We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Island Dhonveli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Island Dhonveli to your Saves list
Chaaya Island Dhonveli
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kanuoiy Huraa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very special place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spent three days over New Years at Chaya Island Dhonveli and it did not disappoint. You definately need to bring your wallet if you visit the Maldives but this resort certainly delivers. We had a over water suite that was stunning with the water right at the foot of your deck. When the tide was up you could snorkel right from your door but beware the strong tide if you are not a swimmer.
The mandatory New Years Eve banquet was unlike anything I have seen at resorts for similar occasions. The tables of food that were laid out for this event were absolutely amazing. More meat, fish, seafood, salads and desserts than you could even hope to try. I am a food guy and the variety and quality of the perpetration well exceeded my expectations. The evening entertainment was pretty standard but the food was the event unto itself. Breakfast and lunches throughout our stay were also very good. Be sure to sign up for the 'full board' as the cost of drinks and lunch is pretty high and there are no other options available. By the time you add on $5 for each club soda and coke and $35 / person for lunch it pays for itself pretty quickly and then you don't have to chase your kids for everything!
Diving was a little disappointing. Great variety of fish to see and some nice dive sites but the coral life was much less vibrant than I expected considering the Maldives is supposed to be some of the best diving in the world. The hotel dive shop is one of the most professional groups I have come accross.
Do not hesitate to come to Chaya Island Dhonveli it is well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Fraser131313

Greetings from the Dhonveli team!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at Chaaya Island Dhonveli. We are delighted to know that your stay with us was lovely. We are grateful for your positive comments on our island. It’s our ultimate aim to provide an exceptional service to our guests and we are happy to read that this has been visible throughout your stay.

Once again, thank you for choosing Chaaya Island Dhonveli as your holiday destination in the Maldives and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    388
    104
    47
    21
See reviews for
165
958
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

What a great place we had beach villa very clean and tidy. The food was above what we expected didnt have the same food for the first ten days. Our waiter ali made our holiday all the staff worked very hard. Done the dolphin trip saw lots and good photos. The wine was very nice which makes a change for all inclusive. Beach very clean water nice and blue cant fault this place cant wait to go back. 24/11/13 to 8/12/13.

Room Tip: Rooms 215 to 205 looked the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Tim O

Greetings from Dhonveli team and staff!

Thank you for your kind review “Great Island” on trip advisor. Your great experience serves as an encouragement to all of us here in our resort. We appreciate your thoughtful words which to us is an invaluable testimony that encourages dedication and passion in each of our staff.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a 2 weeks Holiday/Honeymoon and we felt like in Paradise.. Really great service, staff friendly, food amazing...the best Christmas party ever on the beach/garden. Thank you Zita (First Choice) for the special moments.
The only thing they should improve is the entertainment, because is very low level.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Greetings from the Dhonveli team!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at Chaaya Island Dhonveli. We are delighted to know that your stay with us was lovely. We are grateful for your positive comments on our island staffs and food. It’s our ultimate aim to provide an exceptional service to our guests and we are happy to read that this has been visible throughout your stay.

Once again, thank you for choosing Chaaya Island Dhonveli as your holiday destination in the Maldives and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our half board stay was definitely value for money since the quality of the buffet exceeded our expectations (and that of 5 star resorts). The smiley gentleman behind the table dishing out freshly custom made salads, is a brilliant alternative to stodgy salads, which have been pre-prepared. Compliments too on the soup varieties. Buffet food is always a challenge but Chaaya managed to always supply the option of variety, different cuisines and freshly prepared. The New Years Eve dinner....wow!!! Congratulations both for the quality and the presentation. The setting of the three bars were idyllic, vibey and relaxing. Of course, the staff were all helpful and friendly. Finally, what a pleasant surprise to find a good quality tennis court as well on the island.

Room Tip: I wish I had spent the money to get a water bungalow, since they are the ultimate. Our rooms (beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Greetings from the Dhonveli team!

