We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baros Maldives

Save Saved
You added Baros Maldives to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baros Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2015, 20-02   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive Summer Saver
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Baros Island
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's difficult to describe in words such an amazing place.We were thinking of travelling somewhere special where we could have our own private wedding ceremony and honeymoon.We thought of Maldives as the perfect location for a Xmas holiday.We saw a few pictures of Baros and we decided that would be the place to go.Before travelling we didn't get much information about the island.We knew everything would be arranged for us,so we sort of wanted to be surprised when we got there.To be honest, there are no words to describe the whole experience.Absolutely amazing!The location,the service,the food, our villa even the wildlife.From the moment we were greeted at the airport and escorted by private boat to the island,to the minute we left the country,we were treated as royalty.Our villa,which we recommend to everyone was a Deluxe villa,close to the beach and for us,the perfect villa.The views were amazing,we had all the privacy we wanted and again,that VIEW.Waking up in the morning and seeing that wonderful coral piece of heaven will remain in our memories for the rest of our lives.Regarding the ceremony was exotic,different,unique and fun.To all the couples out there thinking of having a special wedding,go to Baros!.The pictures talk by themselves.Special mention to the lovely Arianne,Baros wedding planner,who arranged everything for us.Nothing was missing:flower girls,champagne,cake and amazing pictures (another special mention to the photographer).Also included in the wedding package:a memorable degustation dinner at the Lighthouse,we were eating for 2 hours!the selection of dishes and the service standards were 20 out of 10,then the next day honeymoon breakfast at our villa,including champagne and exotic fruit,an amazing an relaxing massage for both of us at the Baros spa and later that week we had our candle lit dinner on the beach served by our own private waiter.What else can you ask for?We spent most of the time in the island snorkeling and enjoying the house reef which is truly spectacular,such a shame we didn't manage to see any turtles,maybe next time.There is just one little detail we didn't enjoy...having to say goodbye to that paradise.There is so much beauty in this world.Everyone should have the opportunity to enjoy heaven on earth.If you are reading this,we hope you are the next one.Baros is the place to go.Go and get your flight tickets!!

Room Tip: Deluxe villas next to the beach.Amazing views,privacy and the area is less windy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear seagullbcn,

Warmest greetings from your Baros Maldives!

It was a great pleasure for all of us at Baros Maldives to have you on the island for your wedding ceremony and especially Ariana is delighted to hear that she has exceeded all your expectations in arranging your wedding ceremony.

We all at Baros Maldives look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable experience with us soon.

On Behalf of your Baros Maldives Team,

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    946
    88
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
48
881
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent 7 nights on this gorgeous Island and had a wonderful honeymoon. From the moment you are greeted at the airport and escorted by private boat to the Island, to when you leave the country, you are made to feel very special. The food was exquisite, absolutely amazing breakfast. We had everything we needed and wanted. We are very ecologically aware, and were happy to eat things which were in season, understanding that importing all the things that most westerners would 'expect' in a five star resort, will come with lots of air miles and the price tag. The house reef is beautiful, it is like swimming in an aquarium. The staff could not be faulted, the accommodation was fantastic. We were in a beach villa, the outdoor bathroom is so cool, wish we could have one at home. The only down side, was that there were lots of couples from a certain Asian country who dont have the same respect for the coral, and wildlife that most other guests exercised. eg taking bread into the sea, standing on the coral, and feeding, yes feeding loads of fish. This not only makes the fish habituated to humans, but can make them aggressive. I am amazed they were not put off by the sharks that also began lurking near them. This unfortunately may spoil things for future visitors, potentially making snorkelling less 'safe', and enjoyable. We did the right thing and informed the marine team, who hopefully will make a note for future visitors. We feel very strongly that the world is there for us to visit and enjoy responsibly but to preserve as much as we can for future generations. Lets hope the Maldives and Baros resort maintain their current thinking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear sparkle061,

Thank you for sharing your perfect honeymoon experience on TripAdvisor for us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us very much and we thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor for us.

Our team is very thankful for all comments you have shared and reassured me that they will be emphasizing even more on delivering the very important message of reef awareness to all our guests.

Once again from all of us at Baros Maldives "Shukuriya" and we look forward to having you back for another wonderful experience with us.

