We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't always believe what you read on here! This hotel will not disappoint.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Island Dhonveli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Island Dhonveli to your Saves list
Chaaya Island Dhonveli
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kanuoiy Huraa   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't always believe what you read on here! This hotel will not disappoint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Sitting here on our balcony looking out over the beautiful Indian Ocean having spent just over a week here so far, I have to say I wonder where those who have posted negative comments about this hotel were staying, still you can't please everyone. This Hotel is in my opinion very very good and excellent value.The staff here are all very helpful especially in the excellent Maakana Restaurant top marks for super Sammy the superb salad man, Zahir our waiter was brilliant nothing was too much trouble for him all the time we spent there and all of the other staff whom are always there to cater for the most demanding guests with pleasant attitudes, it seems to us there is a genuine desire to make everyone's stay as good as it can be. We stayed in a water bungalow for the first week which we found to be excellent it appears that they have been renovated recently. I have to say that Thomson Holidays and especially their on site rep the lovely Zita have made our time here so far that much more relaxing as from the moment we landed she has been there to assist and reassure nothing is too much trouble for her.Having now moved into the water suites and the Rehendhi restaurant we will post an up date when we get home. Just don't hesitate to make this hotel your first choice I'm sure you will not be disappointed. Do bring some beach shoes as the coral can be quite sharp under foot.Carole and Tony.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Greetings from Dhonveli team and Staff!

We appreciate your time in writing to let us know of the fantastic experience and service you received in our resort. We'll be sure to share your feedback with the entire team. They love knowing that guests appreciate their service. We like to reward our employees for looking after the customer’s needs in a remarkable way and such reviews help us take note of these efforts.

Once again, thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    356
    99
    46
    21
See reviews for
145
857
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Arrived in Male on way to Kerala and were greeted by Zahir, the Thomson's rep, who couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome and reassured. He arranged an alternative flight to Trivandrum after we missed our connecting flight and handled the matter with great profession and skill. Please convey our immense thanks to Zahir. After a week's travelling in Kerala we were greeted by Zita from Thomson's. She is an amazing and dedicated rep who loves the Maldives and conveys this passion to all who visit. Loved the speedboat journey to Chaaya Donvelli island. The hotel and island is beautiful and met all our expectations. Staff very friendly - the chefs, waiters, room attendants, diving school and boat hands all give off a positive feel that fits with the laid back atmosphere at the hotel. Can recommend the snorkelling trips as they alternate dive sites to nearby reefs with crystal clear water and the excitement of what is going to swim under you. The barbecue at Kuda Bandos is stunning with good food and an amazing reef - we were followed on the way there by a large school of dolphins. Sunset fishing was interesting but would have appreciated some more assistance as I seemed to be catching very large fish which the boat hands felt were too big to pull in - would help to make this point more clearly.Would love to return and would love to hear that Zita is still working there. Paul and Liz

Room Tip: Choose a basic room close to the harbour - rooms are cheaper and have dramatic sunset views and dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Paulie 122013

Greetings from Chaaya Island Dhonveli.

