We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't stay, but ate here twice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Boy

The Black Boy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Black Boy to your Saves list
The Black Boy
7 Market Hill, Sudbury CO10 2EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We didn't stay, but ate here twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We would certainly look at this for accomodation next time we are down that way. We stayed elsewhere for work, as we didn't know about this place. We had an evening meal here twice, and was very pleased with the food and ale seleciton. The food was prepared well, good satisfying grub.
The decor is fresh and upto date, and the staff were a delight. For the Acomodation price you can't go wrong, this one is for trying out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
9
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight.for our aniversary. The room was a superior, it was big and so.clean. we recieved a really warm welcome everyone was so helpful. We had dinner which was such good value for money, really well presented and above all tasty.
I would recommend this hotel.
I have a couple of.things which did dissapoint one was the plastic cover on the bed which on a hot.night was a tad uncknfortable and the other is it would have been nice to have big bath sheets and a little more in the way of toiletries especially as it was classed as a superior room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night,as we were going to a nearby wedding reception. On arrival we were greeted in a very friendly way, our room was clean the shower was powerful, breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent, big thumbs up :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Happened to be visiting Sudbury and 3 of us wanted to stop somewhere for a cup of tea. Noticed a sign outside this Hotel stating: 'Tea & Cake, £3.50', so in we went.
Very friendly, seated & served almost immediately. Pleasant enough place, which was reasonably busy. Two pots of tea and a plate of cakes later, we paid a friendly hostess and left feeling most refreshed. No hassle here, clean enough in the bar area & loos.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham W.SX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just got back from a very enjoyable stay at the Black Boy.
It has been totally refurbished,room 3 was immaculate and spacious
Staff were extremely friendly and Sharon and young Kate in particular.
Food was well cooked, and presented, pub fare.
Locals quite chatty and friendly,say hallo and smile they don't bite!
All in all a great 3 days

Room Tip: room 3 is huge , it overlooks the main street , not that noisy though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night as going to a party. Very clean room, really nice owner and a really great breakfast all for a good price. My only gripe would be that the curtains need to be blackout style as you can get no real darkness in the room which we had as it is right by the road. A minor complaint though for an otherwise very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff, couldn't do enough for us; good advice about cabs etc in the area as we were there for a wedding. Cracking full English breakfast, situated very centrally, right by the twice-weekly market. Recommended.

Room Tip: Shouldn't be much noise wherever you are - Sudbury is a quiet, attractive place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Black Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Boy

Address: 7 Market Hill, Sudbury CO10 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Black Boy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Boy Hotel Sudbury
The Black Boy Sudbury, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Boy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.