We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at Fountain Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountain Guest House
Save
You added Fountain Guest House to your Saves list
25 North Road, Ripon HG4 1JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Ripon B&B and Inns
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great weekend at Fountain Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

Excellent experience for a small town B&B. Well appointed large double room (triple room looked great too). Great powerful shower. Tasty English breakfast - cereal, fruit juice, toast and fry up. Friendly owner.

My wife can be put off by staying in B&Bs (childhood memories of sharing loo's with the owner's family etc). This like most modern B&Bs offer privacy, access 24 hours a day (we were back late from a wedding), and the family live in a separate area to the guest accommodation so you don't feel like you are imposing. Would recommend over identikit chain hotels for a pleasant, good quality experience.

Booked direct with the owner via his website - http://www.fountainhouseripon.co.uk/

  • Liked — Great spacious room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
54
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wirral uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Ripon is a great base for seeing the likes of Fountains Abbey, Studley and other attractions in the York area.

York is great but can be overcrowded, a bit on the pricey side and parking is a pain, Ripon is laid back and relaxed, with a good choice of pubs and restaurants for all tastes around the market square. The Minster is beautiful, and theres a real market town feel to the place rather than being a tourist trap.

The Fountain House is in a great spot just off the A61 (easy to find), but only a 5 minute walk into town.

The owner is friendly and attentive without being in your face, and he cooks a great breakfast. The family room is enormous with nice touches, like the soap/shampoo miniatures in the bathroom and local biscuits with the tea/coffee. The only suggestion I would make is getting a visa facility. We only realised while we were there (our fault) that they only take cash/cheque, but thats certainly not a grumble, and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place.

  • Liked — Friendly welcome, relaxed feel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

from arrival to departure we felt valued guests. we would not hesitate to recomend this hotel.breakfast was superb and nothing was to much trouble even catering for my wifes need for fruit tea and lemon juice.well be back soon, thanks for having us

  • Liked — cleanliness, fiendliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokfulam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We have stayed at Fountain House on numerous occasions since the guest house opened in 2005, booking at different times both the Deluxe Double and the Large Double. These rooms are enormous and beautifully appointed by any standard against you wish to judge them - they leave most five star hotel rooms looking small and ordinary, let alone their peer group's rooms. We have also viewed the twin room which we feel, contrary to an earlier Trip Advisor review, to be extremely comfortable with an equally large and well appointed bathroom. The proprietors are welcoming, very friendly and knowledgable about the surrounding areas and local restaurants. In our experience they have always gone out of their way to accomodate our every need. Prior to 2005 we have stayed in almost all the other guest houses in Ripon but nothing compares to the quality of accomodation and service offered at Fountain House. Very strongly recommended.

  • Liked — Huge well appointed rooms, welcoming proprietors, convenient location, beautiful town.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

We stayed at Fountains house for two nights and have had a really enjoyable stay.
The deluxe room that we stayed in was very big and had lovely original features such as fire place etc....
The owner was very friendly and was flexible about breakfast times/choices.
The positioning of the house is great, enough out of the town centre so it is quiet but close enough (10 min walk) to go in have dinner/drink.
We visited the cathedral during the day and the curry house and a couple of local pubs by night and had a nice time. The location of the B&B is great to use as a base for exploring further afield into other areas of north Yorkshire.

All in all for the price this B&B was great. If you want a quiet weekend break in ripon i would def recommend!

  • Liked — The room's space and orginal features
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

One night booked here whilst travelling on business through Yorkshire. A very quiet location and a comfy room, close to the lovely town of Ripon and I agree that the restaurant recommendations were very helpful. Excellent value for money and deserves to do well.

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

This little B & B was clean with a good English BK. Our room were simple but clean. This location was close to market square. The staff was friendly and helpful! I would recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Guest House

Address: 25 North Road, Ripon HG4 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fountain Guest House is a beautiful Victorian terrace situated less than 10 minutes walk from Ripon’s market place, cathedral and city centre. Many of the period features remain in the house including its high ceilings and sweeping staircase. The three en-suite bedrooms are elegantly decorated with period pieces. The River Ure is on our doorstep providing an ideal location for countryside walks. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.