We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Health hazard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Massala

The Village Massala
Station Road, Rhuddlan LL18 5UA, Wales
01745 590051
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Rhuddlan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Health hazard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited The Village Massala on Friday 4th of January 2013. It was almost empty when we arrived. I found something hideous in my rice. It can only be described as a clump of thick black wiry hair. We really don't know what it was. One of the waiters had the cheek to try & charge us for drinks & poppadums. The only saving grace was the behaviour of our own waiter who was very courteous & obviously horrified. Our 3rd visit & absolutely the last.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    3
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been to the Village Masala many times as it is my second favourite Indian restaurant in the area, and is much cheaper than my favourite one! Never had any problems with the food or service, the staff are very friendly, food comes out quickly and is nicer than your average Indian.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“time for celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

we went to celebrate a friends birthday.... i like the restaurant... would like lighting more special.. maybe some candles... lights too bright for me, food was good... but think took ages to arrive.. for the main course... good quantity.. flavours very nice... staff very friendly.. really enjoyed it.. roses to all the ladies... was a lovely touch.. will definitely go back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tikka look if you want a curry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As for as curry houses in North wales go this is par for the course.
Ok, not brilliant. Keep you eye on the bar bill!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal and great friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just got home from The Village Massala. Excellent service, excellent food and excellent value for money. To be greeted by the door and given a warm welcome on arrival makes all the difference. We will be be back soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Massala also viewed

 

Been to The Village Massala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Massala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.