We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in North Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McLaren Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added McLaren Hotel to your Saves list
McLaren Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great hotel in North Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The McClaren is a boutique hotel located on a pleasant, quiet street in North Sydney. It is a large, two storey hotel with some rooms located on the ground floor next to the lounge. We had a room upstairs which worked well for us. The room was very large and we were able to request two single beds. The room was clean and included a kettle and instant coffee, tea and biscuits.

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Wireless internet is available as are breakfast and parking. However there are only so many car parks in the underground garage and it is first come first serve. However, the staff mentioned that they also have other places to tuck cars if need be.

The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the North Sydney train station, so don’t expect it to be right around the corner. I was with someone who had some mobility issues and so we found it easier to drive north to one of the other train stations where we could park on the street and had easy access to the train. This worked out well since parking in a Sydney garage can be really expensive. However, some garages have early bird specials which are really good and so it pays to look at the garage websites.

The only concern that I had during our stay was security. The front door is locked after a certain time at night and each room is locked. However, I was able to walk into the hotel and up to our room without seeing anyone. But that concern may just be me being more used to bigger hotels with more security in place.

I highly recommend walking down to Lavender Park and the boardwalk for fantastic views across the harbor.

Overall, a really nice hotel in a quiet part of the city.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
51
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the McLaren Hotel recently in North Sydney. I stay in a lot of hotels for work and the like so I was trying very hard to avoid the modern box variety of charcoal coloured sofas, small rooms, baths with showers in them, and living in a building with about 400 other people for a night. This hit the spot. It was perfect. Great location, great size rooms, super price for the locale and very homely atmosphere. If you are thinking Intercontinental, then this is not your place, but why think that when you can think a great sleep in a room you can swing several cats in, lovely staff, amazing location and just a wonderful place to stay that IS NOT a giant, impersonal and compulsorily airconditioned box. I loved it and will stay nowhere else in Sydney now.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Absolutely beautiful property, wonderful staff, fantastic location and great value! A short 10 minute walk from train station or to nearby cafes and shops - summer Friday night jazz and food market right across the road. Friendly staff checked us in straight away, no waiting around. Gorgeous large rooms, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, with quality linen, opening windows and doors onto outdoor sitting area. Free Foxtel! Take your time over the $7 (!!!) continental breakfast in the light filled atrium area and read the paper as you enjoy fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast, muffins and crumpets. Staff were so helpful and friendly, happy to provide us with a late checkout at no extra cost.
Terrific value for money. Looking forward to a longer return stay to enjoy more of Sydney.

Room Tip: Stayed on the lower floor and did hear a little bit of noise from upstairs late at night. Staying o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked online, travelling from Halls Creek WA. Arriving at 9:30pm they called before hand with details to get key!! Excellent serbice cheap and functional wi-fi (we downloaded a movie on our iPad)! Freat place we'll be back !! Close to sydney city well done McLaren Hotel!
Billy you are a star great service when we forgot beer and chocolates in our room! Thanks again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for a Birthday,
I'd stay here all the time until i move back to North Shore.
Everything about this hotel from check in to check out was effortless!
It was good value for money and a well kept hotel with a cute little mini bar stocked.
Being a Travel Agent i would reccomend!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and find it extremely good value. It is really like a large bed and breakfast and is very well located just off Miller Street in North Sydney. All the rooms are, I think, different and I have had 3 different rooms on the 3 occasions but all have had very comfortable beds and a decent, if old-fashioned, bathroom with a good shower. Best one was the latest - Room 7 - good for one person, may be a bit squeezy for two, although does have a queen bed. TV was very small - size of my laptop!! Check-in is always quick and easy and the staff are very pleasant. Don't know about breakfast, however, if you are thinking of dinner, you can't go past L'Incontro at the end of the road - the food is sensational and the service very good - not cheap, but not overly expensive either, depending on what wine you drink!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the McLaren twice in two weeks recently. We first booked it because of the good deal we found on wotif, but also because the location suited us. We were pleasantly surprised. Its older style accomodation but the room (King bed, no. 21) was a decent size, nice and clean, the bathroom pretty good and excellent pressure in the shower. We stay in hotels quite a lot in Sydney so it was nice to try something a little different, almost B&B style in a leafy and quite street of North Sydney. The Rag and Famish Pub is only a short stroll away for an evening meal and a glass of wine. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in No. 21 both times, its upstairs in the back part of the hotel. Extremely quite, no pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.4 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#5 of 8 in North Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
3.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
1.3 mi away
Glenferrie Lodge
Glenferrie Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kirribilli
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLaren Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLaren Hotel

Address: 25 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McLaren Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your McLaren Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclaren Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLaren Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.