We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaaya Island Dhonveli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chaaya Island Dhonveli to your Saves list
Chaaya Island Dhonveli
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kanuoiy Huraa   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

I have just returned from Chaaya Island Dhonveli, and I do not have a bad word to say about the resort, I went for 2 weeks and it is the most chilled I have every been (must have been, I read 14 books whilst I was there). I stayed in a beach bungalow number 227, you step out of your room and it is literally 7 steps to the sea. I read on a previous review that there was a lack of sunbeds I didn't see this at all, each bungalow has 4 beds, 2 typical to sunbathe 2 you can pull into the sea and cool off there.

The resort is mostly English and Italians, the Italians aren't loud they are just enjoying themselves, everyone was really friendly.

The staff could not do enough for you & the food was excellent, everyone is happy and extremely friendly.

I would recommend this resort to anyone, take wet shoes for going in and out of the sea as there is a lot of coral.

I would recommend the beach bungalow rooms, as soon as you open the door when you first arrive go and pull the blinds you are taken aback by the views, I will never get over the colour of the sea.

Sammy the rep was fantastic, a great sense of humour, there when you wanted her, but not pushy as some reps, unfortunately she is leaving to pastures new in 2 weeks.

All in all if you are wondering about the resort don't, just book it.

  • Liked — fantastic views, exceptionally clean,
  • Disliked — nothing, everything was fantastic
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    356
    99
    46
    21
See reviews for
146
857
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Just returned from a 2 week break with all my family - 8 of us in total including a 4 year old and an 8 year old. We stayed in 3 beach bungalows. It was a fantastic holiday, I can find nothing to criticise. Acommodation was excellent, food - quality & choice superb (something for everyone), staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the bungalows on the beach were, in my opinion the best place to stay and the outside bathrooms a novelty. No hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone who wants a holiday that is unpretentious but great quality

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We arrived at the island to a wonderful greeting and allocated our room (405). The room was of a good standard, large bathroom and outdoor shower which was excellent.

Staying in a beach bungalow we were right on the beach. We opened the patio doors onto a shingle white beach. This is unfortunately where the paradise starts to go adrift. There was a distinct lack of sun beds available. As we have read on some other reviews you had to play the sunbed game. Getting up at 5am to put a towel on the bed etc. However people would then move your items and claim the beds for themselves, not only using them but actually taking them into their apartments!

The island is heavily occupied by Italians, predominatly on one side of the island who congregate in eachothers rooms and "shout" at eachother until the early hours. The other end of the island rooms 207 to 220 are well away from this.

The food was excellent, as were the staff. The only downside was freak weather. It rained for 10 of our 14 days .......

Would return to the island remembering to stay at the 220 side of the island, and remembering to pack beach shoes for the shingles.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

we travelled feb 12th and stayed in a sunrise villa,room 220 the best possition on the island?.the rooms are great and only ten paces from the waters edge,the only problem with the room is the thin walls if you have an idiot watching tv at 2.30 a.m !!!.
if you want a relaxing holiday this is the place for you.the snorkelling in the lagoon is good if you pick the right time of day but if you are a good swimmer the house reef is fantastic.
All of the staff were great and really looked after you and if you need any advice sammy the first choice rep was very good.
everybody in our party would go back again,.the food in resort was very good ,fresh fish everyday and a choice of meat dishes or you could have curry for breakfast if you wanted it.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

if you are looking for peacefull holiday, with amazing sea life and excellent food this is the island for you. dhonveli is beautifull the lagoon is full of fish fab for snorkling,the beach is white a mixture of soft sand and coral. me and by baby( john) aged 42 ! had a holiday of a lifetime, this is the type of place you dream of. A small island not much to do but eat, chill, swim/ snorkle and catch some rays( sun). food and service is good ,clean rooms and friendly staff , if you want to escape and enjoy a peacefull retreat this is the place. We hope to return again sometime soon.

  • Liked — a lovely comfy bed
  • Disliked — the view we had a big bush outside blocking the view of the ocean.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

Booked with First Choice via their website.

Flight:

Flights were with First Choice’s own airline and were average. The only good thing about these flights was the reasonable amount of legroom. Do not go over your baggage allowance as you will be charged, no compromise here. You pay to sit together, you pay to get a decent in flight entertainment package, you pay over the odds for snacks and drinks and the food is crap. Slightly better than Monarch and MyTravel but only just. Try to sleep and remember it’s a means to an end with the Maldives at the end of it.

Resort Transfers:

Transfer to Dhonveli is by Speedboat. I was expecting this boat to amble to resort but soon as we had navigated into open water and he opened the taps on the twin motors, we were propelled towards the resort at a fair rate of knots! Great fun and you get to see a couple of resorts on the way there, no waiting around for an Air Taxi!

Reception:

No problems here either with check in or check out but I never had any taxing questions for them so I couldn’t determine their knowledge. First Choice customers have the luxury of having the rep in resort and she was a great advocate for the company.

