We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Wetheral Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Wetheral Hotel to your Saves list
Crown Wetheral Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Freezing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I found this hotel was further from Carlisle than I expected, parking being on the main road. When I arrived I was greeted by a porter who was so far up himself, any further and he would have been invisible! The check in was swift and cheerless. The room was poor and on a bit of a slope, a glass tumbler rolls right across the room, as if on a ship. The room was absolutely freezing and took about three hours to warm up, a gale force blowing through the gap in the window. The room was clean and tidy. The bar meal was excellent in taste and value and a welcome relief together with smiling staff which made the night. The gap in the door to the room and constant noise from every other room was a constant irritation throughout the night, to the point where I had to put the television on to blank out the noise. The shower took ages to warm up. The breakfast was excellent though the service was a little too quick! The waitress was like a hawk, as soon as I put something on the table it was assumed to be finished and whisked away. Probably something to do with wanting to get home due to the snow! I did not use the fitness centre or pool as I was too tired. There is nothing else anywhere near this hotel, but based on the price and compared with the many rubbish hotels in Carlisle I would probably go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, General Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Firstly I would like to apologise that you have not enjoyed stay here with us at the hotel.

I would like to ask that you contact me personally on my email where I will only be to happy to discuss this matter with you.
My email address is paul@crownhotelwetheral.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Kind Regards
Paul Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    135
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
84
199
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great atmosphere in a lovely village. Follow sign to railway station. Great welcome from all the staff, mainly local. Absolutely perfect service and perfect food in the restaurant. Restaurant well staffed at breakfast- so delays in a quick getaway.
Only negative comment was the £26 meal in the restaurant- wasn't really this price unless you missed out on potatoes and vegetables, both of which were extra.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Crown Hotel.

I am surprised to read that vegetables and potatoes were extra on your £26.00 menu, as this menu is a incluvise three course at £26.00. I have spoken to my team to investigate what happened and as yet they have been unable to throw any light on this matter. So my apologies that this occured and i hope this will not deter you from using the Crown Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Hicks
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I found this Hotel on Trip Advisor and I agree with all the other very positive reviews about the Hotel and Staff. It is great value for money, the staff are very friendly and in general it was a great find. All that being said my Bed Mattress was dreadful and worn out. It was the type of mattress that when you sit on it you go straight through to the box spring and when you lie down the springs poke you in the ribs. Why refurbish a room to executive standards and then leave the old bed in place – It doesn’t make sense if the guest isn’t comfortable and can’t sleep properly because of it. When checking out I was asked if I had enjoyed my stay- I said Yes but….. The receptionist took my criticism on board and acknowledged that it was an old bed that was due to be upgraded soon. If I ever go back to this area I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again, I’d just make sure to book a room with new furniture for it was for this reason that I couldn’t rate my experience higher.

Room Tip: Check to make sure you get a fully refurbished room with new furniture - see my review about the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I can assure you that following your comments on departure I immediately checked the room and ordered a new mattress. I can only apologise for any discomfort that you may have experience and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Paul Hicks
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finistere, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

stayed one night on the way to Scotland, the room was clean, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was good. Had a meal in the bar and it was excellent, good value for money and the staff were great, the wines were good value for money as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments, i am delighted that you ejoyed your recent stay here with us at the Crown Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Paul Hicks
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was one of the hotels used on a Steam Railways trip. It is a comfortable, friendly hotel, and the food is good. It is walking distance from the railway station. It has two bars, the public bar serves good beer and has a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments regaring your recent stay here at the Crown Hotel. The railway station being so close and being refurbished a few years ago is a real gem!

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Crown Hotel,

Kind regards

Paul Hicks
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

First time at the crown. Arrived lunch time met friends and had sandwiches and drinks. Walk round the village in the afternoon. Evening meal was in the bar as function in the restaurant . This probably enhanced the meal experience as bar full of visitors and locals. Finished with breakfast. The hotel was first class with lovely room and enjoyable food. Very good rate ( special offer ) d b b £62.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Crown Hotel. It was a pleasure to look after you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Paul Hicks
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have visited here for a few meals now and I have to say that it continues to be of a very high standard. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The food is excellent. Two of us had the rump steak and it was done to perfection, and my husband had the fish rissoto followed by bread and butter pudding which was also very good. We sat by a lovely log fire on a very cold day which was very cosy. They also appear to allow dogs in which is good for anyone with pooches. I continue to highly recommend this hotel for bar meals. It is also a lovely village with some nice walks by the river and there is also a station, so if you fancy a trip from Carlisle for a meal it is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewelscrown, Manager at Crown Wetheral Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your Meal in Waltons Bar, the log fire is a attractive feature.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel Soon,

Kind regards

Paul Hicks
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Wetheral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Wetheral Hotel

Address: Station Road, Wetheral, Carlisle CA4 8ES , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Wetheral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wetheral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Wetheral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Wetheral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Wetheral Carlisle
Hotel Crown Wetheral
Crown Wetheral Hotel Carlisle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Wetheral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.