We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, an awesome visit home from the US” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson's Bistro

Thompson's Bistro
51-52 Gainsborough Street, Sudbury CO10 2ET, England
+44 1787 375752
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Sudbury
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Café, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Friday Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Once again, an awesome visit home from the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great food, wine, and ambiance! An awesome place located right in town. And the owners are just wonderful folks. Thank you for making my visit home so special... A must for any traveller!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    11
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visited on a Saturday evening never been before but I had read the good reviews and decided to give it a go. It's a small but varied menu and the small number of dishes almost guarantees that it will be good and it was. Between the 4 of us we sampled a large proportion of the menu and we al enjoyed our choices. One thing to be aware of though there is o vegetarian option, not a problem for us but it could be for others.

Service was nice and relaxed informal but attentive and good. It's not a large place but its not crowded, there was rather a lot of noise which was down to a table of women who were obviously having a rather good time. If there is one thing that could be improved its to change the music when a cd has played through and not to leave it to repeat all evening.

So all in all very good and yes I would recommend you go and yes I wold go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Valentine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had dinner on Valentine's night and had a wonderful evening. Low key - but a red rose and champers for the females.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing salmon mind blowing sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had the Salmon the chef here is wasted he should be in a top restaurant. I have never had such a perfectly cooked Salmon fillet and his sauce is the best I have ever tasted and i have been all over the world and in and out of many kitchens. My wife had the lemon posset and she almost had an orgasm over it. If he can put my wife in that good a mood I'm certainly going back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Rapidly becoming our local favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife & I have visited Thompson's 3 times in the past few months, and are very pleased we discovered it. The food is consistently good, well presented and tasty. This family run place is friendly and welcoming, and they make you feel able to relax and enjoy the good food & wine.
The menu is limited and always features a couple of regular favourites, like the excellent steak, and something more creative, like the venison & chocolate casserole recently - which was delicious! There is something to suit everyone. The formula works well, there are only a limited number of tables, so they have a limited menu and ensure everything is really good quality with fresh ingredients, rather than over reach themselves. The prices are very reasonable for this quality, with a good choice of wine too.
Our last visit was Valentine's night, and even though Thompson's was busier than usual, standards were maintained and a very pleasant time with good food was enjoyed yet again - and thanks for the rose and champagne - a nice touch that was appreciated very much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompson's Bistro also viewed

 
Sudbury, Suffolk
 

Been to Thompson's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.