Warmest regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thank you to the team at baros, all 300 looking after just 75 villas, nothing was to much trouble, the snorkelling was amazing , swimming with reef sharks, and rays is special , the lighthouse restaurant has amazing chef and service standards are11 out of 10. The lobster bisque and the flambé steak cooked at your table were very good.
The room was spacious with a out door shower , the bed was large and I had really good night sleep very comfortable , the highlight was the gourmet dinner for 2 on the sand bank, champagne as the sunset, private sandbank one chef, one waiter and a fantastic menu .very well done and a big thank you to Shuhan resort manager for making baros a very special place, and we look forward to going back for longer next time

Room Tip: Sunset facing room provide the most sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear hugmee,

From all the 300 members of Baros family, we thank you for sharing your beautiful experiance on TripAdvisor for us.

It was a great pleasure having you at Baros Maldives and We look forward to having you again soon for another wonderful experiance with us.

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in a water villa didn't have a private pool although with the beautifully blue and warm shallow bay just a few steps away we didn't see the need for a pool.From the moment we were greeted at the airport till the time we were waved goodbye the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful didn't eat in the lighthouse but ate in the other two restaurants, food was superb we even had a tour of the kitchens by the head pastry chef and believe me the cleaniness and professionalism was second to none
Did some snorkling and diving from the house reef also took a boat trip to a reef about 20 minutes away having explored reefs in the mediterranean and the Caribbean the house reef was spectacular with the abundance and variety of marine life that can all be seen by just snorkelling.All equipment & tuition can be supplied by the helpful and knowledgable staff at the water sports centre
When we booked our Baros holiday we had three concerns 1.Quality of Food 2.Mosquitoes ( a friend had warned me that when he vistited the Maldives he was eaten alive by the dreaded mosquito & 3.Boredom
As previously mentioned we were delighted with the food, they claim to spray the island for insects on a regular basis to which we never saw any evidence and we didn't get bitten
We had 10 days on the island and we wished we could have stayed longer time just flashed by just a great totally relaxing holiday.this being our first visit to the Maldives we would certainly return and although there are many other resorts we don't think we could BETTER the BAROS

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Charleswindsor,

What a wonderful Tripadvisor Feedback - Thank you so much!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Baros Maldives that much and we can't wait to have you back soon again.

Once again from all of us on Baros Maldives: Shukkuryia!

Warmest regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Small resort and - as we were told by staff - the second oldest in continuous operation in the Maldives. It was originally the third one established there. Underwent renovation in 2005 or so they say. Villas (we had one on the beach, which we prefer in the Maldives because it gives more space to spread out as a family and typically also more directaccess to the house reef for snorkeling) are very well maintained and offer great comfort. Design is locally inspired and cool. The three restaurants offer varied food at appropriately differentiated levels of refinement. The house reef is great for snorkeling plus the diving center offers special tour to other reefs in the vicinity and also night tours. All great and worthy of 5 stars you might say. The only thing missing are some of the more sophisticated thrills that places like the Conrad or the W offer (pool with bar, underwater restaurant, tennis court) - at a significant cost. For a week of sophisticated bliss Baros is perfect.

Room Tip: Beach Villa, see above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear BusyBerliner,

Thank you for sharing your Baros experiance on TripAdvisor for us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experiance and we have taken your feedback onboard.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here to celebrate my birthday over Xmas with my husband and nine year old son. I can't rate the hotel high enough. The room ( we upgraded to a pool villa ) was perfectly sized had every amenity we could have wanted and was serviced every day to a high standard. The deck area had large bean bags, sun loungers and rattan loungers as well as loungers on the beach. The food was delicious, the dive centre very helpful and the equipment was all ready for us when we arrived. But overall this place was beautiful and run by superb staff in every area. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear murphycheshire,

Thank you for the beautiful review you have shared on TripAdvisor for us.

We are looking forward to having you back again soon for another wonderful experiance at Baros Maldives.

On behalf of your Baros Maldives Team,

Warmest regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Overall
With the exception of the lack of professionalism of the boat crews (see more detail below), the resort is very well managed at all levels and runs seamlessly. The staff are universally cheerful, helpful, hard-working and well organised and the overall level of service is excellent. They give the impression that nothing is too much trouble. As mentioned below, the food in all three restaurants is really excellent too and both interesting and varied. This all, of course, comes at a price. But that being said, there are many equivalently priced resorts that do not meet this standard. The resort seems to market itself strongly as a honeymoon/romantic couples destination but it is equally good for families, particularly if the children are old enough to swim in shallow sea-water and don’t need a pool/kids club to keep them occupied. We wouldn’t hesitate to go back, although we wouldn’t pay again for one of the boat trips until the issues outlined below are addressed. This is the reason for the four, rather than five, star rating.

