We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Diving Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baros Maldives to your Saves list
Baros Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2015, 20-02   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive Baros Saver
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dream Diving Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Thank you to all staff at Baros for such a wonderful holiday. From the moment we entered the airport terminal to the moment we left the terminal, friendly Baros staff where their to help. The transfer from the airport by luxary speedboat was a great way to start the holiday and also meant we had a full last day in Paradise.
We spent most of time Diving so a special mention to Reg, Ahmed and Kiko who were fantastic guides to discovering the underwater world of the Maldives. Also we stayed as a family so Baros is not just Paradise for honeymooners!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven_Walter, General Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Powertothepedal

We would like to thank you back for this wonderful review and I am glad that you had a memorable holiday with your beloved Family.

As there are plenty more to be explored on this Paradise underwater world; Reg, Ahmed and Kiko would be very keen to dive with you again and we await your visit back on Baros!

Warm regards,

Sven Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    94
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
52
967
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I went to Baros in March 2010. We stayed in one of the water bungalows and it was genuinely incredible. The service from the staff, the food and the beautiful beach and water were fantastic.

One of the best holidays we have ever had and memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven_Walter, General Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear GRS2109

I am thrilled that Baros has given you memories of a lifetime.

Thank you very much for the feedback and we do hope that those memories will bring you back on Baros in not too far distance.

Warm regards,

Sven Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I spent our 10 night honeymoon on this idyllic island and absolutely loved every second of it. Baros itself is beautiful, set on a lush tropical island surrounded by a clear blue sea and soft white sands.

We could not fault the place at all.

We stayed in a deluxe villa but having compared it to others on the island we were more than happy with it, especially as our bit of beach had the sun all day. Admittedly the pool water villas will be a must next time! We stayed in villa 109 and was well looked after by the attendant.

The food was fantastic in all three restaurants. There was plenty of choice in Lime and something different for everyone. We tried cayenne once which was nice but preferred Lime in terms of menu range. We dined at the Lighthouse restaurant once and had a fantastic evening, the food and service was excellent, yes its more expensive but worth it especially with the view. We would recommend the lighthouse bar for early evening drinks whilst watching the sun set and eating delightful canapés.

We even had a sandbank dinner which was our favourite experience of the holiday. We would highly recommend it as a ‘one-off’. To be waited on and looked after all evening and served fantastic food was great and dining under the stars and moonlight in the middle of the Indian Ocean was something else. Our waiter, Hussein and chef, Indy were both terrific and took care of us.

Which leads me to all the staff, they were all amazing with no exception. They are all genuinely warm and friendly and want nothing but to share their special island with you. Special shout outs go to Shuhan and Andrea who were both brilliant and extremely helpful. In the lighthouse bar Yenny and Nitin were fantastic; in the Lime Swati and Faisem were also fantastic and looked after us well.

I can only support everyone’s comments on the reef, it was stunning. Not having snorkelled on a reef before it was amazing to see the variety of marine life including sharks, turtles and numerous fish. Be sure to go snorkelling from the bit of beach near the cayenne restaurant and swim out past the lighthouse as around here was arguably the best coral. For the novices amongst you, the discovery scuba dive is worth doing, thanks to Ahmed for taking us out on the reef and showing me the ropes. A tip though – be sure to specify up for whether or not you want them to take the dive centre’s camera as a bit of confusion almost led to a $35 charge to the bill.

Overall, had a fantastic time and would definitely return one day. Yes it’s expensive but it is what it is, sometimes you pay more for the quality and given its location then it’s actually fairly reasonable.

We are suffering from a major Baros blues hangover!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven_Walter, General Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Boyd

We appreciate very much for all the compliments given and please rest assured that this has been shared among my colleagues; especially those mentioned who are delighted that you enjoyed being on Baros.

We do hope that we will able to share this Island Paradise with you again in the near future in order to wave off your Baros blues hangover!

Warm wishes,

Sven Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Baros Maldives for 10 nights at the end of June 2012.
We had looked over so many different islands, researched across numerous websites, through brochures and TripAdvisor reviews before we decided to stay at Baros Maldives.
The main reasons we choose Baros Maldives: the size of the island, the style of the rooms, the choice and cost of the dining & the experiences it offered. It lived up to all expectations.