Thank you for your review of your brilliant review. I am happy to hear that you fell in love with Maldives and the quality of the food. We are delighted that our resort and staff met with your expectations and that your holiday was fantastic.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We are still here! And am writing my review from the deck of suite 719.From the moment we arrived we have been treated like royalty.
After a small but frustrating delay getting the bags from the harbour to our rooms the holidaying began!
Food is amazing,special mention to Sunita the salad chef who is so friendly and makes awesome salads and the fresh made Naans are to die for.....
Good snorkelling from the suite steps but watch the currents at certain times.Reg saw an Eagleray swimming by! Lagoon is crammed with fish of all kinds,more rays and a large moray eel!
Swim shoes are a must and lots of high factor suncream.
The tailor must also get a mention,he handmade my girls each a beautiful dress at a very reasonable price,less than the highstreet!!
Gift shop is a bit of a let down,very overpriced and a bit tacky... Needs more quality traditional style gifts.
Room tip. For the over water suites def ask for rooms numbers btn 701-705 as you can get access directly into the lagoon. But honestly even the higher numbers are only a 5min walk away.
Zita is a great rep,has everything under control and very knowledgable
but not at all pushy.we took the dolphin safari and has to be one of my life highlights... Free and wild and they swam right next to the boat.a def must.
Only negative point,NYE was a bit disappointing.The food and decorations were out of this world but the entertainment was a bit tacky the beauty queen competition was cringe worthy and just felt awkward tbh,plus the waiters were obv encouraged to try and sell very overpriced bottles of wine and champagne and it felt a bit pushy at times esp as u have paid all inclusive.
On the whole,we waited 11months from the time of booking for this holiday and none of us have been disappointed. Great value,great staff,amazing views. The happy island!!! :)))) Millers x

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Greetings from the Dhonveli team!
Thank you for choosing Chaaya Island Dhonveli for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our food .We are happy to note that Zita made such a favorable impression during your recent visit in our resort. I will share your positive feedback with her and our staffs. They work hard to ensure all of our guests have a relaxing and pleasant stay and it is great to hear that this is the experience you had.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and for staying with us here. We highly appreciate and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Good news everyone, after Thomson stop flying to the Maldives, Virgin holidays are taking it over and it will be about the same price. The only draw back is that the flights are not direct.
However, they are with Qatar, slipping in Doha for a hour. Now whilst I used to work for Emirates and will always choose them first, Qatar are also brilliant, Great leg room, great food and good service.

So, Mr Perera and all of your fantastic staff, we are arriving on Monday 15th December 2014 and spending yet another fantastic 2 weeks with you again. As we discussed just prior to leaving you last week, we are exceptionally appreciative of all the effort you all put into making our holiday superb so in answer to the people who ask us why we always go to the same island,.... you'll just have to go and find out for yourselves.

See also Lee's review of a few days ago

Love to all especially the Carol singers...


Phil and Max . . , .

Room Tip: you really cannot fault any of them, they all have their advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello PhilRoberts144

Greetings from Dhonveli team and staff!

It’s our pleasure to host you once again. We are looking forward to welcome you once again this December. Our staff will make your visit memorable once again.

See you soon here at Dhonveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nothing else to say but wonderful service, crystal clear ocean and great food and drinks. The staff are all really friendly and we enjoyed the variety and quality at every meal. Then there was nothing better than to sit at the bar overlooking the sea drinking a few cold ones.

The only way I think it could be improved would be to get drinks on the beach as part of the all inclusive deal but it wasn't a major complaint. You are generally too busy snorkelling!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Greetings from Dhonveli team and staff!

Thank you for your quick feedback on your busy schedule. We are delighted to know that you love the natural beauty of Maldives and our verity of food selection. I will pass your compliments to out chef and other colleges. They will be delight to know that their menu made you happy..


Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Island Dhonveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Island Dhonveli

Address: Kanuoiy Huraa
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Farukolhufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farukolhufushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Island Dhonveli 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Island Dhonveli is Kaafu Atoll's best-kept secret for its world famous surf point known as Pasta Point. Located in the heart of the best surf areas, the island is a paradise for water sports lovers. Surfing, Diving, Snorkeling, Canoeing, Pedalo are hot favorites while Outdoor sports such as Tennis, Beach Volley Ball and Badminton are also available. This exqusite island resort offers lavish living spaces with 148 stylish rooms and six restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chaaya Island Dhonveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Hotel North Male Atoll
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Resort
Dhonveli Beach Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Island Dhonveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.