We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Island Dhonveli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Island Dhonveli to your Saves list
Chaaya Island Dhonveli
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kanuoiy Huraa   |  
Hotel amenities
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at Chaaya Island Dhonveli for 2 weeks in March and very happy with our decision to stay there for our first visit in the Maldives.
Positive sides: excellent location, lovely turquoise lagoon, snorkelling great, island small but never feels crowded, staff friendly, rooms and island kept very clean, most of all great value for your money, well-organized day trips outside the island
Negatives: limitted choice of food in restaurants (noticeable only if you stay longer than several days of course), limitted choice of drinks on the all inclusive menu in the bars, entertainment downside as well
Overall, we had a great time, would recommend to family and friends this resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Sunny greetings from Chaaya Island Dhonveli.

Thank you for your valuable comment on trip adviser. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and recommending us on good value for the money. It’s great to know that you love Maldives and its natural beauty

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    357
    99
    46
    21
See reviews for
146
861
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Absolutely fantastic place to spend a holiday. Staff, great. Location, fantastic. Accomodation, for us was excellent although another couple we spoke to complained of, paper thin walls in the beach bungalows. The food was very good with lots of variety, and although it was buffet style, a great deal of the dishes were cooked to order. A big thank you to Niaz, our waiter for the two weeks. I must say though, all the restaurant staff, including chefs, were always friendly and smiling.
An absolute pleasure to be in such a beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Avoid the beach bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Greetings from Dhonveli team and staff!

Thank you for your quick feedback on your busy schedule. We are delighted to know that you love the natural beauty of Maldives and our verity of food selection. I will pass your compliments to out chef and other colleges. They will be delight to know that they made you feel wonderful..


Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just back from dhonveli and was delighted by the experience and value for money. We stayed in the beach bungalows which were a bit dark and tired but was ideal for the quick access to the beach pool tennis court and reception. Zita was a star and provided help and information on every aspect of our stay. The food was excellent especially the maldevian curries and breads. Western and world cusuine was always available and the desert options were varied and delicious. Snorkeling was the main activity on the island and if you're not into it your holiday may drag. Entertainment was more village rather than royal Albert hall and did not add or detract from our holiday. The staff were friendly efficient and helpful and made our stay a joy. They are industrious and fully deserving of tips. Bring more Sun screen than you think you need as $40 a pop purchases can smart as much as the sunburn. A day trip to judo band is is worth it at $75 due to the snorkeling.again if you are not into it don't go. Overall a great value for money all inclusive in the Maldives.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Sunny greetings from Chaaya Island Dhonveli.

Thank you for your valuable comment on trip adviser. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and recommending us on good value for the money. It’s great to know that you love Maldives and its natural beauty

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at Chaaya Dhonveli for three weeks, two in a water bungalow the upgraded to a water suite. The food is great, lots of choice, great quality, delicious and freshly prepared. The staff are really friendly, especially Moosa in the Rehindi restaraunt, also Shaffaz and Inaz in the surfers restaraunt.

As i said we upgraded to a water suite, this was an extra $40.00 a night, far, far cheaper than booking at the time. The suites are really very nice, double aspect large but tinted bedroom windows overlooking the ocean. Sharks and Rays and lots of other life just swim by your decking area, it really is unbelievable.

Upgrade from a superior room is $90.00 a night. There are some nice rooms right on the beach, some rooms are a little tucked away and for me I needed to take full advantage of the views.

The General manager was friendly and took time to walk around and chat to guests. All of the management team seemed determined to give the guests their best service.

Take plenty of suntan lotion as it is about $50.00 a bottle in the shop, lots of general items are very expensive, so if you cant do without chocolate and the like take it with you.

I would return, today if it were possible and we didnt want to leave when the time came. My advice book the cheaper room then upgrade when you get there, never heard of anyone who didnt get their wish, they will try to help.

The spa is very expensive and as a result not very busy, but no one pushes anything on you.

My other bit of advice is GO!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, try a water bungalow or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Greetings from the Dhonveli team!