Island:
We chose Baros Maldives because it is a small island, you can walk around it in about 10mins, but not once did we ever feel trapped. You have your own personal space, and there’s plenty of choice for sunbathing spots.

Room:
We chose the Beachfront Bungalow – you have your own bit of beach outside, with a garden area, a huge outside bathroom with shower, freestanding bathtub and lovely shrubbery. The bedroom has a big kingsize bed (I found to be a little hard), outside veranda with sofas, table and chairs etc. It’s all very well done – simple and calming. There are then your own sun loungers on your bit of beach outside your room.
It’s not permitted to bring any alcohol into the Maldives (they scan your bags at the airport in case you try to sneak some in) but you could get a bottle of 375ml Vodka for $30 in room, which is great to last the trip for pre-dinner drinks etc.

Restaurants:
There are a choice of three restaurants, Lime, Cayenne & The Lighthouse.
The service in all of these restaurants is fantastic.
Breakfast is served in Lime restaurant – a buffet with a very wide choice, from sushi & sashimi, to pancakes & omelets, the full English, breads, pastries, cereals, juices, yogurts… everything you could want – and they have Champagne on ice in the buffet – which in my view makes breakfast!
I personally wouldn’t bother with Lime after breakfast…

We had dinner most nights at Cayenne restaurant, a beautiful setting over the water. We saw the famous house reef shark on many occasions. We also never got tired of this menu, there is a lot of choice. I would highly recommend the table BBQ – Your own mini table top BBQ with a choice of skewers to be cooked. This was delicious!
Afseen was our waiter here and he was great, remembering the dips we liked, and always making recommendations to us.

We had dinner at Lighthouse too, and this is for a more special dinner, more dressed up and fine dining. The food was amazing, the wine list is great, and the atmosphere is very intimate.

We also celebrated a birthday and an anniversary whilst there, and were treated to breakfast set upon our ‘private beach’ area, with a bottle of sparkling wine on both occasions. This was a really great start to each of those special days. Farshaan at reception was particularly helpful in arranging these special treats, and helping organize activities. He always greeted us checking we were OK.

Experiences:
Sandbank experience : We went on the Sandbank experience, which was incredible. It turned out to be $600 for the entire experience: A private boat out to the sandbank, and then the sandbank is yours for the evening. A bottle of Champagne with nibbles whilst the sun sets, and then on to a 3 courses BBQ meal; Sashimi, Lobster, Steak, Prawns, Deserts, your soft drinks, water, and nibbles. A chef and waiter look after you all night – but never feel too overwhelming or annoying.
It really is an incredible experience to have 360 degree views of sea at sunset, and then dining under the stars. If you can, you really should do this.

Snorkling : As all reviews say, the snorkeling is amazing, it really is an amazing reef. We’re not into diving – but absolutely loved the snorkeling.

As you can see we really enjoyed our time at Baros Maldives– there were a couple of little bad points:
We had booked the traditional wooden boat for an evening cruise, but the hotel cancelled it 45 mins before we were to leave. (due to there not being enough bookings) I don’t understand why they left it so late to tell us, and it left us at sorts as to what to do that night. However, they did lay on some drinks in the Lighthouse bar to compensate and give us something special to do that night.
The TV had really bad sound and we had to get special speakers to be able to hear it.
The toiletries in the bathroom were a bit lacking – there was nothing for the bath – no bath oil or bath salts – I had to request some, and they gave me a L’Occitane bath bomb, they did point out that this was just for water villas though. I found it odd that a beach bungalow was offered nothing – in a 5 star resort you’d expect to have something, especially when the bath is the focal point of the bathroom.
WiFi - there is free public WiFi in the resort, but it doesn’t extend to the room. This is my pet hate in a hotel- WiFi should be standard by now especially in your room!

