We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at The north Shore - DONT” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added North Shore Hotel to your Saves list
North Shore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   310 Miller St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 North Sydney B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stay at The north Shore - DONT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed at,
Arrival No one at reception - Arrived late Blamed bus.
My room is joined to another, so i can here everything going on, TV very Loud,you can here everything an I mean everything
Parking that a Joke - Although better than the road.
The scene from the On line advert portrays a scene across the Harbour, me I can see a wall.
Chipped and broken everything - needs a bit of work
Clean though. Sadly drains smell
Dont believe what is supposed to be in the room
Wifi Not - Its a local community group at an extra cost.
My advice stay here only if its the last place available, otherwise pay a bit more and get a decent nights sleep

Room Tip: Dont use another Hotel - this is a Bed a Breakfast at most
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    13
    11
    22
See reviews for
13
9
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Curlewis, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here last week - was looking for something close to rail, easy to drive to as Im not a city driver and had parking. This fitted all those PLUS staff were very helpful and friendly and it was a nice little place. Quiet, though a bit cosy and rooms were a tad claustrophobic. Good position in North Sydney for the price

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards back as it is a busy road out the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at north shore hotel for one night before we went on a cruise and it was good value for us. The rooms were good quality with air con and TVs and they were clean and tidy. The service was fantastic, and we were allowed a late checkout which was kind.

I would recommend this to people on businesses in Sydney as it is 15 mins to the north Sydney train station and they are good, standard rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and I arrived at the hotel to check at 1:30pm only to be told that our room is not ready. We were told to come back after 15. We came back to a room with a messy bed, unwashed cups with tea bags in them, and the bathroom with dirty towels on the floor. We talked to the receptionist about this and this guy came and told us two house keepers will get it ready in 15. He told us that they are very busy --- that is a really lame excuse! But guess what? 45 minutes passed and no one showed up. I went back to the reception desk and asked if the room will ever get cleaned? The guy who told us two housekeepers will get the room ready came with a vacuum. He practically just vacuumed around the bed, change the bed sheets, and put two towels in the bathroom. The bathroom was not cleaned and it was covered with mold. The tv wasnt working. They seriously need to step up. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.. They'll just rip you off....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I live in north shore hotel to attend Sydney new year firework display. Reasonable price to make a booking one night at 300-400 bucks. Rooms are limited need early booking 2-3 months beforehand. Lucky I reserved a spot of superior room for the fireworks show. Upon arrival, I find out it is really a fantastic place. Warm welcome from hot receptionist, clean room and orgnised service. Especially, it is the exactly right place to view new year eve fireworks. Public bus acess right front door, 10 minutes work down to north Sydney train station. If your aim is circular quay vantage point, that is only 10 minutes train or bus trip. Alternatively we just stay on the north sydney side to celebrate the memorable moment. Me and my girlfriend just walk down mcmahons point to a reserve park. It is a clear view to fireworks show and also less crammed. Image millions of people flock into circular quay on that night, how to make a move closer there? We really have fun with my girlfriend thanks to find this hotel. Worth it spending 300 bucks for one night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I booked a family room during the Christmas period for my family who were visiting from Melbourne. It is not the first time they had stayed here as it is very close to where I live. However, this time it was very disappointing. I booked a room with a queen and one single bed (and specifically asked it not to be a foldaway bed) to only be given a foldaway bed! They were also asked to move rooms twice during a four night stay (despite me booking the room a couple of months ago!) The shower door was broken and couldn't be closed and wasn't particularly clean. My sister sent a cheque prior to her arrival only to be told it never arrived. The reception staff were adamant it was never received only to be now told (after they paid for the room again and have left the state) that in fact they had presented the cheque a couple of weeks earlier and no one had bothered to update their booking.
It is a real shame the standard of the hotel has deteriorated so much as it is in a very good location - nice big park across the road, very easy and quick to get into the city, about a 10 minute walk to a number of restaurants and very quiet. Despite this, until they get their act together I will not book this place again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stay here for business on 6th DEC , its in a good location and good value for money in Sydney. I stayed in room27. The 42 inch TV is fantastic .The service is excellent. Rooms are a nice size , clean and comfortable.Plenty restaurants near bye to chose from.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Hotel

Address: 310 Miller St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your North Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.