We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay, Incredible Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baros Maldives to your Saves list
Baros Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2015, 20-02   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay, Incredible Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Maldives like a dream come true for me, I stayed at this hotel Baros Maldives for a week and it was excellent. Its everything I wanted for my trip to Maldives. Everything was 5 stars.. The staff are great try their best to be helpful., food perfect, the room was just right. Room service was quick, The guys on the doors were so smiley and friendly. I have nothing to complain about.
An experience I would love to have again someday! Thank you

A, Sultan

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear A_Sultan,

Thank you for the lovely review which we enjoyed very much in reading.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward for the next opportunity to serve you at Baros.

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    99
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
63
1,086
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We arrived in the Maldives after 8 days sightseeing in Sri Lanka and in need of a complete rest - Baros was the perfect place for all of that. We had a water villa (329) which was beautifully furnished, stunning views out to sea and we were able to snorkel straight off our villa steps. The service was second to none, our villa host was so friendly and attentive as was almost everyone else we came across. The chefs are just amazing - I don't eat wheat and at every meal gluten free bread (and muffins at breakfast) were automatically brought and when I ordered something from the menu which had a batter without my saying anything they produced a gluten free version. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and were treated to breakfast in the villa and the most delicious beautifully decorated (yes gluten free) fruit cake with fizz on our last afternoon. We were on half board so mainly ate in the Lime restaurant which was excellent. The BBQ evening was fantastic and a delightful chef had carved the most incredible decorations for that and the seafood night from chocolate, icing, pastry dough etc - real works of art! The snorkelling is the best we have ever done - turtles, sharks (friendly ones!) and fish and coral of every colour imaginable. The team at the Marine centre were so friendly, informative and helpful particularly Sugar and Julia who are delightful. The snorkelling outing was superb and thank you Sugar for taking the amazing photos as a memento. It was our first Maldives experience and we will definitely be back one day. We didn't experience the spa but my husband used the great gym. Immaculately maintained beautiful island with a second to none house reef right on your doorstep. Very romantic place - perfect for honeymoons (and 30th anniversaries!)

Room Tip: The water villa we had 329 has the sunrise and is lovely and cool to lie out on the decking as the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Limurubabe,

Warmest Greetings from Baros Maldives!

Thank you so much for staying with us in January 2014. It was a great pleasure having you with us for your 30th Anniversary and we are pleased to be part of the celebration.

We loved reading your comments and it gives us even greater motivation to go forward to in making such great stays for our guests.

Do let us know when the next intended visit is and we all can't wait to have you again.

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We booked Baros for our honeymoon in January for 12 nights. It was an expensive trip but we can truly say it met and sometimes surpassed our expectations! The island is beautiful, has capacity for approx 150 guests so quite small, but was always quiet and you are only ever aware of about a dozen people on the island at any one time! Incredible really as it is possible to walk around the island in less than 10 minutes! We stayed in a water villa, which we very much enjoyed, loved our private deck and to be able to step into the ocean from our villa.

The staff were friendly, attentive and genuine. From Farshaan and Domi in guest relations, to Azeez in the Lighthouse, to Nishantha and Wasantha at breakfast, to Ibrahim, Fauad, Ali, Mode, Hassan and the rest of the team at Lime, to Masoom, Shariu and Shafa and everyone who contributed to our renewal of vows celebration, and to everyone else who looked after us, the service was superb and a credit to the F&B manager Abdullah, and of course the resort manager Shuhan who was always accommodating with us.

With many destinations you find that many of the guests are usually from one particular part of the World, but it felt at Baros that there was a truly international guest base! We found that many of the guests were repeat visitors to Baros and indeed had visited many other resorts in the Maldives, some more expensive, but the general consensus was that Baros is the best! We found this very easy to believe!

The main event of the trip was our renewal of vows. This truly surpassed our expectations! Our ceremony was booked on a day in our first week. The weather was most overcast on this day, and so Domi, our fantastic wedding coordinator, suggested that we postpone to the following week when the skies were forecast to be clearer! It reflected well on the team that they suggested this before we did, and Domi proceeded to rearrange the many activities and the photographer for the following week. The day itself involved a fantastic spa treatment, a traditional 'bodu-beru' procession, a palm tree planting, the ceremony on a sandbank, sailing at sunset on a sailboat ('Nooma'), a candlelit dinner on the beach, a magnificent wedding turn-down service, followed by breakfast in the villa the next morning, and dinner in the Lighthouse restaurant on another evening. We were also presented with a beautifully carved wooden wedding certificate, his and her's sarongs and a framed picture. The whole event was magical and we cannot recommend it enough!

Our other activities included yoga at sunrise on the sandbank with Abhimanyu (our courteous instructor with a background in complimentary medicine), snorkelling, an extremely interesting educational talk by the marine biologist Julia, and an afternoon trip to Male all of which we really enjoyed.

There are 3 restaurants on the island. The Lighthouse is the most special and has a lounge from which you can watch the sunset. Lime is the restaurant included within the half-board package, and has a large enough menu that you won't get bored. Finally Cayenne is Baros's Asian food restaurant, and was good for a change of atmosphere and surroundings, although my tenderloin steak was a little disappointing and the service a little slow.

In addition my wife developed an eye infection during our stay. She was provided with some eye drops by the resort nurse, and the staff would ask her everyday whether it was getting better. At breakfast Nishantha even provided her with some cucumber to place on her eyes! The staff were consistently outstanding!

