We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it - Danke Well!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine Michaud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roullens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine Michaud
Save
You added Domaine Michaud to your Saves list
1 Michaud, 11290 Roullens, Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Roullens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
scotland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“We loved it - Danke Well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Without a shadow of doubt, staying at Domain Michaud, was the highlight of our weeks holiday in the South of France. Hubby had found DM on Trip Advisor and keen to support family businesses decided that this was the place for us. We booked over the Internet by e-mail and Jolanda and Fred were very helpful with the booking and directions. On arrival, the setting and views simply take your breath away with a near 270 degrees of fantastic scenery. The property is much bigger than the photos suggest and the guest accommodation is beside the large pool, most of which have views over the valley / hillside. The house also has a large dining room and family / receptions room which can be used by guests and these are huge. Our room (Serena) was spotlessly clean, very warm (in decoration) and inviting. It was the largest bedroom that we had stayed in during our 'France trip' and we had three large windows looking out onto the vista. Our hosts, Jolanda and Fred and thier family were wonderful. Really nice people who clearly go out of their way to make sure that their guests stay is memorable. Even Luna (family dog) made us feel at home! We decided to eat in the house on both nights of our stay and the food and accompanying wine was simply lovely (this was a good call as we dont think that any of the local restuarants could have done better and we could both have some wine!). Naomi (daughter) helped her mother out with the evening meals and was a wonderful host too - a real credit to the family. Eating outside as the sun set and the stars came out was great - really relaxing and romantic! We loved it. The place is very peaceful and a real change of pace from the hustle and bustle of the towns. We spent one day in Carcasonne and the medieval town is good fun (bit touristy but what do you expect). Overall, we would recommend everyone to stay here, it's simply fantastic. Would we return - ohh yes please!

Room Tip: The're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    11
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed two nights in August in the white room. On the positive side, the location offers stunning views an is a very quiet and beautiful location. The house is full of character and offers a nice outdoor swimming pool (good for actual swimming if you like the exercise). The owners (who are Dutch but speak good English) were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast consists of freshly squeezed orange juice, various meats and cheeses, croissants, some fruit, fresh bread and some quality jams.

We were disappointed with the evening meal on the one night we ate there. It certainly didn't live up to the expectation as portrayed by some reviewers and the hotel website itself. Firstly we were invited to join the family and friends on a large table, not really a choice as it would have seemed a little strange for us to eat separately.

Before the meal we were offered a drink by the very helpful teenage daughter and we asked for two gin and tonics. Sadly we were served two glasses of tonic with no ice, no slice and very little gin and later charged 4 Euros each for them!

For starters we were served beef carpaccio despite me informing them in advance that I don't eat beef! (They Noted this in an email reply). A little embarrassing in a family setting. The main course was a tasty chicken stew served with four or five chips and a single cooked tomato, accompanied with some dry bread. Hardly the gourmet meal using fresh produce from the garden! We must have waited what seemed like an hour for the pudding to arrive (pear pie - quite nice). Not worth the 29Euros per head charged!

In conclusion it is a very pleasant and relaxing location but somewhat over priced. The evening meal in particular did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at the B&B of the family Danen. It exceeded all expectations. It is a beautiful quiet place just 15 minutes from Carcasonne - with a stunning view!

The rooms were spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. We felt easily at home and we really had an unforgettable stay.

We also had lunch and dinner several times and the food prepared by Mme Danen taste extremely good, you really taste the dedication and passion. We also loved that it was all prepared from their own garden and from local producers of wine, cheese etc.

We hereby give this B&B our highest recommandations and we really hope to be back some day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you are travelling to Carcassonne for your holiday, make sure you book your accommodation at Domaine Michaud. We stayed at Domaine Michaud for a week. Its location is ideal- out of the way with great views, but close enough to Carcassonne and the surrounding area. Our room was large and the bed very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the 3 course meal in the evening and we ate there every night as it was so much better than the local restaurants. The pool area is a great place to relax and the family makes a big effort to make you feel at home.
Our stay here really was the highlight of our visit to this area and you really cannot go wrong by booking a room here. We felt very relaxed and at home the whole time we were there. Its an idyllic setting with horses in the fields and a couple of lovely dogs to keep you entertained during the day. Best wishes to Jolande and family! Naome Esme- we hope your exam results were everything you hoped for and deserved after all your hard work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in July and we had a marvellous time.
Nearly everything is right about this B&B.
The hosts are an absolute delight who work very hard to ensure everything is perfect for the guest.
The views are just amazing and wait until night when the town of Carcassonne is illuminated in the distance, which can be viewed whilst sitting at the dining table.
We dined each night of our stay and we would recommend that any guest also does this. Great and wine.
Jolanda also is an expert on what to do in the area and not just Carcassone itself. Take her advice and use it. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at Domaine Michaud after a couple of nights in Carcassonne. I can honestly say everything about our stay was perfect. The house is amazing, the pool area is lovely, and the views are truly stunning. Our room was large and very tastefully decorated, with a great view over the pool. Jolanda and all the family were so welcoming, and helpful with every question or request we had. Breakfast was a real event, with great food and an amazing view too. I also have to say that you MUST have dinner there, Jolanda's cooking and Naomi Esme's service were superb... so much so that we stayed for dinner the second night as well as the first. I really do hope we will return there soon.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

How amazing is this place! We have recently returned after a 7 night stay in a little corner of heaven. From saying bonjour to au revoir nothing was less than perfect. You don't feel like guests but part of their extended family and to join them round the dining table was very special. Jolanda your culinary skills were totally appreciated and you must write a cook book. It will be a best seller. Naomi Esme, you will go far. Your attention to detail at table was first class and your manner just delightful. This family give themselves totally to you for your stay with them and to complete the perfection you have the most beautiful views to gaze upon. Your lovely pets were also a plus for us. Fred and his hard working son were completing the gite whilst we stayed and to be able to open your door, look at the views and jump into the pool would also be perfect. Certainly something to think about. Jolanda, Fred all we can say to you is thank you for sharing not only your most beautiful home with us but also your most beautiful family and way of life. The pleasure was all ours.

Kim and David.
Manchester, England

Room Tip: Couldn't go wrong with any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine Michaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Michaud

Address: 1 Michaud, 11290 Roullens, Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne > Roullens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roullens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel , luxury B&B + restaurant ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine Michaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.