep waiting that showed us to the shuttle bus transported straight to hotel. Easy check in process not long winded like some.
Rooms were fine, went straight to the bar for a few night caps.
Breakfast was great lots of choice the a quick and easy check out back t the airport for sea plane check in. Hulhule staff made sure we were checked in before they left and and we're very helpful.
Rooms were clean and well maintained, spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The buffet breakfast was great set us up for the day.
All in all a great start to our stay in the Maldives and would use again if we had a late incoming flight. Or a late flight with an early sea plane from resort.
Thanks again to the staff

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    96
    85
    37
    28
See reviews for
38
129
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I spend one night at this hotel before moving to the resort. Our flight was delayed and there was someone still waiting for us at the new arrival time at the airport terminal. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Room service food was good. Their breakfast was also good and fresh. Easy check-in. Friendly staff. It's ideal if you arrive late and you want to spend the night before going to your resort. It's NOT a place to spend your vacation at. If you want to stay at Male. I would recommend that you get a hotel downtown since this one is expensive and doesn't offer much to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was here in Aug'2012 for leisure.

Plus Points:
- Great airport location,with views of the runway and seaplanes taking off and landing;
- Good breakfast spread;
- Comfy bed with 4 pillows (for king sized bed);
- Abundance of hot water for bathing even during peak hours;
- Lotsa channels on cable tv (CNN, HBO, StarWorld, NatGeo);
- Great swimming pool with views of the sea

Minuses:
- Service is definitely average;
- Prices are exhorbitant (going for around USD350/night for standard room);
- Rooms in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hulhule Island Hotel for a night at the start of our holiday as we arrived quite late on and had to wait until the morning for our seaplane transfer to our first resort.

The arrival was nothing extraordinary..... just like checking into any city hotel over here, and the rooms are pretty much the same. Although very clean, they were very basic and I didn't think that they had anything extra special... just a basic hotel room.

As we arrived quite late on, we just went to the bar for a quick bit to eat and a couple of drinks, before heading to bed for our early start the next day. The bar, again, was nothing special....and it actually felt quite cramped and smoky (obviously this is hard to deal with due to being used to no smoking in the UK) but the food was good. Prices for drinks were a little on the high side, but this is the same case throughout the Maldives.

Breakfast in the morning was a bit of a disappointment. I didn't feel that there was much choice compared to breakfasts in other resorts, however what was there was adequate.

I wouldn't recommend staying here for any length of time, however as a stopover hotel before or after travelling to/from a resort, it does the job!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

we had a few hours to kill before our flight in the mid-afternoon, and we had just gotten off of an absolutely INCREDIBLE week on our diving liveaboard trip. i had some work to do, and we decided it might be nice to spend the day (actually, only a few hours) at the hotel as we heard they had day rates. however, it was a disappointing and frustrating few hours.

management was very firm about their policies, and the day rate is absurdly over-priced. we paid for a full day, but could not even get our room until 10 AM. we had arrived at 8. since we had to leave by 2:30 for our flight it felt like we were paying for simply a luggage storage facility. the price was almost $250 dollars and it was supposed to include free internet. at this point - it became comedic:

-we were a group of 6, but only 3 people were allowed at one time in the room
-once you log into the internet with one device, you cannot log in with any other (i had to to do work on my computer for work, but first logged in on my phone without knowing this rule; when i asked if i could have another login for my computer because of my error, they said no)
-this internet only works in the lobby, so i never actually made it to the room that we paid so much for
-the front desk workers were rude and unreasonable when i tried to speak to them about this basic problem
-the power then went out, so the internet stopped working
-our lunch at the poolside restaurant cost us as much as a day on the diving liveaboard

i have been to many hotels around the world, and usually find something positive to say about every single one. in this case, i can't think of anything - except they offered us a free ride to the airport (which is 5 minutes away).

i would not recommend spending your last few hours in the maldives at this hotel. it is a breathtaking and gorgeous country - do not get sucked in to the day rates and outrageous prices at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Like most people going to Hulhule Island Hotel, we were just passing through. Most people stay here before heading off on a dive trip or to their resort when they arrive OR after one of those two options before catching a flight out. There is no doubt that the hotel is convenient - it's five minutes from the airport - but it is expensive.

I had finished a dive trip with a group of friends. We had most of a day to spend before flying out, so we booked a room for the day. They do not have a day rate, but they do have day use packages that allow you to use the pool and other recreational facilities starting at USD 40 per person (no room though). Because we were a group, we decided to book for the day and it was USD 240 for the room and the use of facilities. The hotel is clean, comfortable and fairly friendly, but there were problems, including 'the' free wifi.

Once you log in with a device, you cannot log out and let someone else use the log-on/password. Basically, this means that whoever connects first is the one with the connection. The other issue was basically price. Everything in Male is expensive, but this seemed like downright gouging. After 7 days on a liveaboard for USD 1200 including all meals and dives, this seemed like extortion. Food at the hotel restaurants was crazy.

Anyway, I cannot say that the hotel is bad. I would never have chosen to stay for the day on my own and would have just passed the time (slowly) in the airport. My friends convinced me this would be a fun idea and we did have a fairly relaxing day. The staff was friendly and did their best to accommodate us, but it just comes down to what you get for your money.

NO ONE would EVER come to the Maldives to stay at HulHule. Location is everything in business, however, and they are taking FULL advantage of their location near the airport (and the schedules of the dive trips and flights). This is a very expensive TRANSIT hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poona , India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was my second visit to Maldives Island and this was my first stay at hulhule island hotel. First time I went for business purpose but this time I just want to get relaxedd from my hurry burry city life daily routine. We pre-booked our room through internet ( Antilog Vacations )at a discounted rate & booked flights on our own

Hulhule island is located on the international airport island and it's 5 minutes drive from airport to reach this palace. The hotel looks very beautiful and huge. We reached at 2 o'clock in the afternoon and we dint ha to wait for our check in process.. The ocean facing views are delightful.

Our superior room hd king sized huge bed , comfortable for us to sleep. The glass windows hd an amazing view of turquoise blue water ocean from our room. My wife made a cup of coffee ( via some strange coffee powder) with affection and we sat together in front of our window and got admired the beauty of nature.

Room has LCD TV with cable connection and they offer iron and ironing board for our use. Spa treatment is very well done by well trained handler. My wife did facials to get cure from black circles nearby her eye. The treatment cost was little expensive but it’s really worth it. The spa room is very calm and it’s a wonderful place to keep our body and mind relaxes.

There are many leisure activities to pass our time. Last time while I visit I had not seen facilities Maldives has to offer.One staff member and I played in a tennis court in large playground . We can play it in the night time also because it’s a flood lit area. The same guy , was our butler during the tour

The beach was superb in this resort and the beach volleyball fields is to look for. The food was extra ordinary and the dishes they offered are plentiful with fresh made sauces/curries. First day we had our dinner in room itself. The chefs who served us are very decent and perfect. They always smiled and kindly ready to help with dishes, in case u need any changes. The place is really the calm one without any disturbance or sound. I really enjoyed our three days stay at hulhule resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hulhule Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulhule Island Hotel

Address: Hulhule Island, PO Box 2118
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhule Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulhule Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hulhule Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hulhule Island
Hulhule Island Male
Hulhule Island Hotel Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hulhule Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.