A heart full thanks to you for a wonderful review. We are very much please to hear that Dhonveli met all your expectations and surely will pass your comments for my fellow staff. We will be more than happy to welcome you back here at Dhonveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have just spent an amazing week at this beautiful place celebrating our friends 50th birthday... What a breathtakingly amazing place this is, where relaxing is the name of the game. We have got so many lovely memories to take away with us.
The rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean and beautiful environments to stay, we had a beech front and our friends has a water bungalow... Both fantastic ... The rooms were cleaned twice a day...perfect, we were so spoilt!
The island, you need to go to appreciate haw incredibly beautiful it is...the beach, the views, the sea, the snorkelling all amazing...(tip,,, take snorkel and sea shoes, you can buy them there though)
The restaraunts... We loved the food... It was all delicious... We enjoyed every single meal we had ... The chefs were great always encouraging you to try their food lots os which was cooked for you there and then.....
The service from our waiter azaam was outstanding....he was always happy to see us and looked after us perfectly....we all enjoyed meal times and looked forward to seeing azaam. He was great and joined in our fun with us....thank you azaam for looking after us so well.
Zeta our fabulous rep was wonderful. Helpful, informative always around and happy to answer any questions...thanks zeta you had everything running like clockwork..brilliant.
The spa...lots of great treatments available .. The girls there are all so sweet ... That is until you have a massage... They are tougher than they look...lol:). ...they were great and you felt good.... We went back three times ... Thanks girls....
The pool.... Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing...the pool attendants so helpful...sorting beds out us or shade ... Never too much trouble to move them around ... Sorting out the towels throughout the day ... Works of art the towel arrangements at times...thanks lads for looking after us.
Everytning was perfect ... The bars, the restaurants, the entertainment, the rooms, the beach, the pool, the spa, the trips ....ALL perfect......with our thanks and best wishes to you all..sarah and kevin walker.... Hope to see you again one day...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Sarah W
Thank you very much for your time with your recent comment on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our natural beauty and our services. We are glade that you had a remarkable and memorable stay with us. I will share your valuable comments with our staffs.
Our staffs and I will be pleasured to serve you once again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This resort has a natural simplistic charm, smiling wait and bar staff and thats about it.
I travel regularly for work and pleasure and work in the hospitality industry so and have seen all sorts of establishments and i'm usually not a whinger but this place needs to be singled out as a shambles!
If you are planning to go here for your dream holdiay, quite simply DON'T! There are better options.
The main bone of contention is the managment, or lack of managment.
Information is not made clear to guests how the resort works. An easy answer to this would be to give guests written info. Maybe this is done for the tour groups of mainly loud Chinese and Russians and senior citizens from the UK, but independant travellers are forgotten about in this regard.
We were told conflicking information about where we could eat by different staff.
The main resturant dark and dingey and while the staff are sweet and smile, dont expect much more from them.
the main bar which looked nice and had a great sunset view was a disater. soft drinks are pourd from 2 litre bottles that have been left on the bar top without lids and any refrigeration. Flat and warm coke, anyone?
The well worn plastic laminated cocktail list offered exotic named but ultimately undrinkable drinks. I ordered something that tasted like toxic paint thinner and when i asked the barmento try it and see if it was how it was meant to be he responded "I am Muslim, not allowed". I thought it very odd that he was working as a barman puring drinks then as he had no concept of how to mix drinks.
The table tennis table and equipment looks like it is a survivor of the 2004 tsunami. the rackets are falling apart and while it provided fun a few minutes, the condition was unacceptable considering the price guests are paying. How much does a ping pong bat cost?
The main resturant was dark and dingey and we were instructed to sit in the back area that had no view and no breeze. The food was average at best. Salad bar was very good however and the nepalese girl there wasa delight! The wait staffare sweet and smile but dont expect much more.
The beach bunglaow itself was spacious, clean and charming. outdoor bathroom a noval touch, but the bathtub unusable due to lbeing under the roof line where it collected all sorts of leaves and debris. Got the feeling this is an ongoing thing as the otherwise good cleaners didnt attempt to clean the bath throughout our stay.
Every activity comes at an extra cost, even snorkling equipment. Make sure you return it though in the evening, otherwise you get slapped with an extra day charge. We thought we could keep our equipment for a 24hr period, but nobody told us that it mist be returned by the evening.
We asked to speak with a manger numerous times, but as other reviwers have mentioned, any form of manager there is almost impossible to find.
There must be many other better options in the Maldives than this decidedly below average place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Mraw
Thank you very much for your time with your recent comment on TripAdvisor. We value your comments and do apologies for not met your requirements.
This has been taken to management’s concern and will work on to avoid any issue in your future visits.

Once again thank you very much for your support on our service Improvements.
We are looking forward to welcome you once.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

we just back from an amazing place, blue sky, nice water colours, and lovely people, we recommend this place, because easy to reach by boat, 20 minutes and the place if you need totally relax time, this is it. the water suit room was Fantastic , private decking, big room and the morning starting with observing, the sea with sharks, rays and amazing colourful ....you need to go, to experience the beautiful place, and the members were great, specially Saif, grea man.

