We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“islanders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Case Restaurant with Rooms

Case Restaurant with Rooms
Assington, Sudbury CO10 5LD, England
+44 (0)1787 210483
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Case Restaurant with Rooms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Sudbury
Price range: $57 - $57
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
canvey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“islanders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

so Terry o likened the "Case" to "fawlty Towers" well he certainly watched a different program to the series my wife and i watched'
we stayed at this restaurant with rooms on the 5th of february with a travel zoo voucher which included a over night stay. Linda the host is a typical east ender if you want pompous stay at at the dorchester if you appreciate friendly thats what you get here.
The rooms are clean welcoming and a excellant bathroom nice touches include fresh milk and a honesty box of crisps and chocolate etc The meal in the evening was excellent as was the service, special mention to daisy our waitress.all in all a very enjoyable stay

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    25
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blandford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Fawlty Towers is alive and well and still existence - in Suffolk. The service here was somewhat amusing; pleasant enough but a bit bizarre. Food is average though the steak was good. The location is handy as it is on the main road between Sudbury and Colchester, so handy if you want to stop off for lunch but I wouldn't necessarily make the effort for a special occasion. It doesn't seem to have a specific atmosphere as the decor is at odds with the background music, and the staff at odds with both. Worth a visit for entertainment value but we won't be going again, especially as there are so many other restaurants of far better quality in the locale.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked in for dinner and an overnight stay. Linda was a welcoming host and showed us to a warm, comfortable, very clean room with a spotless bathroom. Everything is thought of down to the cafetiere and snacks. We enjoyed a very good bottle of wine with our meal which was excellent - delicious and well presented. Breakfast was a generous size complete with duck egg! Linda and Barry are running a delightful place and special mention to Daisy.

The Taylors

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Travelzoo deal - Great offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got a deal from Travelzoo for dinner, B&B for 2 for £65, was excellent value. The staff could not have been better, very friendly and hospitable, made us feel very welcome. The room was small but clean, warm, well equipped, lovely welcome basket with fantastic coffee. The meal was good, breakfast was great. The highlight was definitely the welcoming atmosphere. The restaurant decor was very nice, not cramped, relaxed, lovely place to spend an evening. We will definitely be looking out for more offers like this.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Wonderful Ambiance, Fantastic Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

What me can I say? What a novelty to fall upon such a lovely restaurant which is family run and caters for all food types with a superb menu.

From the minute we set foot into the restaurant we were made to feel welcome and were served drinks while we chose from the menu. Once our food was ready we were led to our table and the food was served immediatley. The food was piping hot an plentiful, I had poached hake which was delightful and my Husband had the guinea fowl which again, was perfect. Although we didn't partake in a dessert, they looked mouthwateringly delicious and again quite an array to choose from. The coffee was served from a 'proper' coffee machine and we were not hurried our made to feel we had out stayed our welcome.

Many thanks for the meal and we will definately be back again and hope to stay in one of your excellent rooms.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Case Restaurant with Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Case Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Case Restaurant with Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.