Room Tip: I would recommend the west side beachfront bungalows (ie between the dive centre and the water bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven_Walter, General Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear CharlesForde

Thank you for choosing Baros as your favored holiday destination and we are thrilled to learn that this Small Paradise has given you all what it takes to make your stay a memorable one.

It would be our great pleasure to be able to serve you again on another dinner at our stunning Sandbank and to seeing you snorkel every day with our resident fishes and turtles here on Baros!

Warm regards,

Sven Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelkerke, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Baros was our third visit to the maldives, after staying in Filitheyo and Moofushi the years before. As a 5 star resort which tops several lists in tripadvisor my expectations where high.
Reaching the resort was a pleasant experience. We were welcomed at the airport by a representative of the resort and had a fast speedboat for ourselves. We had expected a sort of James bond trip (considering some reviews i read before), but that wasn't exactly the case: no champagne or yacht but we did have quite a fast trip indeed (with a glass of juice).
At the resort we were welcomed by a complete team who guided us over the island and helped us with a smooth check-in.
the villa:
We booked the beach villa, which was nice and ok, but nothing we hadn't already seen in 4-star resorts like Moofushi for instance. The room and beach were kept immaculate during our complete stay. we stayed at the lagune side, which is nice as it has the sunsets, and.. no wall. No snorkelling however, and the view was a bit cluttered with the watervilla's, the diving center and a number of boats. A dream if you have never been to the maldives. Seen better in Moofushi and Filitheyo however.
The (outdoor) bathroom was very large and never a bug in sight. Fruitbats however... :-)
Beds of very high quality but extremely hard.
the water:
The house reef was simply amazing. We have been in several good spots already (curaçao, Egypt, maldives,...) but it beats them all easily. Especially the reef at the watervilla's: the water is clearer, and more chance to see turtles and/or white tips, and stingrays.
We were also very happy to succeed getting our Open Water certificate (tx Regis, Kikko and Ahmed !)
The food:
Well,.. here we have the only issue we experienced in this resort.
how's the food ? Breakfast is a buffet. Choice was ok, and quality was also very nice. In the evening dinner is served at your table.
If you booked HB you are supposed to have a 4-course dinner at the Lime restaurant. Quality is okayish, and IMO better than most buffets. but... it costs more than 100$ to book HB, and that is (much) more than a 4-course meal costs ! If you want to eat in the lighthouse restaurant, which in my opinion should be the standard in a 5 star resort you only get a reduction of 45$, so... where did my 60$ go then ? There is only one word for it: a ripoff. So if you wanted to remember one thing of this review: do NOT book the HB with your trip, it is cheaper at the resort. A 4-course meal costs around 75-85 $ (without drinks). The 4 most expensive courses would amount at around 115$..
yes: incredible and i had never experienced such a thing before.
Service:
as you should expect on a 5 star resort in the maldives: impeccable. I always had the impression that every wish could be made true.
Would i recommend Baros ? sure, roomprices are not that expensive considering the rates at other 5* resorts, but just stay clear of the HB ;-)

Room Tip: If you want the real maldives picture: you need to book a Watervilla. Those with the pools are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven_Walter, General Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Westende

Thank you for your sincere feedback with regards to your stay.

I can’t agree more that the house reef is indeed astonishing on this Paradise and I am happy to learn that you got your Open Water Certificate – well done!

I am sure that Ahmed, Regis and Sakiko would be very happy to dive with you again!

