We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hearty food. Friendly welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saracens Head

Saracens Head
Sudbury Rd | Newton Green, Sudbury, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 81 Restaurants in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good hearty food. Friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I took my 90 year old dad for dinner here last Saturday. The welcome was warm, professional and friendly and the beer was good. We both selected from the specials board, and the choice was good. The food is traditional, hearty fare rather than adventurous or ridiculous as in other nearby gastropubs. The service was prompt and efficient. All in all we enjoyed a good meal in pleasant surroundings.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    12
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“sunday roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

after driving around for a sunday drive, we came past this place as it was getting on and fancied some food, from the outside it doesn't look like the nicest pub but that all changes when u walk through the door, the staff are very pleasant, we had roast lamb and roast beef, all very nice and a good portion, I didn't really see the point of putting in a side dish on the the plate just put it all on one plate and save on all the extra washing up, desserts where also tasty but not homemade as they use ready made apple filling more like a chunky apple jam, but it was ok, and overall a quant place to visit, not the cheapest but also not the dearest

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Below Average"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A lovely setting for lunch with extremely helpful staff let down by a very unfriendly landlady!!!
We called in for Sunday lunch which was very good except for the beef which was a very cheap cut and had no flavour.
This was our first visit and i'm afraid we will not be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"One of the best"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked Sunday lunch at this pub after driving through the village last week, and thinking how nice it looked so if the food looked and tasted as good as as the pub did, we were on to a winner, and we hit the jackpot, as soon as we went in the staff were there to serve us, getting our drinks and showing us to our table and giving us enough time to choose what we were having without hassling us we all chose a roast, the lamb and beef, well it was served quite quickly piping hot and well presented by the lovely staff who were very attentitive and seemed to enjoy their job.
Lunch was delicious, the meat was very tasty and so tender that it melted in your mouth the vegetables were cooked just right not overcooked, and the roast potatoes were perfect the amount of gravy served was plenty and not swamping your plate like some restuarants tend to do, but our waitress did ask if we did want more she would put some in a jug.
I didn't have a dessert, i was still enjoying my drink, (a good pint of Adnams) but the rest of the party did and as with the first course they all cleared their plates, apple crumble,sponge pudding, pavlova and ice cream, I can honestly say that this is "one of the best" roast lunches I have ever had, and will certainly be going back to try the rest of the menu and would certainly recommend any body else to as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“quiet lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped at the Saracens Head for a spot of lunch to find the service first class and the food portions huge, I had the prawn salad where the prawns were brought out on a plate and there were loads of them then you are told that you can help yourself to the salad bar, for which there is lots of choice healthy options and the coleslaw is superb. The other members of the party had the fish, the chicken and the burger and said theirs was fantastic. Must say the landlady was very nice and freindly and the wiatress was very professional. I would certainly recommend this venue for a lunch or evening meal as there is lots of choice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saracens Head also viewed

 
Sudbury, Suffolk
Sudbury, Suffolk
 

Been to Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saracens Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.