We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Made in Asia

Made in Asia
39 Market Street, Zion Crossroads, VA 22942
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wife and I had lunch here a few months back. I have to admit my meal was not very good but the wife liked hers. I got the Chicken & Broccoli. The chicken was very slimy. it was as though they used either old chicken or did not clean it properly.

I don't recall what the wife got but she liked her side so we give it an average rating.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Asian Cuisine.....Good Food...But A Couple of Quirks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have visited this location 3 times recently. The food is quite good. The quality is better than many other locations of a similar type. We have noticed that the service is very slow, however. This might be attributed to the fact that meals seem to be prepared from scratch rather than being assembled at the time of ordering. Our most recent visit took an hour and and forty-five minutes for two simple lunch entrees from the lunch menu. The prices were OK but I was surprised that when I asked for another portion of steamed rice, I was told that the menu price did not include additional rice. This did seem unusual as most restaurants of this type offer additional rice as requested at no additional charge. I also found it unusual that only a single fork was offered as a utensil. This makes consuming some entrees a bit difficult.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delicious Mix of Thai and Chinese Selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have eaten here twice in the last two months while traveling between Charlottesville/Points West and Hampton Roads. They are nestled in a new shopping center right at the exit from I-64 to Rt. 15 north toward Gordonsville/Orange. The food is excellent-- fresh and quality ingredients. Prices are very reasonable. Atmosphere is modern/artsy. On our most recent visit we had lunch specials-- I had the Orange Chicken (all white meat) which came with rice and soup. My husband had Shrimp Lo Mein. Everything was very fresh. Service was prompt. They were not busy, but I certainly hope they catch on and prosper so we can count on stopping there for a meal whenever we are lucky enough to pass through.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good food. Nice place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stopped in for dinner on a Thursday night. The place was surprisingly empty. The service was slow and inexperienced. The food was good, but overpriced. It was just average Chinese place fare (no buffet, thankfully) at an above average price. 2 beers and an entree and tip were about $25.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Made in Asia also viewed

 

Been to Made in Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Made in Asia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.