We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn of the Century Style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McLaren Hotel

Save Saved
You added McLaren Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
McLaren Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in North Sydney
Hunter Valley, NSW
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Turn of the Century Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the McLaren on a recent trip to Sydney. It is a lovely old Federation building turned hotel. I would love to know more of the history of it but found it hard to locate much information. We stayed in a standard room but suspect the 'outstanding' ratings were for the king sized rooms as our standard was pretty basic. The area is quite good as far as access to the North Sydney train station and a number of good eating spots. We really like 'Safi' the Middle Eastern restaurant around the corner in Ridge Street. We note from one of the other reviews that a later checkout was no problem - we must have asked the wrong person about leaving our car for a while after checking out. We were told there was room but as checkout was 10am and we would be charged for leaving the car there after that - a set amount for a certain period of time and then by the hour. In over 30 years of staying in good quality Sydney hotels we have always been granted this courtesy free of charge presumably as a gesture of goodwill for future visits.

Room Tip: Select king sized rooms if you are expecting 'outstanding' accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mclarenhotel, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Concerning the parking charges - we offer complimentary parking for our guests whilst they are staying at the hotel, something of a rarity in Sydney.
If a guest wishes to park a vehicle in the hotels car park after check-out a flat fee of $15 applies, which is still considerably less than the on-street metered parking or public car parks within the North Sydney district. We feel this cost is very reasonable considering we have limited spots available, and in times of high demand extra staff labour is required to move/park guest vehicles.
The courtesy provided by the hotel is reflected in the complimentary late-check out we had provided you with, and of course the free parking for the duration of your stay. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you at The McLaren Hotel in the near future - perhaps this time in a Deluxe King room ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    47
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
33
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Can't add anything to all the other positive reviews. Just to reiterate: A lovely hotel in a beautiful leafy part of North Sydney. Very pleasant garden-view breakfast room - and excellent value at $7 for toast (various kinds), fruit, muesli, teas, coffee and newspapers. Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable room and it was nice to be able to open the door onto the little private courtyard. Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked our room only 3 days before we arrived. The McLaren Hotel was a good price at $145 for a standard room with parking. We inquired at The Rydges who was $185 and The Vibe $200. We have previously stayed at The McLaren and had booked a better room with a little courtyard outside. As we were late with our booking we got a standard room which was a little musky and dark but still good value for money, lots of character and even a fire place in our room. The bed was very comfortable and the staff are friendly, we even got a phone call from the manager because we'd left a tee-shirt behind. I'd definitely stay here again, but if you want a shiny new hotel with mod cons it wont be for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Apologize for stealing the title from downstairs, but indeed it summarized the beauty of Mclaren neatly! Didn't highlight North Sydney as it is actually just 2 tram stops from downtown, so fairly easy to get to everywhere.

Visited Sydney with family in Feb so want to stay close to attractions while still get some quiet sleep. Mclaren fits my needs perfectly. As mentioned the location is convenient (800 meters from North Sydney station, so still takes ~10 mins walk), and it resides in a quiet neibourhood. The hotel itself is a lovely 2 floor house with a small but enjoyable garden. Inner deco fits with the house style, a bit retro but cozy and comfortable, a home feeling. Enjoyed the big bright dinning room at the lobby (not rich, but the 7 dollar breakfast is definitely good value).

Not many rooms and well managed/serviced (like a home B&B). Warm and helpful staff. Have to say a few words about Lily, an elegant girl with a soft tone who showed us great hospitality upon our arrival. Certainly appreciated.

Last but not least, Sydney hotels generally are expensive. Mclaren definitely offer attractive rates.

Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at the McLaren hotel for one night in January on business. I booked a Standard room as it was only one night and frankly, the mark of a good establishment is getting the Standard rooms right - it's relatively easier to make expensive rooms good.

The Standard rooms are in the heritage part of the hotel and mine was on the first floor. It is small but comfortable and reasonably furnished. The bed was comfortable and I slept really well. The bathroom was shower only but plenty of hot water and nice shampoos.

There is no view from the window and no minibar, but the hotel has a guest lounge downstairs and I was happy to spend some time here reading and making my calls home.

I was checked in by the owner who was very friendly and showed my around the hotel which also includes a charming breakfast room - unfortunately, I had an early start so could not sample the breakfast.

The hotel is a short walk from several restaurants and pubs - I had dinner at the Union Hotel.

It is only a 10 minute walk to North Sydney and I thoroughly recommend it for a short or longer stay.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a bit spartan but still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The McClaren is a boutique hotel located on a pleasant, quiet street in North Sydney. It is a large, two storey hotel with some rooms located on the ground floor next to the lounge. We had a room upstairs which worked well for us. The room was very large and we were able to request two single beds. The room was clean and included a kettle and instant coffee, tea and biscuits.

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Wireless internet is available as are breakfast and parking. However there are only so many car parks in the underground garage and it is first come first serve. However, the staff mentioned that they also have other places to tuck cars if need be.

The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the North Sydney train station, so don’t expect it to be right around the corner. I was with someone who had some mobility issues and so we found it easier to drive north to one of the other train stations where we could park on the street and had easy access to the train. This worked out well since parking in a Sydney garage can be really expensive. However, some garages have early bird specials which are really good and so it pays to look at the garage websites.

The only concern that I had during our stay was security. The front door is locked after a certain time at night and each room is locked. However, I was able to walk into the hotel and up to our room without seeing anyone. But that concern may just be me being more used to bigger hotels with more security in place.

I highly recommend walking down to Lavender Park and the boardwalk for fantastic views across the harbor.

Overall, a really nice hotel in a quiet part of the city.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the McLaren Hotel recently in North Sydney. I stay in a lot of hotels for work and the like so I was trying very hard to avoid the modern box variety of charcoal coloured sofas, small rooms, baths with showers in them, and living in a building with about 400 other people for a night. This hit the spot. It was perfect. Great location, great size rooms, super price for the locale and very homely atmosphere. If you are thinking Intercontinental, then this is not your place, but why think that when you can think a great sleep in a room you can swing several cats in, lovely staff, amazing location and just a wonderful place to stay that IS NOT a giant, impersonal and compulsorily airconditioned box. I loved it and will stay nowhere else in Sydney now.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McLaren Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLaren Hotel

Address: 25 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McLaren Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your McLaren Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclaren Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLaren Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.