We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Island Dhonveli

Save Saved
You added Chaaya Island Dhonveli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaaya Island Dhonveli
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kanuoiy Huraa   |  
Hotel amenities
Romford
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I have just returned home after spending two weeks at Dhonveli. We stayed in a water suite 705, it was absolutely fantastic ,very spacious, jacuzzi and shower , lounge with big screened tv and a lovely big bed in the bedroom with slide doors on to our private terrace. There were stairs on our terrace where we could go straight in to the sea. Our room boy was Noor who went out of his way to make sure everything was ok, a wonderful young man. The spa on the island would appear to be very expensive but it was amazing and we both went back again for further treatments. The food at Rehayni restaurant was brilliant with lots of different choices and themed menus, a special mention to Lakeland and the head chef. The Xmas buffet was the best event I have ever been to and as an executive chef in the city of London, you would have to pay a three figure sum per head to attend such a wonderful function. The staff and general manager worked so hard that evening it truly was an unforgettable experience. Special mention to three wonderful and friendly barmen Anil, Forid and Akmal who we all had a great laugh with. Zita the rep has always got good comments but she deserves it , she can't do enough for you and has a very nice personality someone who goes out of her way to make sure all is ok. Some of the reviews mention the Chinese can be loud but we never noticed, they just seem to enjoy it all as much as this. We made quite a few friends while we were there , lovely couples who we shared a drink or two haha. Thank you to all of you at Dhonveli Island for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: The water suites are quieter with your own little terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Greetings from Dhonveli team and staff!

Thank you for your kind review “first class” on trip advisor. Your great experience serves as an encouragement to all of us here in our resort. As we hear you've had fantastic time in Dhonveli. It was a pleasure serving you. We appreciate your thoughtful words which to us is an invaluable testimony that encourages dedication and passion in each of our staff.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    607
    317
    93
    43
    21
See reviews for
131
767
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I don't get a lot of reviews...we were a group of 8 and we spent New Year's Eve there and it was simply amazing! We stayed in a normal room and it was everything we could've asked for...big, clean and with a view ;) The food was also very good and the services were even better. We loved Belayet from the beach bar who made us the best cocktails every day, and also Ahmed who served us at the restaurant! Besides some sunburnes, everything was PERFECT!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Greetings from Dhonveli team and staff!

Many thanks for your kind comments. It's always nice to hear good feedback from our customers. We're committed to doing everything we can to ensure our customers will have a wonderful and memorable stay in our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited this island on 16/12/12 - 31/12/12.
Overall we had a lovely time.
You could not fault the staff.
The food was extremely delicious - the maldivian curries are to die for. Good selection of spicy food and wonderful salad bar and yummy desserts.
The beach is not that big, so it's hard to find privacy on this island. If you are looking for a good degree of privacy then you should definitely get a water suite as you will have a lovely big private terrace.
The beach bungalows that are actually on the beach are lovely, but are semi-detached and have no sound proofing, which is very frustrating as they are family rooms, so likely to have children.
Some of the beach villas are in land and are vey dark, so you should check this out when you book.
The staff went out of their way on Christmas eve for the gala and it was simply stunning.
We highly recommend the private dolphin tour. Four of us went for $270 for 1 1/2 hours. We followed a huge pod of dolphins for the hole trip. It was amazing.
Overall I would say if this is your first trip to the Maldives you will be impressed, presuming you get the right room to suit your needs. If you have been to the Maldives before and have enjoyed lovely big beaches circling your island, then you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: Water suites are the best option on this island. Water rooms are a little dated. Beach bungalows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Greetings from Dhonveli team and staff!

Thank you for your kind review. Your great experience serves as an inspiration to all of us here in our resort. As we hear you've had lovely time in Dhonveli. It was a pleasure serving you and your family. We appreciate your thoughtful words which to us is an invaluable testimony that encourages dedication and passion in each of our staff.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wow Dhonveli, how do you do it. It was our fourth time at Dhonveli because we cannot find a holiday destination where we relax so much, feel so valued by the staff and find everything just so perfect. Since our last visit 3 years ago, (stupidly went to a different island last year) the amazing food has been improved beyond all of expectations, the service appears even friendlier and more efficient, the pool is still crystal clear and clean. There is little point telling you how wonderful the romantic dinner outside was, or how exiting the fern tail stingrays and sharks in the lagoon were, or how brilliant the sunsets were with a G and T at the surf bar. You'll just have to go and try it for yourself.

Special note for the GM. You must be doing something right for the staff to be so loyal and for so many of us to keep returning. Well done Sir and please pass on our special thanks to Chef's Dominic, Danu, Malik and waiters Ali and Ibrahim.

We're just working out when we will visit next year and we will be booking in the next couple of days. Can't wait to see you all again.

