We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Base for Exploring Ripon and Yorkshire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Box Tree Cottages

Box Tree Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Box Tree Cottages
Coltsgate Hill, Ripon HG4 2AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Ripon B&B and Inns
Paris
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Base for Exploring Ripon and Yorkshire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I enjoyed a four night stay at Box Tree Cottages last month as neither myself or my mother had visited Ripon before. We chose the Cottages after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and also for its location. The centre of Ripon is only a few minutes away and the car parking on site is extremely useful.

The Cottages are 3 old cottages knocked into one B&B with the two sets of owners living either end of the row. They alternate weeks of work which seems an ideal solution for them! They were very welcoming and keen for everyone to be on first name terms straight away.

Our room was delightful, full of character and a really good size. It was quiet and we slept well. The bathroom contained a walk in shower and the towels were changed daily. Everywhere was kept very clean and the beds were comfortable. There was plenty of storage and hanging space and a kettle etc for that all important morning cup of tea.

We did however find it rather strange to have to decide what we wanted for our breakfast the night before! We had to complete an order form each night and hand it in by 9.00pm. We would much rather have been able to choose on the day. Also the lack of fresh fruit for breakfast was a little disappointing, there was only prunes and tinned grapefruit. The cooked breakfast itself was perfectly acceptable. I should just add that you do not have individual tables for breakfast, there are two tables that you share with your fellow guests. This may not be to everyone's liking!

As to Ripon it is very pleasant and the Cathedral is well worth a visit. Also at 9.00pm each night in the Square the Horn Blower comes out to blow his horn and gives an interesting chat about the history of this tradition. Ripon is close to Fountains Abbey and Newby Hall plus many other attractions.

We would recommend the Chinese restaurant on the Square, one of the best banquets we have had in ages. Also we visited Azores Mediterranean Restaurant, 2a Kirkgate, Ripon twice. It was really excellent and there was entertainment both nights, a Spanish guitarist and a magician coming around the tables made for something a little different. The food was great and it had a really lively atmosphere.

Box Tree Cottages are well worth a stay if you are visiting Ripon and you will be assured of a warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
35
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

This B&B is a treasure - Wonderful position - Beautiful grounds.
We have just returned from a two night stay - the room was spacious clean and comfortable.
The owners were very friendly and accomodating - would stay again.
Highly recommended :)

  • Liked — The clean and spacious room
  • Disliked — Th ebed was a bit too hard
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

What a lovely place to stay. The room was lovely with everything you could ask for. The owners are very friendly and call you by your names . This bed and breakfast is in a beautiful setting which overlooks the church. We will stay again.

Carolyn and Shaun
Milton Keynes

  • Liked — Had everything you could ask for,home from home
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Extremely friendly and sincere welcome, to a homely and pleasant lodging located only 2 minutes walk from the centre of Ripon.
The 2 couples who run Box Tree Cottages are exceptionally friendly and make you feel like the place is your home for the duration of your stay. The food was very good and the rooms are maintained to a high standard.
I would highly recommend Box Tree Cottages.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Found the Boxtree Cottages from tripadvisor and booked direct by phone. The property is very close to the centre of Ripon, a pleasant market town at the Eastern edge of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales and just 3 miles from the World Heritage site of Foutains Abbey.
The property is the conversion of several old cottages, on a quiet street and is set in a nice garden and has excellent off-street parking. From the property it is a 5 minute walk to the Market Square.
Boxtree Cottages are run by two couples who take it in turn to be the charming, helpful hosts. We met B&B (Barbara and Brian) who looked after us very well.
The rooms are great. We had a twin (room 2) which is spacious and has an excellent ensuite bathroom. TV, tea/coffee making etc are all provided. Breakfast was full Yorkshire and great. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

If (when?) you stay at Boxtree cottages, be sure to see the nightly ceremony of the Ripon Wakeman in the Market Square. At 9pm prompt he blows his horn to set the watch to ensure that the citizens are safe - he has been doing this for 1122 years (i.e since 866AD)!

  • Liked — The position
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

Lovely B&B, very friendly welcome. Right in the heart of Ripon. Rooms all ensuite, very comfortable and spacious. Lots of information. Delicious breakfast. Hosts very helpful. Reasonable price.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable and friendly
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Box Tree Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Tree Cottages

Address: Coltsgate Hill, Ripon HG4 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very quietly situated 200 year old property set in large gardens and close to the centre of Ripon. Friendly owners, comfortable rooms, an attention to detail and good food make your visit enjoyable. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Box Tree Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Box Tree Cottages to your Saves list