We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashburn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lurgan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ashburn Hotel
Save
You added The Ashburn Hotel to your Saves list
81 William Street, Lurgan BT66 6JB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lurgan
Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked the hotel as it was near to friends that we were visiting so a perfect location. We were booked in for 2 nights stay. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We were given room 5. To be honest we weren't really bothered about the room as long as it was clean as it was just somewhere to get our heads down for the night as we were out most of the time. What a lovely surprise we got. There was a seperate dressing room, a huge modern bathroom and a huge bedroom with super-king size bed and a single bed. There was a large TV, plenty of tea and coffee making facilities and fresh clean towels. The room was finished to the highest standard with beautiful high quality chrome finishings throughout the bedroom and bathroom. we only made it to breakfast on the second morning (thats what happens when you try to drink with the Irish !) but the breakfast was fab and the staff friendly and attentive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Lurgan, I often stay in hotels for business and for the price this is way better than some of the places I have had the misfortune to stay in. Great value for money, beautiful room, friendly helpful staff and very clean. We look forward to our next visit and will not be looking for anywhere else to stay than The Ashburn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank-you for your comments, and taking the time to write a review.
You had the good fortune to stay in our reciently renovated Bridal Suite which we let at the same price as our other rooms. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
11
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Given the choice, I would never travel to Lurgin (or surrounding areas) again, but I wish I could find more hotels in Ireland like the Ashburn. The neighborhood still has barbed wire on the fences and rooftops, metal bars and gates over windows and doors, and an overall eary feeling (perhaps remnant of the "old" Northern Ireland. And amidst the ghetto is an absolutely extraordinary hotel. It's been very well renovated and now looks very contemporary with modern fixtures and amenities. The food in the restaurant and breakfast were pretty good, but very handy if you don't want to walk outside. Definitely use the secure parking in the back of the building.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and have to agree that we think we are a hidden gem.

Lurgan itself like many areas has been hit by the recession, but we cant speak highly enough of the work Craigavon Council are doing to improve the appearance and image of the town. The town is currently getting new footpaths, all the shops and businesses have been repainted with new signs and are having individual designed artwork applied to their shutters which in the evenings after the shops and business close makes for a very interesting and colourful feature.

We hope that if you ever have the luck to come back to Lurgan you will notice a huge difference and we would certinaly welcome you back to stay with us at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Staying here is exactly what we wanted. The staff are extremely friendly and the hotel is clean and simply a nice place to stay. Room is comfortable and food in the bar was good. Definitely recommend it and great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Its great when the staff's hard work is recognised in such a nice way.

Thank-you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself, mum and sisters meet in Lurgan every year and stay at the Ashburn. The staff are very friendly, especially the girl who serves breakfast. The food is great and barstaff have a laugh with you. Yes there is a nightclub underneath but it has never been a problem. In fact it is a bonus when we take younger family members with us. I find it hard to understand why anyone would leave negative comments about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. We too look forward to welcoming you every year.

We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and they appreciate their hard work being recognised. We try our best to cater for all age groups from the young to the young at heart and our nightclub is a huge hit with lots of our guests.

Thank- you for taking the time to comment and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Every Easter I visit the Ashburn Hotel with members of my family who travel from England. I drive from the republic and meet them at the airport. We have done this for several years and none of us would dream of booking anywhere else. One of my daughters even books the same room each year, which she calls "her room". The building is a beautiful old house which has been tastefully decorated in keeping with it's dignified character. The modern extensions at the rear don't detract from the original.Breakfast in the dining room is a relaxing experience with appetising food served by a pleasant and attentive waitress. In the evening we ate in the bright spacious bar which is frequented by friendly locals especially at weekends when families come to eat out.The hotel is an ideal situation near Lurgan Railway Station and the M1 motorway. The town centre and local park which is well worth a visit are within walking distance. This hotel is owned and run by a local family called McConaghy who have been in the licensed trade for many years. The Beehive Bar at the top of the street is owned by them they also acquired the old Courthouse building across from the Ashburn and it is now a quirky pub where a lot of the features of the building's more sedate times remain. If you visit Lurgan and want to stay in easy reach of local amenities in friendly comfortable surroundings then I would highly recommend the Ashburn.

Room Tip: Although the hotel doesn't have a lift the flight of stairs to the first floor rooms is short an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night mid-week, while on business in the area.
The only positives I can give this hotel are the friendly staff and the car park. Aside from that, it was a truly awful hotel to stay in.

The room was the most basic I've ever stayed in. My issues with it were:
- Very dark, with very dated decor
- Absolutely roasting hot, even after turning the radiator off. I had to open the window, despite it being close to freezing outside.
- There was a constant 'humming' throughout the whole night - possibly due to an air-con unit outside, I wasn't sure.
- My room (No 1) was at the beginning of the hallway. You could hear every single person walking by the room all evening. No sound proofing at all.
- They use blankets on the bed - a definite no-no for me. And the blanket on the bed I was using came complete with a large cigarette burn in it.
- The bed and pillows were rock hard, lumpy and extremely uncomfortable.
- Two of the lamps in the room were not working.

I ate dinner and breakfast in the bar downstairs.
The breakfast area is terrible (dark and dreary) and the selection consists of a few tupperware containers with cereal and a menu that only lists a fry as the breakfast options. I asked for some toast and two (soft) poached eggs and the eggs were the worst I'd ever seen. They were obviously cooked using an egg poacher and were rubbery and totally hard.
Dinner in the bar was average. The brie starter was overcooked and the main of seabass was deep-fried, which is fine but the menu doesn't state it was cooked like that and I wouldn't have ordered it if I'd known it was.

I would NEVER return to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent 2 night mid-week stay at the Ashburn whilst on business in the area. The staff are really pleasant and helpful. Large free car park to rear and attached restaurant and pub/restaurant, with a wide variety of food. My room was a lot bigger than I expected and very clean (had double and singe bed). You can't go wrong with the prices either...very reasonable. I made the right decision booking here and would definitely stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashburn Hotel

Address: 81 William Street, Lurgan BT66 6JB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Lurgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lurgan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the McConaghy Family, the Ashburn Hotel is friendly and efficient. Conveniently situated with easy access to the motorway (M1), rail network and town centre. It is an ideal base for angling or golfing trips - 5 miles from the River Bann and 1 mile from local golf course. All our 13 bedrooms are ensuite with LED flat screen tv's, direct dial telephone, ironing facilities and hospitality tray. Entertainment each weekend in our popular nightclub and on the odd accasion we would have a 1/2 piece band in our lounge bar. All the days sporting action is shown on our large tv's in the lounge bar also.We have various food menu's which are seved thoughout times of the day using good honest local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ashburn Hotel Lurgan, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashburn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.