Room Tip: Anywhere on the island is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Greetings from Chaaya Island Dhonveli..

Thank you for sharing your review” We can't believe it could have been even better than last time”but most importantly for your continued patronage to Dhonveli. It’s wonderful to have our repeaters vacation with us, and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to make your stay memorable.

Once again,thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review and even remembered the names of our staff. There's nothing like hearing good words from our happy customers. I will surely share your feedback with them especially our G.M, Chef's Dominic, Danu, Manik and waiters Ali and Ibrahim.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our arrival to the resort was terrible. At the airport, there was no representative from the resort, the welcome is outsourced to an external company.
we arrived with jet lag, no water was proposed to us and we have been told to wait (almost 2 hours).
at the resort, i asked to talk to a manager twice and unfortunately none came to see us.
The local staff are nice and very kind.

Room Tip: Water Bungalow still better than beach bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Greetings from Dhonveli team and staff!

Thank you for submitting your feedback on trip advisor. It's important for us to know your thoughts as it helps us grow as a resort family. Without your feedback, we would not know on what area we needed to focus.

In regards to your transfer, I am deeply remorseful for the experience you had. Thanks to your feedback and we have now taken proper action to ensure issues like yours do not occur again.

We sincerely hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. We can assure, if given another opportunity, to make sure your stay is a pleasant and positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A lovely peaceful resort with some of the best off-beach snorkeling I've ever experienced.

Our room was huge and perfectly comfortable (expect when insects emerged en-masse one evening and we were moved next door while they fumigated).

Food in the restaurant is absolutely fantastic, but the experience was somewhat spoiled by the music which drove me nuts - one CD (80's classic rock?) was on loop for the first 2 days and a second CD (70's & 80's classic American rock?) for the remainder of the week. This completely ruins the ambiance of the place when you are subjected to Hotel California etc. three meals a day for a week. (And I like rock music...). Such a simple thing to fix...

A great value resort - slightly dated in places - but with the all inclusive food option providing great value, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Greetings from Chaaya Island Dhonveli

We appreciate your time in writing to let us know that you liked the room, food and you’ve had a great time snorkeling in our resort. There's nothing like hearing good words from our happy customers. I will surely share your feedback with the team and staff.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and for staying with us here and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We came to the resort for 10 days from 22nd Dec and had a pleasent time.

I have been to 6 islands in Maldives and I can say that this Island will give me a nice memory!!
Staffs are all nice and very polite. They always respond with smile.

Food was fresh and good, only dessert for me not allowed because allergic to lactosium and no lactose free was there.
Most of the foods are cooked in front of you is amazing and there are different cuisine event every night in addition to local cuisine. Reef fish always the best!

Accommodation was good and clean with our terrace in front of the sunset. In contraddiction with the web site no plasma 32" or bose audio was available in the room but wifi is good (even if not fast).

The lagoon was fantastic and offer to swim in calm warm water. Snorkelling was great too. We were able to see many type of fish like during our diving time. This is the most lively lagoon I ever seen for snorkelers.

There were quite many people from China there.

While everyone is relaxed and calm, you find Chinese tourist noisy (they seem to shout a bit and also spit which I found unpleasant). Management should inform everybody about the quite hours, day & night. Everybody needs to relax and there are many place to have fun, not in the room at 2am disturbing neighbours.

The gym is pretty basic and may be need for upgrade, missing towels and water.

Diving center: we both, my EIRE and myself, had seven unforgettable great diving sessions and we would highly recommend it! Lidia, Nik and the whole staff are great!

We experienced some SPA treatments and Bali's team is gentle ans kind.

Once we will come back to have again a nice vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaaya Island D... G, Guest Relations Manager at Chaaya Island Dhonveli, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Greetings from Dhonveli team and staff!

Many thanks for your kind comments. It's always nice to hear good feedback from our customers.

Likewise, thank you for pointing out areas we can improve on. We're committed to doing everything we can to ensure our customers will have a wonderful and memorable stay in our resort.

we are glad that you had a pleasant Christmas in our resort and we wish a blessed new year.
We look forward to see you again next year. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chaaya Island Dhonveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Island Dhonveli

Address: Kanuoiy Huraa
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Farukolhufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Farukolhufushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Island Dhonveli 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Island Dhonveli is Kaafu Atoll's best-kept secret for its world famous surf point known as Pasta Point. Located in the heart of the best surf areas, the island is a paradise for water sports lovers. Surfing, Diving, Snorkeling, Canoeing, Pedalo are hot favorites while Outdoor sports such as Tennis, Beach Volley Ball and Badminton are also available. This exqusite island resort offers lavish living spaces with 148 stylish rooms and six restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Chaaya Island Dhonveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Hotel North Male Atoll
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Resort
Dhonveli Beach Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Island Dhonveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.