We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate, perfect, wonderful stay (plus super dog-friendly)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Swinton Park to your Saves list
Swinton Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“First rate, perfect, wonderful stay (plus super dog-friendly)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Swinton Park is so good I almost don't want to write a review as I want to keep it all to myself! We came here on the first night of our honeymoon and were bowled over. Beautiful parkland setting (think deer roaming the grounds) with fantastic signed walks perfect for us and the dog and wonderful little spots to discover like the walled garden. Hugely impressive inside: grand reception, portrait-lined halls, a domed ex-chapel bar, large drawing room complete with comfy wing back chairs and fire, billiards room etc etc. It still has the air of an ancestral family home with plenty of family portraits and history on view.

Our (first) room, the Richmond Suite, was fab: nice views over courtyard, spacious, clean. And how refreshing not to feel second class because we had the dog! She got a bed, bowls, and a welcome chew; there's a boot room and dog towels for drying off (as well as it appears lots of coats and boots for guests to borrow). And the staff made a big fuss of our old lady Lab Daisy. It's really well thought through for dogs and owners.

The restaurant is great (full review of our first meal on Squaremeal), good food in a lovely setting, and some of it sourced from the grounds (rabbits beware!). Breakfast equally impressive.

But it's the personal touches which make you feel at home: welcoming smiles from staff who remember your name; complimentary gin and whisky snifters in the room; a handwritten welcome note from the owner; the manager finding you at breakfast to ask how your stay was. So wonderful we decided to stop in here on the last night of our honeymoon on the way home!

Our second room (Thorp Perrow) was equally great and, whilst not a suite, was absolutely huge. It was nice to be remembered on our return and that made us feel very welcome.

There's a small spa apparently which we didn't use but I look forward to trying out another time.

A huge thanks for making us feel so at home and congratulations to the owners who have made this independent hotel feel utterly unique, personal and special. We look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: I suspect equal pride is taken over the presentation of every room! Richmond Suite and Thorp Perrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    79
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
95
459
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having celebrated my 50th the day before my surprise visit to Swinton park, this was the ultimate icing on the cake for me & I shall definitely return.
From start to finish, the greeting,the service and the fantastic food were indeed second to none and having been to some super hotels and restaurants all over the world, I feel qualified to make such a statement..
Our room 'Bradford', had double aspect views and what glorious views they were and whilst we were dining we had the pleasure of seeing a herd of white deer(fallow I believe?)grazing in the field outside the dining room window.
The grounds were amazing and during our short stay my wife and I managed two good walks to take in as much of the amazing landscape as we could...Thanks Swinton Park and all of your staff for a birthday surprise to remember...Nick and Dawn Dainton

Room Tip: We would have liked to have been able to open the bathroom window to let some natural air circulate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

It's place is stunning. The grounds, rooms and expecially the staff were amazing. We stayed for two nights for our daughters wedding, the staff were kept busy at all times but the coped extremely well, always very polite, friendly without being intrusive, everyone of them kept smiling and asking if there was anything that could be done. The general rooms were beautiful well cared, we had the run of the hotel after using one room the staff would move in and transform it or reset it seamlessly.
The Bedrooms varied from the simple very comfortable bedrooms through to the Turret room and the Wensleydale suite every amenity that you would require was provided, down to a decanter of gin and whiskey with mixers (no mini bar here!).
A really excellent venue for weekend aways or as we had done a wedding.
Truly wonderful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We attended a wedding at Swinton Park recently and the hotel, grounds, facilities and service were fantastic. The staff were so helpful and friendly despite being extremely busy. The relaxed atmosphere made you feel at ease and children had freedom to roam in the playroom and outside grounds without causing any disruption to the celebrations. A beautiful venue and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed just at the Swinton Park for just one night to celebrate my husbands 'special' birthday and was very memorable. We expected a first class experience and that is definately what we got, from the warm welcome with birthday wishes on arrival to the splendour of this most impressive stately home bedroom, The 5* dining experience was just beyond words! This Hotel has to be one of the finest in the North of England if not the UK. We enjoyed a very restful stay which had the added touch of some most welcome spring sunshine, this made our walk through the vast parkland a real pleasure. We intend to return very soon, our thanks to all the Staff for making this a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Swinton Park is the family home of the Cunliffe-Listers, and its conversion to a country hotel has done nothing to detract from the historic atmosphere and comfort of this baronial seat. the staff were notable for their friendly efficiency; the food in the restaurant was outstanding , and the bedrooms were clean comfiortable and well equipped. The extensive grounds offer opportunities for pleasant walks and diners ought to be impressed by the magnificent dining room, with views over the parkland and gardens and where herds of deer can regularly be seen. Moreover, the cost of dinner bed and breakfast represented excellent value for money. All in all, a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What can I say - Amazing place and grounds, friendly, helpful staff who bent over backwards to help me, fantastic food, immaculate in terms of cleanliness. Can't wait to go back. A romantic walk by the lakes recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Swaledale Room - bath is brilliant - the room was even better than I thought it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.