If we were being really pedantic, I could say that the wife was left craving for a proper english breakfast tea, we did have one day when the towels smelt of smoke (presumably someone was smoking in the vicinity of the towels before they were delivered to our room), and lastly there was a hole at the foot of the shower door to the outside deck of our villa where it appeared the odd cockroach was getting through and scaring the wife (and me too!). But these were really minor points and in no way spoiled what was a truly magnificent honeymoon.

We can't stress enough that we did feel we were in paradise, but it was the people and the way we were looked after that really made the difference and made us feel that this was the best holiday we had ever been on, but also that we would like to return soon. Congratulations to the team at Baros!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Roamland,

How beautiful you have put the description of Baros. It is such great reviews which keeps us focused in exceeding the expectations of our guests.

Our biggest wish is to receive you again to Baros in the very near future for another wonderful time.

Thank you once again from all of us and see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Once again Baros deserves it's number one position in north male atoll. Food, perfect, reef excellent, staff as always attentive and genuinely happy to be here.

One improvement since last year is the new stage by the cayenne restaurant and sails bar. There is live music of a very high standard 4 times a week.

The key to any holiday destination is how you feel at the end of the stay. We felt chilled, and very happy to have returned.

The reef was as good as ever, turtles and sharks keep company with hundreds of different varieties of colourful fish.

Also every night if you go down to the shore, you will see incandescent photo- luminescent plankton glowing blue washed up on the beach. Intriguing to say the least.

Enjoy the lizards, chameleon, fruit bats, asian koel, white bellied water hens and the beautiful dragonflies in this beautifully manicured paradise.

Room 210 thus time excellently appointed.

Baros is guaranteed to make you feel special and yearn to return. Thank you to Shuhan and your team.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Pauljhoward,

What a lovely review again! We are so pleased to read your second review and delighted that we have made your stay again so memorable.

I am sure it will be in no time that we meet again at Baros and we look forward very much to that.

Thank you once again and with all the warm wishes from the entire team of Baros.

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I spent our Honeymoon in Baros in january. I could go on and on about the wonders of this hotel but everything is described in the other reviews. I will just say "believe everyhting you read about the place, the staff, the restaurant and the rooms 'cause everything is perfect".

What I would like to add is about the snorkeling this place offers. I am a huge fan of diving but before we made the reservation for our honeymoon we found out that I was pregnant so no diving for me only snorkelling. After reading a lot of reviews we chose Baros for its house reef and believe me we were not disapointed. Just a few meters away from the beach you can see all the colourfull fish you want, along with sharks (very gentle) and turttles. You can swimm among them very easily, no need to go 10 meters deep. Also you have a bit of current in january, it is very easy to swimm as long as you follow this current and not swimm against it.

The only thing that I was missing was to see the Mantas. But, as always when you want something, Baros really tried its best to offer me the possibility to see the Mantas. Usually they organize a private snorkelling safari with a small boat, but since I was pregnant I could not go on the small boat, so they tried to organize a day on a bigger boat that would not imply any bumping. Though it was too expensive for us we really appreciated the effort that Baros put together to satisfy us.

In addition to snorkeling we really appreciated the careness of Baros' staff. They made sure that we were confortable at all time.

Finally just one word on the rooms: we tried two different type of villas. The first part of our stay was in a beach villa. It's just perfect with direct access to the see, and the outside bathroom is wonderful.
The second part was in a water pool villa. The luxury in this villa is above everything for sure. It is really worth the extra money.

My advise for room is that if you want to go with a water villa go with a pool one. Otherwise I don't think that a traditional water villa is worth it because you would have to go on the beach to enjoy swimming. Indeed, you can not really swimmin front of the water villa because of the current (at least in january) and because it is not deep at all hand has a lot of corals that scratch your feet. The beach villa is so amazing that I would advise it over a traditional water villa, but if you can afford it go with the Water Pool Villa that beats all the other rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Pauline O,

Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us. I agree with you completely about the house reef of us which is so lively and so beautiful.

Do let us know when then next visit is planned and we all will continue to protect our reef always, so that you can enjoy it even more in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 14 days in this delightful Island, made special by the outstanding service of all the staff. The Management team, made sure we had everything we needed, nothing was too much trouble and all the team could not do enough for us. Everyone was extremely proud of this Island and it showed.
We have been to the Maldives twice before but beautiful Baros was the best yet!
We stayed in a Water Villa, visited the excellent gym and spa, watched the sunrise having breakfast on a nearby sandbank.
Fantastic memories. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Anita H,

We are pleased to have had the chance to be of your service during your stay with us and so happy that we have made your stay so wonderful with us.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we all look forward to another opportunity to serve you.

Warmest regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spent just 3 days at the end of a trip to India. We have been wanting to visit the Maldives for a long time and are very glad we chose Baros. The location was perfect for our short stay just a quick boat ride from the airport and the fact that no children under 8 are permitted was also a factor. We love our grandchildren but sometimes you just need to be alone in a resort that caters to adults. We loved our beachfront villa 217 with a large beach garden area, dip pool and lots of privacy. Food was great lots of choice in 3 restaurants and service is exemplary. Wish we had spent less days in India and a few more on Baros. Now back in California but wishing we were still on Baros.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

I had much joy in reading and sharing your review with the team of Baros.

Though it was short, we are delighted that you have enjoyed it so much.

Do let us know when you intend to visit us again and we will be ready to provide you another peaceful stay with us.

Shukuriyya from all of us and see you soon again.

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Escapio, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baros Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.