We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabash Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Calabash Hotel to your Saves list
Calabash Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 382, Lance aux Epines, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here May 2012, and I thought Id reviewed at time but mustve not gone on. Everything about this place was amazing, the food and drink was superb (go all inclusive if possible as I imagine it would be expensive otherwise - they arent like a lot of all inclusives in that they allow you to drink anything, premium labels, cocktails, even champagne!).

Our room was one of the standard suites but it was perfect - clean and very spacious, lovely big bath, easy walk to pool or beach. We often had the pool to ourselves which was lovely. Theres even things like tennis courts, snooker table (good for when you have a tropical shower), kayaks for hire. Did I mention the food - its amazing! Lunches and dinners were always cooked to perfection and plenty of choice. Breakfast on the balcony was a nice touch too - no queuing! Would love to come back - saving up again...
If you have not been Grenada its well worth a visit - friendly people, beautiful green island, if you go up into the mountains you can swim under a waterfall and see the monkeys playing in the trees.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    41
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
50
350
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Calabash for six days arriving on Christmas Eve. We had a wonderful warm welcome from Leo and his family and when shown our suite No 14 'Morning Glory' were so glad that we had chosen this beautiful hotel. The suite was amazing, luxurious linen, decor, bathroom and our own private plunge pool with loungers. Breakfast was a real treat, being served by a maid on our balcony, fresh ingredients and fabulous service. The food at 'Rhodes' restaurant was 'First Class'... Christmas Day, Gala Dinner was a real treat with attention to detail. We were on an all inclusive package and were surprised at the choice of food and beverages available, Champagne to Lobster nothing spared. Lunch at Mark B's Bash restaurant was a delight, watching Mark clean the freshly caught lobster on the jetty was evidence of how fresh it was.... The little touches such as the canapes delivered to the room at sundown, fresh flowers in the room, beds turned down, luxury bath products and soft, soft towels..... This was our seventh trip to Grenada, but the first to the Calabash, we really felt rejuvenated when we left and wished we could have stayed longer.... but we will definitely be back. The staff and friendly atmosphere are a credit to Leo and his family, the surroundings, decor and wonderful food make this a fantastic haven for a beautiful relaxing holiday. Special thanks to Michael and Sherilyn as well as Margaret our superb 'Breakfast Maid'... Looking forward to next time....

Room Tip: Suite 14 'Morning Glory' irresistible......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
542 helpful votes 542 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Calabash is a long-established Caribbean resort which has discreetly updated its facilities without sacrificing its traditional, barefoot charm. It’s intimate and utterly charming and sits on a pleasant beach that hardly ever gets crowded, unlike Grand Anse which can be swamped by thousands of cruise ship passengers.

Our upstairs room was basically a cube divided into four: a balcony with two loungers and a table with two chairs for breakfasts; a sitting room with sofa and large wall-mounted TV; a bedroom and a wonderful, ultra-modern bathroom-wetroom. It was beautifully designed in muted colours and was altogether a nice place to stay. All that was missing from the room was any kind of desk on which to use a laptop.

We didn’t get to try the vaunted Gary Rhodes restaurant - the menu wasn’t too appealing, frankly - a bit metro-ish for a tropical beach place we thought. Lunch at the beachside place was a good option and reasonably priced.

The old-fashioned and secluded pool area is pretty but the water is perhaps too deep for idle splashing around. The beach isn’t the greatest the Caribbean has to offer - murky and weedy on our visit - and there are one or two ugly buildings to mar the view as you sit on your sun lounger under the trees. Even so, this remains one of the nicest resorts in the area which obviously attracts a loyal clientele.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A week at the Calabash is a real treat, my self and my daughters stayed for a week before they went away to university. I knew I was going to miss them terribly and wanted to spend a little time with them before the day they left me with an empty nest. Well we were not disappointed the view and gardens are lovely the rooms wonderful and breakfast on your own balcony a delight. As ladies traveling without our man we felt safe and very well looked after. The restaurant in the evening is so pretty and the service impeccable as was the food every course a delight. All in all a week of sheer joy leaving us with lovely memories and the hope of a return trip. A perfect place for ladies to visit.

Room Tip: ground floor if you have difficulty walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocklington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We can't speak highly enough of The Calabash Hotel. All the staff are superb - it would be unfair to pick anyone out. From the moment we stepped out of our taxi we experienced excellent service - as if we were the only guests.

It was nice to see the owners, the Garbutt family, and Clive, the General Manager so involved on a day to day basis and always available for their guests.

It is an ideal location - so close to the airport yet with little disruption from planes

The highlights were:
Breakfast each day on our balcony with a beautiful view
Tapas lunch
Dinner - spoilt for choice with the menu
Secluded beach with enough loungers!

Stuart and Tina

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

On arrival one is warmly greeted all very friendly, and a marvellous location bang on the beach in a bay. Good water sports and idyllic sailing facilities.
We stayed in a ground floor apartment with an outside pool. Accommodation is a little dated but fine in terms of space. However the outside pool although a lovely feature was always cold as got no sun. It did also have a lovely outside proper shower with warm water, a great treat.
There USP at the calabash is that one gets served breakfast on your balcony which is unique and delicious. In fact the food overall is top notch both at the beach bar and
the Rhodes restaurant . Having said that I would strongly recommend one to go either b & b or half board as it does become rather repetitive eating at the same place every night,delicious though it was. Three other points to take into consideration , the sea at time is full of seaweed! although it flows in and out it is pretty much there and not very pleasant if you like swimming in the sea as I do. Also the main swimming pool is OK but quite dated as is the Gym. There are loads of mosquitoes6 and one has to be extremely vigilant spraying the room every night- this is essential.Overall a truly unspoilt safe Island with lovely people and if you want to do nothing this is the place for you. We stayed there for 6 days which suited us very well.
The Calabash is pretty laid back and very quiet. People do go back time and time again so that says a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stunning location , perfect place to relax & unwind . Excellent food ( so much lobster ... ) - both in Rhodes restaurant (evening ) & beach bar & restaurant ( lunch ) . Without exception ALL staff welcoming and obliging and clearly very happy in their jobs . The breakfast prepared and served by the maid on your balcony was a lovely touch .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Calabash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Hotel

Address: Box 382, Lance aux Epines, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > Lance aux Epines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lance aux Epines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Calabash Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Caribbean island of Grenada, known worldwide for its exceptional natural beauty, long white sand beaches and turquoise sea, is the luxury boutique hotel, Calabash. The Calabash Hotel combines five star service and luxury within a relaxed & intimate environment to create the ultimate Caribbean escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Calabash Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calabash Hotel
Calabash Hotel St Georges
Calabash Hotel Grenada/Saint George Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabash Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.