We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Lodge
Save
You added Summer Lodge to your Saves list
Dalwood Lane, Dalwood EX13 7HW, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Dalwood B&B and Inns
Swindon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Country B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our second visit to the Summer Lodge and we'll definitely visit again. The rural setting is perfect, and the Lodge with it's spaceous grounds and comfortable rooms more than lives up to it. Such amazing views all around as well! Once of those places where its so peaceful and properly dark at night just as it should be!
Tim and Ady give such a warm and friendly welcome and were so helpful, especially now we have a little one. Tim also cooks up a great breakfast too.
Despite it's rural location, well out of the way of the usual hustle and bustle, it's not too remote either - the Tucker's Arms is nearby for good food, and places of interest such as Lyme Regis, Axminister and other coastal villages are just a few miles away.
Would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing country break.

Room Tip: The Annex is the most spaceous room if you have a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked our room at Summer Lodge a week before we went - Tim & Ady responded to emails v promptly and were so helpful in answering all our random questions before our visit. They put us in the 'music room' which was perfect for us and our 2 year old daughter. We had such a relaxing 6 day stay with them - Tim & Ady couldnt be more accomodating to us and our daughter - nothing was too much trouble - they are both so relaxed and friendly that you immediately feel at home. The setting is perfect if you 'want to get away from it all'....the lodge is surrounded by beautiful devon countryside dotted with cows and sheep. And the location is great for daytrips to various beaches, market towns etc - we could have stayed there much longer. Highly recommended....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I proposed to my girlfriend last weekend and the terrible weather got in the way of our plans. We were due to go to the River Cottage barbecue on Saturday, but the event was cancelled due to flooding. We were really disappointed and contemplated going home, as road closures prevented us going visiting the surrounding area. That Saturday evening, I gota phone call from Tim Henderson, who runs the lodge. He had spoken to the local village pub and they opened the restaurant for my fiancee and I - and were greeted with champagne. We were both really touched by this and it made our weekend. Thank you. You have to stay there. The setting is beautiful, the accommodation luxurious and the hosts lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Was on way back from Cornwall to London and we decided to break the journey by stopping here for a night and it turned out to be the highlight of our week away. The room was absolutely first class, the service exceptional and the view when you open the curtains in the morning was just so pretty it brings tears to your eyes. My partner and i arrived around 6pm and the owner Tim very kindly made us arrangements to eat at the local village pub. We had to walk through a couple of fields to get there (about 5 minute walk) and that just added to the charm. Living in the city makes me crave fields and sheep and peace and we had it all in abundance here. On to the meal in the pub- well we have eaten in many michelin starred restaurants around the UK and we both agreed that this pub meal was right up there. The most enjoyable meal i have had for years. The pub itself is 12th century and if you ever have the honour of eating there you simply must have the pork tenderloin. Pork heaven!!
Overall - cant rate the experience of Summer Lodge highly enough. Keep doing what you are doing Tim - its a real winner. We will be back for sure. Paul and Gina

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here and wish we'd stayed for 2 nights. We stayed in the music room which was really spacious and comfortable. We loved the privacy it gave us and nice touches like fresh milk and wine glasses set out for you to use. The garden and outlook is lovely.
Tim and Ady are very friendly and hospitable whilst giving you space to relax. This was graet for us to have some time out as a couple but it would also really suit us again if we returned with our twins.

The breakfast was really tasty and nicely cooked. We would definitely like to come back and try out the village pub.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I dont often write reviews however I made an exception due to the great experience myself and my wife had at The Summer Lodge in Dalwood. Also Summer Lodge was not featured on Trip Advisor, so I wanted to make people aware of it. The Summer Lodge is based a stone's throw from Dalwood which is a very picturesque rural vilage not far from Axminter, Beer & Lyme Regis. We stayed there due to we had a booking at Hugh Fearnely Whittingstall's Canteen in Axminster. We were were welcomed by Tim & Ady Henderson who own and run The Summer Lodge. We were fortunate enough to stay in what used to be the music room, which has now been totally re-furbished to a very high standard. It was really spacious with a kings sized bed and also 2 singles, and a great washroom. The french doors open out into the garden, with views of the Dorset countryside beyond. The breakfast was also pretty special, and rounded off our stay very nicely.
The Summer Lodge is advertised as being a luxury B&B and I'd certainly say it lived upto to its billing.

Thanks again

Robert & Rachael Houghton

Room Tip: My tip is also go to The Tuckers Arms pub which is within walking distance, and is excellent for foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: Dalwood Lane, Dalwood EX13 7HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dalwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwood
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.