Accommodation:

Booked a Water Villa and these are located to the southern part of the island. The majority face the open ocean with the rest looking into the lagoon. We had 815 which was about half way up and facing the open ocean. Good size villas with good furnishings, a little tired in places. The balcony terrace was excellent and caught the sun for a fair portion of the day. They have a good level of privacy as the windows are tinted.

Island Surrounds:

If you are looking for an island with great beaches then I don’t think that Dhonveli will meet your expectations. There is only one main beach and this is lagoon facing. There is quite a bit of erosion on what is left of the beach and much exposed coral. As the beach had been rebuilt a few times the sand does contain quite a lot of broken coral so watch as you go. During low tide there is also quite a bit of green coral exposed which can look a little rough. Because this is the main beach it can get quite busy.
The rest of the resort is kept very tidy by the small army of staff that sweep and clean the paths. The western part of the island is quite rough as this is where they seem to keep a supply of timber and dump bricks and rubble. A small legacy of the recent building works are the incomplete stone piers, these are located around the Water Villas Suites and I don’t understand why they were not finished off? Maybe the small unfinished works will be completed now they have rebranded the island with the “Chaaya” trademark.
The walkway from the Water villas to Pasta Point was an interesting contrast. On the plus side this walkway is a great way to look out for fish but on the down side follows the back end of the staff quarters and the generator. I don’t think this walkway was originally in the plan so this wouldn’t have been an issue but without it the folks in the WV’s in the lowest numbers would have had quite a long walk to dinner and the bar.

Staff:

Waiters were attentive and always chatted to guests to ensure that all was well. We found the room boys could be a little shady, two of them seemed to loiter in rooms during evening meal times. We came back one evening to find two of them chatting away just inside the door with the door to the wardrobe wide open which just happens to be where the safe was? Our other little gripe with our room boy was why he threw a broken piece of fence from our balcony under next doors villa, still could understand why they would do this? Still on the whole, the majority of staff were cheerful and went about their business even saying their greetings of the day to you in passing.

Food:

Excellent! We couldn’t fault the selection and quality of food on offer, there really was something for everybody. Everything from freshly grilled meats, choices of pasta with hot sauces, rice, salads and a fantastic selection of sweets.

Summary:

All in all a great two week stay. The food excelled our expectations. The island is a bit rough in places but everything else made up for this.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Lack of beachs
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

Myself and three others have recently returned from Dhonveli. Myself and my partner stayed in a water bungalow which we found was kept very clean and tidy at all times. The view from the picture window when waking up, looked straight out onto the lagoon and was spectacular! We saw many varieties of fish including octopus, turtle and shark, just looking into the lagoon from our sun deck. The room caught the sea breeze which was more than welcoming on the hot sunny days. Also we had steps leading straight into the water which at high tide seemed to go no higher than waist deep and therefore perfect for snorkelling even if you are not a strong swimmer. Water shoes recommended though due to the coral being quite sharp.
The other couple with us were lucky enough to be placed in a family beach bungalow, which had two floors and a short walk to edge of the lagoon down a sandy path. They seemed very happy with it, and again it was spotlessly cleaned.
Walking around the island was very pleasant. It was all kept quite natural and either you were walking on sand or wooden decking (which gets very hot on bare feet in the sunshine!!!). Island was very clean due to sweeping ladies who cleaned leaves and litter up every day. There were three bars the main one of which (Sunset bar) had music and entertainment most evenings. The Raalhu bar, which was our favourite, had soft background music and a decking area that looked over the ocean and into some rock pools. This made for interesting drinking whilst watching the marine life over the side rail. The quietest bar Rehendi bar, was nice for sitting and playing cards but can get a little breezy as faces out to the open ocean. All bar staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient (suprising what a regular tip will do).
The swimming pool area was our main hub as it was close to the bar and good meeting point for both rooms as spread across the island. Less than a minutes walk to lagoon so easy access for snorkelling. Pool was kept extremely clean and tidy by two pool boys who were both very helpful, friendly and smiling and keen to chat to improve their english. This all helped to make a very memorable and enjoyable holiday.
Lastly, must just add that First Choice holidays pulled through very well. Holiday rep based on island was spot on and not overpowering or in your face. Any questions she very quickly answered and sorted out for you. Wouldn't hesitate to return!!

  • Liked — Views of the Indian Ocean
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaaya Island Dhonveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaaya Island Dhonveli

Address: Kanuoiy Huraa
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Farukolhufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farukolhufushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaaya Island Dhonveli 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaaya Island Dhonveli is Kaafu Atoll's best-kept secret for its world famous surf point known as Pasta Point. Located in the heart of the best surf areas, the island is a paradise for water sports lovers. Surfing, Diving, Snorkeling, Canoeing, Pedalo are hot favorites while Outdoor sports such as Tennis, Beach Volley Ball and Badminton are also available. This exqusite island resort offers lavish living spaces with 148 stylish rooms and six restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chaaya Island Dhonveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Hotel North Male Atoll
Chaaya Island Dhonveli Resort
Dhonveli Beach Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaaya Island Dhonveli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.