We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added North Sydney Harbourview Hotel to your Saves list
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Blue Street, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in North Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My second stay at this hotel confirmed how much my wife and I like staying here. The views of course are superb, but wait there is more! The staff are friendly, helpful, approachable and not at all pretentious. The rooms are comfortable, clean with all the modern comforts. The Sunday buffet breakfast was both good quality and value and the bar has some value Happy Hour drinks. The location, especially if you don't have a car (like we didn't) is so convenient. Underneath is North Sydney station which is only minutes travel to Sydney CBD or for those more energetic, a short walk across Harbour Bridge. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: A harbour view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    309
    99
    35
    26
See reviews for
89
225
34
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel is aptly named. Very nice view of the harbor bridge from the rooms. Opera house is also visible from some rooms on the south side of higher floors. It is just beside North Sydney station and close to many malls and happening places. Good comfort hotel with a great view.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the south east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel will give you a beautiful bathroom, and lovely bed etc, but if you are taking a budget room, you may find that not only is your room small, but if you are below about the sixth floor you'll hear the train. We stayed on the fourth floor last night and you could hear (and virtually feel) the trains, and the local traffic. Other than that nice that you can open a window, and a lovely bathroom etc. No little extras though such as plates to put your tea bags on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just had my fourth visit there, I'm a repeat offender ;-)
It's my special place I love to go to for my birthday celebration every June.
The best value is to do a weekend package, where you get your room with a view, parking, brekkie and dinner if you're so inclined.
The view is perfect and the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed.
I have nothing negative to say about this place. Only that I wish I could afford to make it monthly instead of annually.
Luna Park nearby for the kiddies if you have any.
Look - you do hear the trains underneath, but that doesn't bother me at all as I live near a freeway anyway and am a bit immune to constant noises around me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The packages get priority on the view apparently so we had a very tidy and refurbed room on level 10. A bottle of champagne was waiting for us in the fridge and we received vouchers for buy one get one drinks (basic range).

Before dinner we wandered down Kirribilli Ex Servo's, about 10 min walk, and enjoyed their view.

Dinner was quite good as was the included buffet breakfast.

Parking on site or they will valet your car off site if full (which saved me parking it).

Had a nice walk down by Lavender Bay before our (package) noon checkout.

All up a great break for us as Sydney siders, but would be a great place to introduce out of towners to the city, which is just a train ride away.

Room Tip: Insist on an upper level room because the rail line runs under the hotel and it rumbles when trains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My Husband and I attended a 60th Birthday party at the motel. We had read the reviews and after taking in the feedback about noise from the trains I decided to request a room higher then the 7 floor. On arrival around 12pm our room was ready and we were on the 14 floor . Well the view was amazing. The noise from the trains could still be heard but was bearable. MY disappointment came when I went to have a shower. The water pressure .. well none. it trickled out. I was shattered. Im not sure if this was because we were on the 14 floor . I didn't complain because I didn't want to give up the view. Would I go back? Only if they guaranteed a room with a view and a decent shower pressure. Dianne

Room Tip: 1407 amazing view, but check with reception regarding water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were on floor 12 and had an awesome view of the bridge. The opera house is hidden behind another building. We arrived at 10 in the morning and expected the room only to be ready by 2 pm but the extremely friendly and helpful staff member provided us with the room key! this was very nice. The hotel smells fresh and we were impressed with the room and the service. We also heard the noise from the trains but we are used to noise. Really spectacular views both day and night. We walked to the nearby mall but were unable to find any eatery open after 4 pm on a Saturday. The food court was also locked. you can walk to the bridge and opera house from the hotel. Careful when you search for directions on the internet for this hotel as there is also a pub on the other side of the bridge (not in north Sydney) with the same name and we ended up there.

Room Tip: Pay more for the rooms with a view - it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#5 of 8 in North Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.4 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#1 of 8 in North Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
0.9 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Sydney Harbourview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Address: 17 Blue Street, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Sydney Harbourview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Sydney Harbourview Hotel is minutes away from Sydney CBD, separated by the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge and offers magnificent views of the harbour and city skyline. The Hotel is within easy access to the City, Taronga Zoo, Luna Park, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Rocks Village & Mary MacKillop Place and is right next door to North Sydney Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your North Sydney Harbourview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.