We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our journey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koedoeskloof Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Koedoeskloof Country Lodge to your Saves list
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
Dwarsrivier, Ladismith 6655, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A highlight of our journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for a night on a cycle journey through the Klein Karoo, and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Debi and Eugene were both incredibly friendly and attentive hosts, and gave us thoughtful and useful advice for the next leg of our journey. Our room was clean and tidy, and decorated with simple but tasteful furniture that complimented the beautiful view of the flowering aloes, vineyards and a snow-capped Towerkop. Their burgers (we tried the Kudu and Ostrich versions) are some of the tastiest I've had anywhere, and the breakfast was similarly delicious. It was not easy to leave the warmth of Koedoeskloof for the chilly cycle to Vanwyksdorp!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently had a lovely three-night stay at Koedoeskloof Country Lodge, a new B&B 8 Kms outside Ladismith on the Laingsburg Road. Breakfast on the beautiful verandah of the Bar/Restuarant overlooking the Aloe garden and the fruit orchards below presented an opportunity of experiencing the abundant Birdlife of the area as they came to feed and enjoy the sunshine. The weather was lovely and the meals were lovingly prepared and served by charming hosts Debbie and Eugene. The rooms were very cosy and comfortable and the price was just right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a great stay, rooms were a good size, clean and tidy. The burgers were delicious, don't miss them! The fire pit area is great, just keep a track of the wood you use as you're charged and it is split evenly between the group even if you weren't there!

One thing that would have been better was if the room had been serviced, we were left with dirty coffee mugs and a dirty coffee maker. There were no facilities in the room to clean them ourselves.

Other than that I can't fault it at all and can definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, you can't really go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debi d, Owner at Koedoeskloof Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Jane
Even though I respect your honesty I am disappointed as these two issues could have been avoided during your stay.
ITO of servicing the room
Privacy: we respect our guests privacy and would not go into their rooms unless they specifically ask us to do so.
It is part of our policy to check with our guests should they need anything and I said this many times during your stay. 'Let me know if you need anything else, we're just a door away'. Some of the other group members did in fact request additional services, which we happily obliged to and we would have happily obliged if you requested this service from us.
ITO charges for wood
The fact that the bill for wood was split was discussed with your group leader (and the others in the group who was present at the time) and if you felt that you were unfairly charged the R15 for wood over the two nights, you should have taken this up with your team leader so he could suggest a different split instead of the even split.
I hope this clarifies.
Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The setting, in a mountainous area , was absolutely beautiful ! The hosts , Debra and Eugene gave us a warm welcome which made us feel very welcome and relaxed. Our Rooms were comfortable , good quality and done in good taste ! The separate bar area says "HALLO !!" and you can sit all day at the outside tables enjoying the beautiful view. And to sit there at sunset with a vino in hand, is magic. The hamburgers are gorgeous and the new " arty " Boma " perfect for barbecues, We had the spectaculer vision of a full moon rising above the Koppie or mountain, right in front of us. It was magic and a moment in time I will never forget !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Koedoeskloof was the perfect camping spot for me. Just a few kms from Ladismith. All the facilities work and are spotlessly clean. The owners, Eugene and Debra, are the perfect hosts.
Would love to go again with a group of friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A wonderful stop over whilst adventure riding around the gravel passes that surround the area. Friendly hosts made us feel quite at home. Excellent burgers for supper & a breakfast to fill the tank for the day. You could sit at the outside tables & bird watch all day whilst taking in the atmosphere created by all the surrounding imposing mountains. I will definitely be back! Remember to bring a bottle as they are not licensed yet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I spent one night only (sigh!) in this beautiful place.. the hosts are very nice people, and the place and rooms are very clean, furnished in an unusual way. Very good dinner and breakfast.
What to say more? Stopping here is a must!! Thank you Debi and Eugene.
Manuela&Daniele

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koedoeskloof Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koedoeskloof Country Lodge

Address: Dwarsrivier, Ladismith 6655, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Ladismith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Ladismith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a piece of paradise where you can relax and enjoy a mix of the old and new as well as a pinch of the eclectic. Choose between 4 beautifully decorated rooms, twin or king size beds and en suite bathrooms. Or if you’d rather pitch your tent, we have warm water showers, a basic prep kitchen and a braai area with stunning views, complete with an Indian fire bowl and funky chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koedoeskloof Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koedoeskloof Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.