We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Judy Woods

Judy Woods
Wyke, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Wyke
Attraction details
Bradford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Ever since I discovered Judy Woods something like 25 years ago it has been a real
favourite of mine. The woods are a real escape from it all. My kids have enjoyed it and now my grandchildren are having such fun exploring and playing in such a magical place. It doesn't matter what season you go in, it is always enjoyable. I love the running water and always head down towards the stream. I love the history of the place from Judy, the lady who used to live in the woods to the Bell pits. There is always plenty of wildlife to look at and listen to. I have seen a photo showing deer but I've never been lucky enough to spot them. The friends of Judy Woods do a great job in making safe footpaths and even organise walks & talks. I fully intend to go on one of the Bat walks one evening. There are not many places where you can escape the noise of traffic but the woods is one of those. Experience it and enjoy it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well managed woodland walk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Easily accessible with free parking at the entrance to the woods. Judy Woods has an interesting history and one can see the pits left from the coal mining which fuelled our industrial past.
There are lovely streams for dogs and kids to splash about in and the woods are large enough to enjoy a good couple of hours exploring.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great walk with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

local and just down the road. A great place to have a walk with the family after a sunday lunch.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A Dogs dream outing.....Aaaaaah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Woods, water, mud and lots of doggy friends and acquaintances. Woof heaven!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fun day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

on the door step, great place to visit for a good long walk

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Judy Woods also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Judy Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Judy Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.