We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the steep price!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added North Sydney Harbourview Hotel to your Saves list
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Blue Street, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in North Sydney
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the steep price!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had a terrible stay here. Most staff were rude, the shower was leaking, and the noise everytime I train went by was so loud that my floor was vibrating. Room service was below average. The view of the bridge was very nice though, in fact it is the only positive thing that I have to say about the hotel at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    266
    86
    34
    23
See reviews for
70
204
33
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is our hotel of choice in Sydney. Even though we used to live in Sydney, the views from every bedroom are spectacular over the harbour to the bridge. The hotel is so comfortable, especially the beds, and so convenient, right at the railway station. Excellent weekend packages including breakfast - a very tasty buffet- and parking. There is no need to look for an alternative dining location, since the restaurant is very good with a wide range of menu options.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Twin bed option on level 4 can be a bit noisy during the day, but okay at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Best gift ever. My daughter gave me and my husband a night at the Harbourview with 3 course dinner included. Our room was big clean and had views from the opera house to the Iron cove Bridge. The Dining room was private and the meal delicious. Will definately heading back again. And would recommend it for a gift idea.

Room Tip: On site parking but it is a little tight for a larger car
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of the business district of North Sydney and walking distance to train station to go to Sydney CBD. I enjoyed the bar and music whilst the room has the full view of the opera house and the Sydney harbour bridge. Will stay at this hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had the opportunity of a 2 night stay with my wife and granddaughter in a Harbourview room over the long weekend. The service was excellent they are only too happy to assist you in any way they can and quickly. The view from the room is fantasic and is worth the price of the room itself. The meals were excellent and reasonably priced. My granddaughter loved the view as looks over Luna Park and we had an enjoyable 10 minute stroll to the park. Close to North Sydney Station it is an excellent starting point for your Sydney stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if possible with harbour views as you do get a little noise from trains but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I was getting married and had over 80 people coming from interstate and picked this hotel due to proximity to train stn and views. I stayed the night before the wedding and was meant to get picked up by pre arranged transport. They didn't turn up and Paul from the hotel proactively offered to take me and the bridal party to the venue. This is truly exceptional and he went above and beyond! Thanks to paul!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here for one night, the final night of my 3 week holiday in Oz. Although i didnt spend a great deal of time in the room as i was squeezing in last minute sight seeing, the experience was still good! My room was on the 1st floor, very modern and clean. The view was amazing!

The hotel is very clean and the reception staff were very helpful. The hotel is in North Sydney but is just next door to the train station and trains into the city are very frequent and tickets are cheap!

My only small criticism that i have is that, due to the proximity to the train station you can hear (and sometimes feel) the rumble of the trains below.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Sydney Harbourview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Address: 17 Blue Street, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — North Sydney Harbourview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Sydney Harbourview Hotel is minutes away from Sydney CBD, separated by the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge and offers magnificent views of the harbour and city skyline. The Hotel is within easy access to the City, Taronga Zoo, Luna Park, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Rocks Village & Mary MacKillop Place and is right next door to North Sydney Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your North Sydney Harbourview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.