We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Swinton Park to your Saves list
Swinton Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights during a works training course.
I can honestly say I cannot think of a dingle thing to moan about (apart from the weather)
The food was excellent, the staff were very friendly, the room was huge and clean, the bathroom was out of this world.
The decor wasn't my style (very old) but it suited the rest of the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    79
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
95
459
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at Swinton park for our anniversary plus a dozen or so close friends.
We adored the rooms which are all so totally gorgeous and individual. The staff were helpful in the extreme in showing us all the available rooms so that we could choose the best in advance of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble.
I have to mention that each room gets complimentary decanters of Whiskey Gin. They were emptied!
The setting and grounds are beautiful and to wake up to see the Deer wandering close by is delightful.
We had the Bridal suite which was the size of a decent apartment with a HUGE canopy bed that you could get lost in. The room sizes were enormous with a full size attached lounge.
The private dining experience with private pre dinner drinks was faultless and the whole experience was one that we will all cherish for a long time.
We know the surrounding area well and would not know where to start recommending to visit as there is so much to see and do.

Thank you to all the staff involved.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I booked Swinton Park for a small work conference. There were 8 of us in total, there for 2 days staying 1 night.

The Library was excellent for our needs and the staff could not have been more helpful. Before the event, the arrangements and timings changed many times and these were all accommodated without any problem. Even on the day we needed to change the times of lunches etc and it was never a problem.

I would definitely recommend the treasure hunt - it was a fun way to get some fresh air after a long day of meetings.

The lunches, dinners, breakfasts were all fantastic and way beyond our expectations. We went to the games room after dinner which was excellent for team building!

All of the staff were friendly and extremely helpful and the bedrooms were all immaculate and very luxurious.

Having stayed in similar hotels in previous years for the same event, Switon Park was far superior. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Set in parkland, surrounded by deer and rabbits, this a stately-home hotel (think Downton Abbey) which has an excellent restaurant and fun activities for the kids. We visited with our ten, nine and six year olds who loved the horse riding and the birds of prey center. They had such fun on a lesson and trek in the morning at the pony center that they returned the same afternoon for a second lesson and ride (Thank you Fiona) . We were very impressed by the quality of the instructors and the care they took of our horse riding novices. Thank you Jane and Tim. Sophie at the bird of prey center soon had owls and hawks landing on our children's outstretched hands. Although the hotel is outstanding in its own right, the activities for children at the trekking and the bird centers turn it into an unforgettable experience. Having happy and delighted children made our stay much better too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have just returned from 4 days at Swinton park and I just want to say it was AMAZING!! From the second that we arrived until the second we left nothing was too much trouble.If we were relaxing in our room we were asked when was the best time for the cleaning staff to come back. If we were walking round the hotel ,we were greeted warmly and asked if there was anything that we needed. When we went to the spa I felt that we were treated as if we were special, nothing was too much trouble, despite us changing some treatments to suit ourselves.
The restaurant and food were just perfect, the tables just far enough apart and the waiters just there to cater to every whim.My only complaint wasthat I found the whole hotel cold.The dining room was freezing and we had to wear a lot of layers down to breakfast and dinner. Our room was cold but that was rectified immeadiately by a portable heater. A swimming pool would be nice and I hear one is about to be built as is a bigger spa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was a less than mediocre experience.
My Wife and I had booked this as a different sort of Dining experience for our wedding anniversary treat. The website made it sound very attractive. Arrive at the hotel, transportation to the deer house, extensive menu etc.
On arrival we were told that we had to drive up to the deer house. (OK thought this was due to appalling weather) Good job we had a 4x4! On reaching the deer house we saw that there were lit braziers outside and a chef barbecuing in an adjacent marquee. Inside the deer house we were greeted by a miserable gathering of fellow guests, clad in coats, scarves etc. no welcome from staff or explanation of meal format. We were offered a drink of pyms. And shown the other purchasable drinks on offer.
Food was then brought to the side tables and we were ushered into the dining area. The dining area and table was well decorated with flowers etc. we then got up to serve ourselves from the buffet. Chicken drumsticks, chicken breasts, spicy very mini lamb burgers, bread, butter, calamari, sausages and assorted salads. There was a woeful lack of serving spoons, no indication of the contents on the menu, to be honest I've cooked better barbecues at home! I had to guess at the lamb burgers because they were so heavily spiced you couldn't tell what taste it was!
Main course over, the sweet was served ........2 choices...a raspberry sort of Eton mess in a glass or a small raspberry tartlet, no accompanying cream? We finished off with coffee.......it took the waiter 20mins to find some decaf for my wife as initially he said he didn't have any. not even an after eight mint chocolate!
To sum up....the evening started at 7pm we left before 9pm as did several other couples (some had left before us) I know it wasn't good weather but no effort was made to create any sort of ambience. It was very much 'help yourself and get on with it. I felt very disappointed for the family birthday gathering who also had to suffer a leaking roof at their end of the table. For the price of this experience £35 per head and the price of accompanying drinks ie £5 for a bottled black sheep bitter! We were extremely disappointed (and it had nothing to do with the weather.) Good job we hadn't travelled far for this.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding Of Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We attended a BBQ Cook & Lunch event at Swinton Park on 25 May 2014. We were escorted to our venue from the main hotel in a minibus and were warmly welcomed by our chef and tutor, Steve. The weather could have been better, but the actual BBQ equipment was under cover so not an issue. The food we were to cook was already prepared and I was very impressed with the different foods we were to cook. Even bread!! There was a relaxed yet informative atmosphere on the course. The Deerhouse where we ate our lunch "that we cooked ourselves" was lovely and quaint. It was beautifully laid out with linen tablecloths and proper crockery etc. Not the usual plastic outdoor equipment you get at BBQ's!! There were blankets and heaters already alight due to the weather, and a waiter from the main hotel was in attendance. Another great feature was that Steve ate with us and continued giving out great cooking tips and stories from his career. To top off an already impressive event, we were served dessert too. What more could you ask for? Steve's email address with a promise of recipes and advice perhaps? Consider it done. We are now looking for other courses to attend. Thanks a lot Steve!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.