We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Food at a Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Unicorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Unicorn to your Saves list
The Unicorn
Market Place East, Ripon HG4 1BP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Castleford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pub Food at a Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I visited this Weatherspoons pub for a Friday lunch, and as usual I was not disappointed. The food quality was good as was the price and service .Even though it was a Friday and busy the service was very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    116
    34
    15
    13
See reviews for
46
154
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were really surprised by the quality of the room. Its the first time we have stayed in a Witherspoon Hotel but we will certainly consider them in the future. Although parking is a bit of a lottery with only around 8 free spaces we were all pretty lucky. There is a large supermarket car park close by if necessary.
Reception was quick and efficient and we were allocated a top floor room (315, I think). To get our bags up there was a bit of a chore and somewhat of a labyrinth (no lift) but the room itself was excellent. Large, clean with both a bath and power shower we were impressed. The single glazed sash windows were a little drafty and very prone to condensation but we had a side on view of the fabulous cathedral. Heating in the room was fine as was the flat screen TV and coffee facilities.
Of course, no meals were included in our New Year break but we found the breakfasts were to everyone's taste and the beer prices made the room seem a bargain. Thank you Unicorn!

Room Tip: Go high for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is in the market place, well placed for visiting Ripon. There is a long stay car park behind the hotel which was £2 for 24 hrs and not far to walk. The receptionist was helpful and polite and the room was a pleasant surprise. The decor was very modern, the bed king size and the room large with the original fireplace restored and part of the room. There was a tea tray and mineral water plus a hair dryer.For £34.50 this was good value for money. The only downside was noise outside at the back of the bar and some noise from the nearby night club, but not enough to be a problem. As we stayed on a Friday this was perhaps worse than other weekdays.We had lunch for less than £6 for both of us . This was our first stay at a Wetherspoons hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Newly furnished and pristine rooms. Amazing value for money at under £40 a double room. Very friendly and helpful staff at front desk as well as at the bar downstairs. We didn't know what to expect from a JD Weatherspoons hotel. Will be looking for more of these in future trips.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Firstly, we got the room for £34.50 which we thought was a bargain so were not going to be too concerned if the place was a dump. We parked around the back in the overnight carpark (only a couple of quid) and checked in. The lady on the desk was very pleasant and very efficient. We were then told we could put the car in their own carpark round the back of the hotel for nothing so i shifted the car and it spent the night there. The room (208) was immaculately clean and had a modern feel to it. Everything was spotless!!! We were well chuffed as we've stayed in some more expensive places that arent up to this standard. The bed was fantasticly comfy and we both slept soundly (that might have been partly booze fuelled) Ok, so the price of the room doesn't include breakfast, but we knew this already and for about 6 quid downstairs, we were both completely satisfied. The hotel is situated right in the centre of Ripon with easy access for everything the city and the surrounding area has to offer. There isnt a great deal to do on a damp, cold Thursday night in Ripon, but we made the most of it and had ourselves a little pub crawl. Lets break it down. £34.50 for the room, £6 for breakfast and £14 for a case of 24 corona from rhythm and booze up the road :-) If that was available anywhere in the country you'd probably take up the offer. I would recommend anyone wanting a clean comfortable stay in a hotel to use The unicorn, we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Really good place to stay. Quiet top floor room, very clean, tea & coffee facilities and modern bathroom. Excellent position on the square with easy access to places to eat and drink. Nice place for a drink in the afternoon and the breakfast was really good value. No need to pay anymore. Would definitely stay there again. Great place to use as a base for exploring the area just watch out for market day which is Thursday. They set up from quite early in the morning which did create a bit of noise but other than that the whole stay was very good.

The staff on reception and in the bar are polite and helpful. We would stay in a Whetherspoons again. Good choice of beer and usual value for money too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wetherspoons have brought their highly effective formula to Ripon, refurbing a tired old hotel on Ripon's Marketplace. It's not haute cuisine but if you're looking for somewhere that's convenient and with a decent range of food and beers, including some very well-priced options then you can't go too far wrong. It does get very busy but it is deceptively big, with a large back bar so usually no problem to get in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn

Address: Market Place East, Ripon HG4 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Unicorn Hotel has been at the heart of hospitality in Ripon, one of Britain's smallest cities, since medieval times. This former coaching inn has 33 en-suite rooms, two bars, and dining facilities. Close to Fountains Abbey, a world heritage site, and the beautiful Yorkshire Dales National Park, Ripon is one of the North's best kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Unicorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Unicorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.