Thank you for choosing Chaaya Island Dhonveli for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that our staff made such a favorable impression during your recent visit in our resort. I will share your positive feedback with hem. Our staff works hard to ensure all of our guests have a relaxing and pleasant stay and it is great to hear that this is the experience you had. I am glade that you got a special price on room upgrade.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and for staying with us here. We highly appreciate and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here from 25th till 28th Feb 2014 and had an excellent time there! We had booked a water bungalow half board for our stay. However, for the first day the water bungalow wasnt available. We were put up in a beach bungalow. The reception attendant was very cordial, polite and apologized for this. He also offered us an upgrade to Full Board and a Beach Dinner. We were very satisfied with this response. The rooms were awesome, especially the water bungalows! These were simply amazing. It was a wonderful experience staying over the water. The food served at the restaurants was great - lots of cuisines available - european, indian, chinese, maldivian, sri lankan etc etc. Desserts spread, fruit spread and live counters were good. The staff were extremely polite and courteous. Always smiling, always greeting us they ensured we felt like adam and eve in paradise. One staff - Didar - was particularly very very cordial and helpful. The service he offered to us was great! We had a very good time in Chaaya and found everything - rooms, service, food, airport transfers, facilities etc very very good. We hope to come back soon as the food and the room still lingers on in my mind and often comes to me during pleasant dreams!

Room Tip: Water Bungalows - higher numbered! These offer out of this world experience with aquamarine life rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Greetings from dhonveli team and staff.

Thank you for choosing Chaaya Island Dhonveli.

It is a pleasure to read that you had such a great stay with us in our resort and you had a great service provided by our staff.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chaaya Island Dhonveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for two weeks 3rd march for two weeks, speed boat was great. The food was
very good and so much choice, thankyou Uscham our waiter who looked
after us for 2 weeks of our stay. Thanks to all bar staff, we stayed in water bungalow 834 which was good. Thankyou for the person who found our key washed up on beach

The guy who cleaned our bungalow a big thankyou, the only thing we did not
like on departure day after breakfast returning to our room, and seeing our bed being
made up for the next person. I had to get changed in a hot humid bathroom. The fish are amazing.
more hanging space, and more drawer space would have been nice.

Room Tip: 834 upwards on lagoon side other side very noisy from sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Greetings from dhonveli team and staff.

Thank you for choosing Chaaya Island Dhonveli.

It is a pleasure to read that you had such a great stay with us in our resort and you had a great service provided by our staff.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chaaya Island Dhonveli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in March to celebrate my 50th birthday. It was our first time in the Maldives and the resort totally lived up to our hopes and expectations. We stayed in an over water suite and it was wonderful, crystal clear waters, wonderful views and so on. We emailed the hotel beforehand asking for a low number water suite (as recommended by other reviewers) and were delighted to be given suite 701, right on the end, perfect position, very private with stunning views all round. We spent the days on our sundeck, stepping down for an occasional swim and cool down. We could easily swim from our deck to the lagoon, though the current was quite strong in the afternoons.
We enjoyed a couples massage at the spa, and did the dolphin safari. We also had a snorkelling lesson which I would highly recommend if you aren't used to snorkelling, I had thought I couldnt do it but after the lesson was converted and was amazed at how much life there was beneath the surface, absolutely stunning.
We paid for wifi but didnt realise your minutes only run for the time you are actually online, so 24 hours worth should last a few days - worth noting.
Food and drinks were all fab, lots of choice and we never saw the same meal twice.We went all inclusive which I would recommend. Yes the choice of cocktails is limited but the ones they had were all nice. We also went to the beach cocktail party which was great fun,alot more choice of cocktails there and nice to have a bit of a dance on the sand.
Staff were all excellent, friendly and helpful and efficient, as was Zita, the Thomsons Rep.
We were sorry to leave and think Thomson are making a big mistake in stopping their Maldives flights. We would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: Email the hotel beforehand and ask for a low number water suite. 701 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
special greetings from dhonveli team and staff.

We appreciate your time for writing to us to let us know that you enjoyed your holiday and you’ve had a great time in our resort with all our facilities and outlets.
There's nothing like hearing nice comments from our guests.
we will surely share your feedback with the team and staff.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and for staying with us here and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Island Dhonveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Island Dhonveli

Address: Kanuoiy Huraa
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Farukolhufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farukolhufushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Island Dhonveli 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Island Dhonveli is Kaafu Atoll's best-kept secret for its world famous surf point known as Pasta Point. Located in the heart of the best surf areas, the island is a paradise for water sports lovers. Surfing, Diving, Snorkeling, Canoeing, Pedalo are hot favorites while Outdoor sports such as Tennis, Beach Volley Ball and Badminton are also available. This exqusite island resort offers lavish living spaces with 148 stylish rooms and six restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chaaya Island Dhonveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Hotel North Male Atoll
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Resort
Dhonveli Beach Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Island Dhonveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.