We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden
21 Friars Street, Sudbury, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 81 Restaurants in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This establishment operates as a tea room Monday to Saturday during the daytime, and offers an evening restaurant service on Friday and Saturday evenings.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went to the secret garden for a meal for our wedding anniversary lived near Sudbury for 15 years and never knew this place existed but found it to be a hidden gem they had a change of Chef
just the day before and worried the standards may have dropped but if they had it must have been very special before as we had a really lovely meal and well priced the service was great and the lady who owns the restaurant was very keen that all the diners were enjoying themselves we will definately go back soon anyone thinking of going should think about booking in advanced
as it is small with only a few tables which makes it feel quite exclusive

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This place never disappoints! The food is glorious and service good. I took a friend here for lunch, she was suitably impressed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh
1 review
“Cheeky manageress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Recently we were invited to The Secret Garden by friends and though we found the food was enjoyable our evening was ruined by a manageress/waitress called Kirsti who was very cheekily patronising to my wife. We don't often get this kind of rudeness from restaurant staff but when it happens it can ruin an evening out so we would wish not to return in spite of the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Small well-thought-out menu, absolutely delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A tea shop that opens for evening meals. It's like the best French meals - a small, carefully considered menu cooked to perfection. My husband had millet with his main course rather than just potatoes or rice, and although I teased him about budgerigar food he said it was absolutely delcious - high praise from him. Everything here tasted fantastic, the portion sizes were just right and it was a very reasonable set price for two or three courses. The staff were welcoming and happy to chat if you wanted them to, otherwise courteous and efficient. The service was neither too fast nor too slow. The tables were far enough apart to give you intimacy if you wanted it but near enough to chat with other diners if you wished to do so. This is no swanky restaurant - go to the Mill if that's your scene - but the Secret Garden certainly served up the best food we ate in Sudbury. I thoroughly recommended it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great spot for a coffee, or to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I love the ambience of this place. The owner is friendly, and even if the service can sometimes be slow, the food is always worth the wait. Nice, seasonal specials at lunchtime with a French twist, and fantastic bread and patisseries. Lucky Sudbury!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Secret Garden also viewed

 

Been to The Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.