Location & basic facts
The island is located in the Male atoll and therefore easily accessible from the airport – about 20 minutes by boat. The downside of this is light pollution at night from one side of the island, with the lights of nearby islands clearly visible on the horizon. Baros Island is small – you can walk around it in about 10 minutes. The island is surrounded by groynes and breakwaters, with gaps in between for snorkelers to explore the reef beyond. This gives shelter to the beaches, which are small but have lovely white sand and are kept very clean and free of leaves. The interior of the island is leafy, with palms and other typical tropical island trees. Several large fruit bats live on the island and fly around at night. They chatter sometimes during the day but they didn’t disturb us and it was lovely to see them at such close quarters. We also saw grey herons and, we think, a pelican.

Accommodation
The island has about 75 units, a mixture of traditional low-built villas and water villas, some with small pools and a few with larger pools. We stayed in a basic water villa (without pool), which was well designed, spacious and light – very nicely and comfortably furnished, with a good bathroom, a deck outside and a ladder leading directly down to the reef. The man who looked after our room was cheerful and meticulous and it was kept tidy and well serviced at all times. The only negative was that the water villas are on the windy side of the island (at least when we were there), but they are secluded – a bit of a walk from the restaurants and bar - and, except at low tide, it’s nice to be able to snorkel directly from the room.

Dining
Baros has three excellent restaurants, all with tables outside (weather permitting) overlooking the ocean, with great night-time views of marine life (small sharks and rays, plus fish cruising around the shallow water). The Lighthouse is the flagship, with international standard cuisine and a really fabulous bar on top – a wonderful place to watch the sunset while downing a well-made cocktail and delicious canapés. Great piano-bar style singing, with guitar accompaniment, was provided by a lovely lady called Anna while we were there. We also heard some very good saxophone playing one evening. The other two restaurants, Lime and Cayenne, are more casual but equally good, serving a huge range of food from pizza to sushi, with some excellent Maldivian specialities. On some nights there are really good themed buffets in one of the restaurants, but if you want something different, you can either go to one of the other restaurants or eat a la carte. Nothing is too much trouble on the cooking front and we really appreciated the flexible attitude and range of options available.

Diving/Snorkelling
There seems to be a well-equipped dive centre. We didn’t dive while we were here so can’t comment on the service offered, but from a snorkelling view point they provided us with the equipment we needed and the house reef was easily accessible from all parts of the island, offering a wide range of fish and smallish, non-dangerous sharks, with very little effort. The best place to snorkel seems to be near the buoy, close to a small wreck, near the Lighthouse Restaurant.

Boat Trips
We booked two private boats while we were here, one to go snorkelling for half a day and one to go early morning deep-sea fishing. Both experiences were not good due to the very amateurish (although well-meaning) local crew. On the snorkelling trip they were nearly half an hour late bringing the boat over and were then like a group of teenagers who had borrowed Dad’s Ferrari, which they nearly beached on the reef, almost drowning me in the process. On the fishing trip, somewhat surprisingly they unrolled their own hand-lines, which got tangled in my husband’s line. My husband is an expert fisherman and gave the whole five-hour trip a big thumbs down. There needs to be a clear line of management on the boats, with a seasoned professional, who knows what they are doing, in charge of both crew and guests. The lack of language skills also doesn't help with communication. Both these things are important for safety reasons as well as the enjoyment factor. The trips were expensive compared to other similar level resorts, but we would have done more (as we have done in other resorts) if we had had an enjoyable experience. This is one area where the resort really needs to up its game.

Spa
There is an excellent spa for those that want to relax – really, really good massages (we‘ve sampled many hotel spas and are very fussy!) and the staff are, like everywhere else on the island, flexible about tailor-making what you want both in terms of time and style.

Room Tip: We took the opportunity of visiting several different room options and they were all nice. The water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear JaneFairfax39,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your experiance at Baros Maldives apart from the experiance on the boats.

Your feedback on this is taken very seriously and i assure you the necessary trainings are carried out to ensure the experiance is improved at Baros Maldives.

On behalf of the entire Baros Maldives Team,

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Baros Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baros Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.