We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Yorkshire Welcome!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountain Guest House
Save
You added Fountain Guest House to your Saves list
25 North Road, Ripon HG4 1JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Ripon B&B and Inns
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Warm Yorkshire Welcome!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My partner & I stayed here twice recently, once on our way to Aberdeen and again the following week on our return home. Each time we had the same warm welcome from Scott, the owner. The place is decorated and furnished to a high standard, and is spotlessly clean, fresh bedding and towels etc. And as for the breakfast ... you'd have to go a long way to beat it! Also, Ripon is a lovely little town to visit with a picturesque cathedral and quaint market-place, well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
54
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rushden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I book rooms for people I work with, owners always helpfull and whilst have never stayed there personally,

The reports back from the lads are always good so it takes pressure away from finding nice accomodation for working away,

Lovely,

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed in this B&B in July 2011. It is situated on the main road to the center of the village, but yet just the right distance not to be in the hassle and busy area. The place was spotless and though it`s only a small B&B the room was surprisingly spacious. We had the front room so we also benefited from a large (very large) window, which my son really enjoyed looking from. Scott is a very polite person and he certainly knows his job well, by the way he also does great Breakfast.
I certainly suggest it to whoever want to explore that area, and also for those that like us love the Great Yorkshire Show, as Ripon is close enough to Harrogate but better prices.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe double room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

If you're going to Yorkshire, no matter where you're going, you need to stay at Fountain Guest House in Ripon. The city itself (as small as a town but with a lovely Cathedral!) has some fascinating museums and places of interest, but just short drives will also take you to fabulous places such as Fountains Abbey and Newby Hall and Ripley Castle (with fabulous ice cream to be found in the charming village of Ripley). It's also not a long drive to the city of York and countless other must see destinations.
The reason you must stay at Fountain Guest House if you're visiting the county of Yorkshire, is that you won't find anywhere better to stay. The family who own and run it are some of the loveliest, friendliest people I've ever met and they keep the house in wonderful condition, beautifully furnished and perfectly clean. The breakfast is always delicious, the rooms always warm and inviting and the hosts always go out of their way to ensure a delightful stay where you feel so very welcome.
I've stayed with them many times and they always remember me and our previous conversations, even if it's been a year between visits! The little details they put into each room, such as hot chocolate for those (like me) who don't drink tea or coffee, never go amiss. Each room has everything you could possibly need or want from good tv to lovely power showers to drinks and biscuits that are somehow always just what you needed.
I've stayed with a cousin of mine on more than one occasion and she too, as a keen traveller, has always said how Fountain Guest House makes every other guest house and b&b pale in comparison.
Put simply, it's the best place I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in everywhere from the Ritz on Central Park to a 5 star wine estate in Cape Town. Nowhere can match them for comfort and friendliness so you feel like you're in a home away from home.
I look forward to many more visits in the future!

Room Tip: I've stayed in every room and they're all great but obviously each is a different size cater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Cheerful welcome from Scott. 10-year old duaghter and I enjoyed a peaceful stay. One of the few Ripon B&Bs not to charge a surchard for one-night stays on a weekend!
We enjoyed an easy 10 min walk to the city centre to hear the nightly watchman telling potted history and crying the night watch. Good breakfast, with entertaining list of animals shot by local duke last century

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

5 of us stayed on the coast-to-coast cycle ride. Great welcome from Scott. Bikes stashed securely. Big clean rooms. Best breakfast we had. Easy walk to the town. Recommended.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Delicious breakfast, beautiful rooms and great value. A real gem of the north, we're trying to find an excuse to come back and stay again sometime!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Guest House

Address: 25 North Road, Ripon HG4 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fountain Guest House is a beautiful Victorian terrace situated less than 10 minutes walk from Ripon’s market place, cathedral and city centre. Many of the period features remain in the house including its high ceilings and sweeping staircase. The three en-suite bedrooms are elegantly decorated with period pieces. The River Ure is on our doorstep providing an ideal location for countryside walks. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.