Warm regards from all of us,

Sven Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited Baros on the second leg of our holiday, and it was everything we expected and more!
After our tourist-filled first leg, all we wanted to do was relax and take in the scenery.
We stayed in a Beach Front Villa (amazing), and we loved having direct access to our own "private" beach. We spent every morning and evening on our lounge chairs, and it was perfect.
We ate at each of the restaurants and did several activities, all of which we would recommend to others.
**Food: There are 3 restaurants on the island. All offer GREAT vegetarian options!
Breakfast was served buffet style every morning, and there are several options. This is the only time you'll see all of the island guests btw!
The Lighthouse was a great place to have what feels like a private fine-dining experience.
Both Cayenne and Lime were nice to spend an evening at, but we avoided the buffets that were offered a few times a week.
Room Service, this is the BEST thing we found about the entire trip. Although there is a separate menu for In-Villa Dining, they do allow you to request certain dishes from all of the other restaurants. We enjoyed this because we were able to have dinner on our back porch and listen to the waves. We did this twice, and it was definitely the most private and romantic option available (at no extra charge)!
**Spa: Although a bit overpriced, the spa services were great. The Balinese massage is great for those with stress and tense shoulders.
**Activities: We chose to do activities based on the days they were offered. TIP: Book activities as soon as you arrive as to ensure availability.
Scuba: I love diving, but my boyfriend isn't certified. They had a great package course that allowed us to dive twice together. He got more one-on-one attention, and we were able to enjoy the experience together! Beautiful reefs and the dive instructors were very friendly!
Snorkeling: Snorkeling is completely free, and it is very worthwhile. We were able to walk straight out of our room and explore the reef right along the beach. We saw nearly as much here as we did diving!
Maldivian Hand Trolling: This was a very fun activity. It was great to be on the boat during sunrise, and most of us caught fish. After, they offer to cook the fish for you for lunch, which we turned down because we aren't fond of tuna. However, the other guests on the boat took our fish!
Sunset Dolphin Cruise: We didn't get our hopes up about seeing dolphins on this trip, but we thought it would be nice to go out during the sunset. Wow were we wrong! We saw tons of dolphins. This trip ended up being really excited and fast-paced. Perfect way to end our trip!!
**Staff: The staff was always very friendly, and it seemed like everyone knew our names. We had no problems, and anything we asked for was quickly done.

We felt like we were completely alone on the island, which is exactly what we wanted. I would recommend this to honeymooners, couples, or anyone wanting to get away from reality.

Room Tip: Beach Front room gives you your own allotment of beach space. It also gives you the opportunity to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven_Walter, General Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Heather

We are happy to learn that Baros has been your favorite holiday Paradise all along and that you had a great time experiencing our Excursions as well as our services!

We can’t wait to have you back again with all those excitements! Shukuryiaa!

Warm Regards

Sven Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went for our honeymoon a few months ago and although we did have a great time I feel that there are several things that the management of the hotel needs to improve.

Service: Service was great, everybody on the island is really polite and helpful. I did not have a single complaint for any of the employees, which is actually rare while staying 9 days there and being with them all day
Reception: Good reception, waiting for the guests to arrive and taking them for a tour of the island.
Island: The island itself is really nice, however it is rather small - you can do a full tour within 5-10'. For me it was OK, however some people might be looking for a bigger island.
Snorkelling: Snorkelling is fantastic, just outside your villa. This is one of the biggest positives of the island.
Nighlife: Simply put, none. It was perfect for our honeymoon, however if you are looking for night activities you won't find anything besides once per week that they had live music that was nice.
Rooms: We stayed in a water villa which was spacious, comfortable and had direct access to the sea. However the villas are (or at least look) really old. This is the only part of my stay that I thought that I was actually paying too much. Having wrecked decks/stairs, or doors/windows that do not open is quite unacceptable for such a resort. In general, the room was nice but it did not worth that money. Some of the villas are actually geting renovated, adding a pool too, so I would suggest to choose one of these.
Food: Breakfast was really good with many options. Regarding lunch/dinner, there are 3 restaurants. Service in all of them is nice, the food was good, however I would expect to have more options in the menus.
Spa: If you have been to other places in Asia you won't be that excited, however it was a good experience overall
Scuba: You should definitely try it since Maldives is probably one of the best places for Scuba.
Activities: I could not comment since I did not choose to do any, however none actually looked that exciting to make me book it and they seemed a bit expensive.

Room Tip: - If you choose a water villa I would suggest to choose one at the back, not the ones at the front w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven_Walter, General Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Petand

Thank you for your feedback given. I am glad to know that you had a good overall experience with us and you may rest assured that I have taken your comments on board for possible improvements as we always strive for the best possible service.

Thank you again and hopefully we will have your visit in not too far distance to experience our newly upgraded Pool Water Villa.

Warm regards,

Sven Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baros Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.