Room Tip: if you like to do snorkelling, do not worry about the white tip shark, they don do anything, do it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Public Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Fernando R
Thank you very much for your recent comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you love the natural beauty of Maldives. We value your comments on our staffs and will pass it to all.
We are looking forward to welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Location:
The Hotel is easy to reach by speedboat from Male airport, It takes around 30 minutes and the boat ride is an experience itself, I measured around 75 km/h which is really fast on water :-)
The Island is not too small so it is nice to walk around and you can get some great views, various bars to watch sunset and take a seat and always a space available.

Solo Travel?
I came here Solo, and I came to relax, yes it was a bit annoying to sit always alone during eating time but besides that I got what I wanted, a very relaxing time, if you look for fun and party, don't go, because that is not a reason why people go to resort of Maldives

Additional Events/Trip/Sport
As ususal in Maldives everything is ridicoulous expensive, the shop on the hotel is a nightmare when it comes to prices (sunscreen for 50 USD) and also the sport is super expensive, surfing, jetski and so on, so plan a lot of additional budget if you really want to do things like that, but on the other side they offer everything, and the spot is supposed to be one of the best in Maldives for surfing with various breaks available.

Snorkeling?
Snorkeling is ok if you are used to snorkel in the Mediterranean, for Maldives there is nothing amazing to see close to the hotel beach. I was snorkeling on some amazing reefs the days before and that was 10 times better then what can be seen close to the hotel, on the other hand it is not a big surprise

Food:
The food is good, not first class but good variety and the quality is ok

Overall:
Overall I can recommend this hotel, due to the nice hotel area and the general location, a stay from 4-7 days I think is ideal, longer I would not stay as it could get a bit boring after it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your detail comments. We highly appreciate your valuable recommendation.
Since you’re a frequent snorkeler, I could suggest you to join our various snorkeling activities in different locations on your next visit on us to make a wow experience.

We will be glade to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 10 days back on Oct 2011, but life's been so hectic that I forgot to write a review!!!

I normally don't like beach holidays & prefer cities or holidays with lots of activities.
However, at the time the wife & I just wanted some alone time away from the kids, work & all the pressures of normal life. A Robinson Crusoe style holiday, with no phones, TV, screaming kids etc.
After spending lots of time reviewing locations, hotels & prices we decided on Chaaya Island Dhonveli.

The island, hotel, staff, water bungalow, restaurant, views, sunsets, weather was all out of this world, just what the doctor order.
I had contacted the hotel prior to arrival to arrange dinner on the beach on the first night, which was not only easy to arrange, but an experience that my wife & I will never forget.
Our water bungalow was fantastic, just lying on our own deck & then taking dips in the lagoon whenever we got to hot.
The staff on our dedicated restaurant were aways very friendly, so tentative & always on hand to ensure that your drink was full.
A special mention must go to the head chef, if I remember his name correctly I think it was Thomas Choi.
One of the most remarkable chef's I've had the pleasure to experience.
All his food was of the highest quality & he would cook the food just as you wanted it.
If there was something you wanted that wasn't on the menu, he was only too happy to make it for you. I don't think I have ever eaten so much in my entire life!!!
Plus you know that the food must of been good, as all the hotels senior managers eat there after the guests finish & they have a choice of 3 restaurants!!!

The whole trip was an amazing experience & we both came back home totally relaxed & chilled out.

Sorry for such a late review posting, but I have to give credit where credit is due.
Thank you to all the Chaaya Island Dhonveli staff & I hope that we we'll return soon to again unwind from life's pressures.

Room Tip: Stay in the Water Bungalows 1-5 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Richard C,

Thank you for your valuable time and the comment. We very much delight to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Surely I will pass your compliments to Chef Thomas and his team.

We will be more than happy to host you once again here at Dhonveli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Island Dhonveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Island Dhonveli

Address: Kanuoiy Huraa
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Farukolhufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farukolhufushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Island Dhonveli 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Island Dhonveli is Kaafu Atoll's best-kept secret for its world famous surf point known as Pasta Point. Located in the heart of the best surf areas, the island is a paradise for water sports lovers. Surfing, Diving, Snorkeling, Canoeing, Pedalo are hot favorites while Outdoor sports such as Tennis, Beach Volley Ball and Badminton are also available. This exqusite island resort offers lavish living spaces with 148 stylish rooms and six restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chaaya Island Dhonveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Hotel North Male Atoll
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Resort
Dhonveli Beach Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Island Dhonveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.