We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Hotel

Commodore Hotel
206 Blues Point Road, North Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 9922 5098
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 449 Restaurants in North Sydney
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely lunch here in late December. The outdoor eating area was great and with the cricket on the big screen it made for a very good afternoon. The young staff were extremely friendly and the pub offers good value for money.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced and poor quality food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This pub was good a month ago. Something terrible has happened and the food is now not good quality and overpriced. How can you kill a hamburger - the Commodore has! My expensive scotch fillet came with a microscopic salad and bad chips. Even the pigeons were disgusted!

It doesn't improve at the bar. The on tap beers have declined in number and variety and my first two 'menu wine choices were met with - sorry didn't order them this week.

The Commodore has suddenly gone off. I and my companions won't be going back and I 'm a local business with large staff!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pub in North Sydney”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The closest pub to where we live but we seldom go there because anyone above 50 is likely to feel too old as the crowd is generally pretty young. We took some friends there and they really felt out of place so we went down Blues Point Road to the Blues Point pub which has an older crowd.

Having said that they have a nice beer garden and they certainly won't miss our custom because it is generally pretty crowded - especially on Friday nights when it is very difficult to find a place to sit.
A good place if you're young and like the buzz.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Post City2Surf steak and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

we ran the City2Surf and then headed back to our accommodation and found this little gem.
The steak was cooked just nicely and the chips were thick cut and crisp my only complaint was the salad, although it had a yummy dressing it was just rocket! A little bit of tomato/carrot or capsicum would have been nice. Only other complaint was the smokers!!! smoking in the outdoor dining area NOT good form!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commodore Hotel also viewed

Crows Nest, North Sydney
McMahons Point, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
Cammeray, North Sydney
 

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.