We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Lane | Beach Lane, Lance aux Epines, Grenada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
COMP DINNERS & UPGRADE
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exceptional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

First impression was of peace and tranquillity and this is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Located on an idyllic beach in a quiet bay, perfect for swimming, kyaking or sailing: the Hobie Cat and kyaks are free to use. Lunch is served in the Beach Bar and dinner is in the exceptional Gary Rhodes restaurant. The food is consistently high quality, tasty and healthy with a good selection of drinks. Most noticeable is the excellent service; professional but outstandingly friendly.This hotel does appeal to older couples but that should not deter the younger traveller as there is a wonderful friendly atmosphere and by the end of the week we were on first name terms with most of the other guests and staff. Transfer from the airport is no more than 20 minutes and is arranged by the hotel in one of their resident taxis.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a balcony which is more private than the ground floor terraces. Our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Flegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned home from the Calabash - excellent food, the best we have found. The surroundings are lovely and calming. The pool area is a little dated and isolated, but the pool itself is great.
Rooms big and bright with separate air-con in the bedroom to the sitting room.
Breakfast served on our balcony every morning - a real taste of luxury! Pleasant beach but watch out for the sand flies, they found us quite tasty.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Very close to the end of the runway so planes flying over quite low (depending on the wing direction) - fortunately not too many of them.

Room Tip: Easy, open and plesant access to the upstairs rooms, no dark corridors etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Calabash
It was our first trip to the West Indies and we sincerely hope that it was the first of many more to come
Friends had recommended the Calabash, having stayed there on eight occasions.
We took their advice and they were so right!
Felt completely at home from the start
Superb accommodation, exquisite food and above all lovely staff who were without exception marvellously welcoming, helpful and friendly
A number of our fellow guests had returned many times, and it was easy to understand why
Grenada is a paradise of flowers and colours, and the Calabash reflects all the qualities of this idyllic island

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinWoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I decided that for my 60th birthday, we would have three weeks at the Calabash Hotel. This was our third stay at this excellent location (although we did visit once for a morning while on a cruise). We had a pool suite (as we always do), and were pleased to see that most of the staff were still there. It really feels like a family reunion going back to the Calabash! Of course, it is a family run hotel, and the Garbutt family should be proud of their achievement here. The room was up to our expectation, the breakfasts on the veranda superb, and the beach lovely. They still have that nice touch of providing a fruit cocktail to everyone on the beach around 11 a.m. I have reviewed Rhodes Restaurant and the Bash Restaurant elsewhere (favourably, I should add). All of the staff are absolutely brilliant - friendly and accommodating - and this makes a stay at the Calabash memorable. Trips from the hotel are no problem, with the three resident taxi drivers, (Welcome, Cecil and Matthew) usually available to ferry us around, and it's worthwhile booking one of them for a day trip around the island,tailored to your interests, rather than booking a trip with a travel company. The weather was not at it's best during this stay, but it didn't really interrupt the enjoyment. I should also mention the tea and cakes served around 4 p.m. and the canapes brought to the room at 6 p.m. I cannot praise this hotel enough - we will be back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but (if you can afford the extra) go for a pool suite ... the small private pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSD_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently stayed for a week all inclusive, our first visit to the island. The hotel is delightful and the staff exceptionally friendly, courteous and attentive, without being in any way intrusive. The food was very good and the choice of drinks excellent. The beach is very picturesque and good for swimming (although not for snorkelling). Overall one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would definitely be happy to return.

Room Tip: all rooms are well positioned and have good views across the gardens to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There are many reviews on here that already cover what a truly great place this is to stay. It really doesn't feel like a hotel with all the suites arranged around the gardens in a horseshoe shape. The staff and management really make staying here very special, they are such genuine and warm people. We ate at the Rhodes many times and always enjoyed the food and service, including the excellent sense of humour the staff have if you engage with them. On four nights each week there's entertainment, for example a steel band, pianist and reggae singer. For us these were the best nights, it created a great ambiance. We also ate ate locally at Prickly Bay marina, great if you just want a beer and pizza. The hotel arranged complimentary transport to the Beach House on two occasions, and this really is worth a visit. We hired a 4*4 but in hindsight I preferred the trips we did via Caribbean Horizons, all were excellent and having a local guide made so much difference. The trip to Carriacou via the 9 seat aircraft was a great day out, with a ferry ride back with the setting sun.
We loved the breakfast served in the balcony, the afternoon tea, the canapés each evening and the excellent weekly cocktail parties. Scuba centre was excellent, thanks to Polly for taking me out on my first ever dive. Another highlight was taking the Hobie Cat out most days, often with Wally, a truly entertaining local who for a few dollars will show you how to sail in the open sea, as well as tell some great tales...
We would go back tomorrow if we had the chance!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClearingfromtheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Calabash for 10 days over Christmas and new year. The villas were nice with all the amenities inside. However the Mosquitos were bad. We were bitten everyday on the terrace and at night in bed. Although they do supply some spray and things to combat this none were that effective.
The food at both the restaurants were amazing. The banana crumble from Chef Mark on the beach was to die for and the evening meals at the Rhodes restaurant were exquisite. However the meal on Xmas day took forever to appear!
All the staff were friendly and I like the idea of 'dressing up' for dinner - no shorts.
Do not get sucked in to booking your dives before you get there. I was sick one day and couldn't go out on a dive but because I had already prebooked before I arrived they charged me for it even when I gave the 24 hrs notice.
For those people who don't really want to do anything on holiday this is an ideal resort.
I would recommend the Calabash as a pretty good place to stay if for nothing else but the restaurants, however if you are looking for something lively, stay away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lance aux Epines
0.6 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
2.0 mi away
Maca Bana
Maca Bana
#1 of 8 in St. George's
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
#10 of 13 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Grand Anse
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sandals LaSource Grenada Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Beach Lane | Beach Lane, Lance aux Epines, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > Lance aux Epines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lance aux Epines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calabash Hotel combines five star service and luxury within a relaxed & intimate environment to create the ultimate Caribbean escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, West Indies, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calabash Hotel
Calabash Hotel St Georges
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing