We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson's Bistro

Thompson's Bistro
51-52 Gainsborough Street, Sudbury CO10 2ET, England
+44 1787 375752
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Sudbury
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Café, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Clare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is in our local town and we`d not been there until I read the reviews by accident, when looking for something else. All I can say is that we will certainly be visiting again.

It is a lovely room, the service - by one young lady, was just brilliant, and the food was so tasty.
I had Whitebait to start, lovely big ones, then fillet of fresh mackerel, horseradish mash and lovely mix of perfectly cooked veg. The sauce was delicious, I think it was white wine, cream ,tarragon and black pepper, but whatever it was, it complimented the food brilliantly. The two course cost £10.50. Terrific value for such beautifully cooked and presented food.

The menu is small, but that is usually the case when food is prepared fresh. Can`t imagine you would not find anything you liked. There wasn`t anything on the menu that I wouldn`t have eaten.

Well done, local Suffolk food wins again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    11
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sudbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Love it just love it. Great food and a great atmosphire. Service has a real personal touch. Agreat place to go as a couple or with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place is a little gem .. reminiscent of an 80's wine bar/bistro with a lively bar trade ... but the food is fantastic from a small menu .. the service friendly and efficient ... We dined here on a Friday night and there was a bit of noise from the bar area that made it difficult to hear sometimes and that is the only reason for the 4 out of 5 from me ... This was our first visit but certainly not our last...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent starter but tailed off after that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was a busy Saturday night and the chattering classes of Sudbury were out in force. It was popular and felt crowded as the tables were quite close together and people were drinking at the bar area. We had high hopes as it was the top recommended place to eat on TripAdvisor, but we'd eaten in the Secret Garden the previous evening and found the food there far superior. Nothing was inedible, but it was just slightly above average rather than excellent. The couple sitting next to us were complaining about their food, although it was so noisy I couldn't hear exactly what they thought was wrong. There was plenty of choice on the menu though and the house wine was perfectly palatable. We both really liked our starters, which were a cut above, but sadly the rest of the meal didn't live up to its promise. We may have caught it on a bad night, of course.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast Arrives in Sudbury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

David Thompson's Deli Cafe, adjoining Thompson's Bistro, has always been an excellent place for a coffee and a cake, and its produce has always shared the exceptional standards of its neighbour Bistro. But now there is breakfast! David's smoked salmon and scrambled egg on an English muffin is at least as good as its counterparts in Bury St Edmunds restaurants, for a little over half the price. Sudbury now becomes our destination of choice for breakfast out! And while we're there, there's always excellent French cheese, fresh bread and a selection of interesting wines to tempt us to spend a little more ...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompson's Bistro also viewed

 
Sudbury, Suffolk
 

Been to Thompson's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.