We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashburn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lurgan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ashburn Hotel
Save
You added The Ashburn Hotel to your Saves list
81 William Street, Lurgan BT66 6JB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lurgan
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

was sent here from the Seagoe hotel in Portadown as they had messed up my booking. Arrived at night and was a bit taken aback as it just looked like a pub. How wrong - the room was immaculate and MASSIVE! it looked as if it had never been stayed in before, the decoration was beautiful and the bathroom was top range & better than many a 4 star hotel I've stayed in. All of the people at the hotel were friendly and a lovely gent helped dig my car out of the snow (thanks again). Also the meals were fab , home cooked and plenty of it! The only thing that was not excellent wass the fact that there is a club attached to the hotel and revellers werre singing in the street til 3am on Sunday ( this is only on Fri/Sat & Sun and was great the rest of the week) - i suspect if I'd not been there for business though I would have joined them!!

Room Tip: A back room may be best if traffic noise annoys you as the fornt rooms are on the high street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
11
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Happy New Year! I was very impressed by the excellence of accommodation offered compared to the pricing - i.e. double bedroom, king size bed and wonderful surroundings. I was absolutely delighted with everything offered with very reasonable prices. I would definitely use the Ashburn Hotel again, really friendly, nothing too much trouble, restaurant very popular and delicious,generous portions. Many thanks. Sheilagh Rattray

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding here and everything about it was amazing! The staff were always on hand to help. The food was gorg, but most suprising was the hotel room it was so modern and spacious the photos on the website do this no justice at all! We would defo recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We took our 5 day old (yes 5 days) and 3yr old here as our first family outing, hadnt been in a while as to be honest we thought the food was a liitle expensive for the qualitey.

Glad to report that everything is back on track, we have been here so many times we have lost count lol. Food last night was great and the place is perfect for a family, we always liked the atmosphere and the staff are always very good.

We will be back again

Stevie

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Hi Stevie,

Firstly congratulations on the new arrival, hope alls going well.
Really glad your family outing went well and that you thought everything was spot on. As you said you've been here many at time and we hope to see you and the family again in the near future.
Cheers for your comments and i hope it helps others out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Wonderful service, Friendly staff, Great breakfast... a truly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that your review helps others to decide to stay with us also. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a family run hotel and was just so friendly one felt totally at home. The only complaint I had was that the bedroom was too hot, even though we turned off all radiators. We stayed two nights and had dinner there both nights which was just excellent and served by such friendly staff. We also drank in the bar and felt like we were locals we were made so welcome. What nice friendly people I cannot speak highly enough of all of the staff.

Room Tip: We were located to the front of the hotel and I must say the traffic was a bit noisy, so next time I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your top review of us at The Ashburn Hotel in Lurgan. We appreciate that your letting others know of your experience of us and we hope we can give you the same fantastic experience soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upernavik, Vestgronland, Greenland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Having stayed in a few other hotels in the area with working there from time to time, I have finally settled on using this hotel. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful, all smiles and politeness at the desk, whilst the rooms are comfortable and clean (same goes for the bathroom facilties).

For the price of the hotel, you really cannot ask for too much more, although the location of the car park can initally be confusing it isn't too much of a problem with room to unload out front for up to an hour.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a 4 berth disabled room with a walk in shower rather than a cubicle, also this side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshburnManager, Manager at The Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review Mr Cotzier. We value your opinion and we hope it encourages others to stay with us when they are visiting the Lurgan area. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashburn Hotel

Address: 81 William Street, Lurgan BT66 6JB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Lurgan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lurgan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the McConaghy Family, the Ashburn Hotel is friendly and efficient. Conveniently situated with easy access to the motorway (M1), rail network and town centre. It is an ideal base for angling or golfing trips - 5 miles from the River Bann and 1 mile from local golf course. All our 13 bedrooms are ensuite with LED flat screen tv's, direct dial telephone, ironing facilities and hospitality tray. Entertainment each weekend in our popular nightclub and on the odd accasion we would have a 1/2 piece band in our lounge bar. All the days sporting action is shown on our large tv's in the lounge bar also.We have various food menu's which are seved thoughout times of the day using good honest local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ashburn Hotel Lurgan, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashburn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.