We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ripon workhouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Workhouse Museum

Workhouse Museum
Allhallowgate, Ripon HG4 1LE, England
01765 690799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Attractions in Ripon
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Newcastle upon tyne England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“ripon workhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a very pleasant time touring round a well maintained workhouse with staff who had a genuine interest in making your visit enjoyable.The visit gave a good representation of how life really was in the workhouse and why most peole gave it a wide berth.It was a very hard life and not one which you would have willingly entered into unless under extreme circumstances.Isobel

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spooky goings on?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have to confess I am a Huge Sceptic of any Ghostly goings on,I really went to accompany my wife. I remain a sceptic but cannot knock 'Simply Ghosts' who ran the 6hour vigil, their enthusiasm and array of equipment was something to behold!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“spooky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

fantastic place gives a real feeling of the times it was used ,its a place that will intrest all ages .its so bleak and must have been terrible for the people that had no other choice than the work house
to turn too its a pity that they could not use it for some people now they then might think how lucky they are with there free hand outs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A must-visit in Ripon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We visited this fantastic museum on a great-value combined ticket to see all three Ripon museums. It was incredibly interesting, with fascinating interpretation showing what life in the workhouse would have been like. There are only 3 preserved workhouses in the country and so it really is worth a visit. Much has remained intact and you get a real feeling for daily life. The other museums, the Courthouse and Police museum are also fantastic with lots of interesting artefacts. There is lots to do for children in all of them with dressing up and discovery trails. Highly recommended as part of any trip to this lovely City.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Our second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited a couple of years ago and the kids still talk about it now, so we took the opportunity to take some other family members there.
We bought an annual family pass for all three museums which are all really interesting - for visitors of all ages. Great value at just under a fiver each.
Our Gran was petrified of going in the workhouse, so it was interesting to see why that was the case.
There have been some changes to layout and content to add some variety, since our last visit. The police mug shots of some of the "ne'er do wells" of Ripon are an interesting touch.
The kids liked dressing up and being photographed "behind bars" and there was a bit of stuff to gently spook them, like the mortuary slab.
When staying in the area, these museums are bolt holes on a wet afternoon but saying that there is a walk from the car parks and between the three sites, so don't forget to take a brolly!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Workhouse Museum also viewed

 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Workhouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Workhouse Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.