We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, original, delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polly put the Kettle on

Polly put the Kettle on
Handpicked Hall | North Street, Ripon, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 59 restaurants in Ripon
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fresh, original, delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This vintage tea room is just off the market place in Handpicked Hall, and is a must visit if you are in Ripon. The tea room is vintage style (proper bone china and very good loose leaf tea) and is light, cosy and friendly. The food is really good, based on local ingredients and all home made - everything from the soup to all the cakes. I found myself returning every day during an all too short 3 day stay in this lovely city and can particularly recommend the soup and sandwich combo, the fun milkshakes and the fabulous cakes. All sandwiches are made to order, so are totally fresh. The other thing I liked about this tea room is that there was a real mixture of age groups there - some yummy Mummys but also older people, singles, families etc. Also important to note that prices are very competitive and represent really good value for money (well we are in Yorkshire !). Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect tea shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I love this tea shop. It has everything you would want. Good service, excellent food and a smile from Hatty the owner.
We like the fact that we can eat real home made chocolate cake, drink tea out of china cups and relax on a comfy seat.
What more could you want? Don't miss this little gem on your trip to Ripon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marvellous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I am a regular visitor to this gem of a cafe. All the food is home made and delicious. The atmosphere is so friendly and customers seem to chat to each other even though they have not met before. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Gorgeous, welcoming vintage tea room with homemade goodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A vintage inspired tea room with a welcoming host and delicious homemade cakes and specials. Would highly recommend the Mars bar slice. Tea is loose leaf and comes served in bone china and the 'afternoon tea' is an absolute bargain at just £9 per person! A perfect spot to meet friends or have a family lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely little tearoom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely little tearoom, with a good selection of quality teas, tasty sandwiches and delicious cakes and scones. Highly recommend the milkshake served in a milk bottle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polly put the Kettle on also viewed

 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Polly put the Kettle on? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polly put the Kettle on, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.