We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted - excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derry Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lurgan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Derry Lodge
Save
You added Derry Lodge to your Saves list
7 Derrylodge Manor, Lurgan BT66 6RY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Lurgan B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted - excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I was visiting my family (who live in Lurgan) for Christmas with my wife and her family. My parents house wasn't big enough to hold everyone so my wifes parents and sister stayed at the Derry Lodge.

The location was perfect (just around the corner from my parents) and the rooms and house in general were lovely.

Dechlan is a great host and went out of his way to make everyones stay as easy and hassle free as possible.

My wifes parents in particular appreciated having 'free run' of the house as they tend to get up early so could have their breakfast and use the living room when they wanted.

Overall i would highly recommend the Derry Lodge B&B and would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lookout Mountain TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Dechlan and Carmen have made Derry Lodge a welcoming place. The rooms are nicely appointed, good beds and en-suite facilities. Nothing fancy but very attractive and very comfortable, with tea and biscuits provided in the room and on arrival. Breakfast is Continental which is really a nice change from the heavy "full Irish" that is so common--we really liked that, and were able to eat according to our own schedule, another plus. Lurgan is an interesting place--visit the Brownwell House, walk around the lake and see nearby Oxford Island and Loch Neagh. Good food at 47 and a nice pub at Fa' Joe's--all on Dechlan's recommendation. He even provided tea and scones when a friend of ours showed up unexpectedly at his doorstep, looking for us--above and beyond! (We even got a couple of the scones with jam to tide us over as we left for parts unkown). It's a good spot from which to explore the area, and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at Derry Lodge in August 2010, and found it to be most comfortable, clean and a lovely garden setting. The owner was more than helpful, the breakfast was excellent, the facilities where great, five minute walk to town , close to the motorway to explore( but not noisy) ideal stop over to see the sites before going on to Dublin. Good parking, tea and coffee making facility. Good value for money.
Marian and Larry McDonnell

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Once again I used this B&B before the Lap the Lough cycle ride, and again I found it to be the ideal place to stay before and after such a ride. Comfortable beds and room, and a great breakfast in the morning. I can't thank Dechlan enough - in the absence of Carmel this time he still did Derry Lodge proud. I would highly recommend. See yous next year hopefully!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed at Derry Lodge with my two daughters aged 7 & 4 in the family room whilst visiting relatives in Lurgan. Double and single bed in a very spacious room with en-suite. Large LCD TV, video and DVD player to keep the girls occupied in room and tea/coffe making facilities too.

Breakfast was held in the kitchen diner with a large selection of cereals and well stocked fridge to be found. There is no set time for breakfast as it is self service, which is a good idea with a young family.

Derry lodge is in a quiet cul de sac, easily found off the A76 leading into Lurgan and 5 minutes from J10 (M1).

It is an ideal base for visiting local attractions such as Loch Neagh or travelling further afield and is very close to Lurgan town centre.

Would highly recommend to friends or family and will be back again. A+++++++++++++

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

My sister and me stayed in this B&B while my husband was staying with a friend in Lurgan. We had a nice room, with nextdoor bathroom for ourselves. The first night is was a bit noisy because of the other guests, but besides that we had three great nights. The owner wants you to feel completely at home. You'll get the homey feeling straight away, especially in the morning when you're making your own breakfast strolling through his fridge.
We had a great weekend in Lurgan, driving around the countryside, walking the coastal causeway path with the sun burning on our shoulders and enjoying the area with our local friend.

Stayed May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I had to visit Lurgan recently for a family event and we stayed in Derry Lodge B & B. Someone had advised us of this B & B but they had not stayed there. It happened to turn out to be one of the best forms of accommodation we have ever stayed in. The owner, Declan, was a terrific host and he made us very welcome. He even drove us to the venue of the family function. The plan was only to stay the one night but we were so relaxed and enjoying ourselves we stayed a second night. On meeting other guests at breakfast we realised this treatment and hospitality was well reknown with Derry Lodge. We can't wait until the next family event to visit Lurgan again!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derry Lodge

Address: 7 Derrylodge Manor, Lurgan BT66 6RY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Lurgan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lurgan
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Derry Lodge Lurgan, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derry Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.