We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely cafe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver's Pantry

Oliver's Pantry
86 North Street, Ripon HG4 1DP, England
01765 600548
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 62 Restaurants in Ripon
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Bakery, British, Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
North Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Knowing we were going to Ripon I had a look here on trip advisor and liked the reviews for Olivers.
What I would like to say is that it is a very nice cafe to visit, we had a light lunch which was very nice indeed and were made to feel welcome from the young staff members who were very helpfull.
If ever we were nearby again we would not hesitate to visit Olivers again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    48
    18
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super cafe, great addition to Ripon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Have visited Oliver's several times with friends and family.

The food can be great, usually a good bet to stick to the sandwiches menu, but the coffee is always superb and they have a lovely selection of teas. As a regular I would appreciate more variety in the food choices.

Overall it's a really fun place to visit and is nearly always busy which in itself speaks volumes.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just driving through and fancied a Breakfast stop. After looking around we saw Oliver's and decided to pop in. from the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome. The staff were happy, cheerful and welcoming. A table was moved specially to accommodate us.
The mix of tables / chairs led to an excellent ambiance. Having decided on a full breakfast my only complaint was the choice of alternatives - There was too much and I wanted it All!!!
Then the food arrived - It was heaven. Every last morsel from the Slow Roasted tomatoes to the Local Ripon Sausage was divine.
We enjoyed it so much we bought some cake for later in the journey and that too was superb. It is a shame we are not returning home that way as I have to eat there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brill friendly little place. Love it. The best in Ripon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food and lovely coffee. What's not toile about this place. Portion sizes have reduced quite a bit from when it opened making it a tad on the expensive side but I still go every weekend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best in Ripon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Absolutely adore Olivers. Staff are warm and friendly, atmosphere is great and enjoyable whether alone or with family/friends. Food and drink extremely tasty with old favourites and modern creations alike available on the menu. The quirky nature of the interior is charming. Not enough days off in the week to visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Pantry also viewed

 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Oliver's Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver's Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.