We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitors to Swinton park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swinton Park to your Saves list
Swinton Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Visitors to Swinton park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We attended a wedding at Swinton Park recently and the hotel, grounds, facilities and service were fantastic. The staff were so helpful and friendly despite being extremely busy. The relaxed atmosphere made you feel at ease and children had freedom to roam in the playroom and outside grounds without causing any disruption to the celebrations. A beautiful venue and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    65
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
84
423
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed just at the Swinton Park for just one night to celebrate my husbands 'special' birthday and was very memorable. We expected a first class experience and that is definately what we got, from the warm welcome with birthday wishes on arrival to the splendour of this most impressive stately home bedroom, The 5* dining experience was just beyond words! This Hotel has to be one of the finest in the North of England if not the UK. We enjoyed a very restful stay which had the added touch of some most welcome spring sunshine, this made our walk through the vast parkland a real pleasure. We intend to return very soon, our thanks to all the Staff for making this a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Swinton Park is the family home of the Cunliffe-Listers, and its conversion to a country hotel has done nothing to detract from the historic atmosphere and comfort of this baronial seat. the staff were notable for their friendly efficiency; the food in the restaurant was outstanding , and the bedrooms were clean comfiortable and well equipped. The extensive grounds offer opportunities for pleasant walks and diners ought to be impressed by the magnificent dining room, with views over the parkland and gardens and where herds of deer can regularly be seen. Moreover, the cost of dinner bed and breakfast represented excellent value for money. All in all, a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What can I say - Amazing place and grounds, friendly, helpful staff who bent over backwards to help me, fantastic food, immaculate in terms of cleanliness. Can't wait to go back. A romantic walk by the lakes recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Swaledale Room - bath is brilliant - the room was even better than I thought it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A stunning building set on a small rise commanding fabulous views over its own grounds and the surrounding countryside. We were sadly staying only one night, before spending a day at the cookery school . The warmest of welcomes with equally warm and friendly staff, set the standard. Our room was elegant and beautifully appointed. The en suite was about the same size as the room.. Complimentary alcoholic drinks we provided on arrival in our room.
The hotel were well prepared for our arrival and informed us that we had drinks at eight followed by dinner at eight thirty , waiting for us. The restaurAnt was large and airy,though very quiet. It was surrounded by beautiful gardens easily viewed though the large windows, which, especially at breakfast, let inlets of light.
The food was of the highest standard. We went for the taster menu with wine matching, which we felt was good value for money. Throughout the meal the staff were attentive without being intrusive, making us feel that nothing was too much trouble.
On this occasion we did not take advantage of the hot tub, sauna or spa facilities, though we will absolutely go back and sample the next time.
The hotel even provides the loan of specialist clothing, in a you forgot to packet,us has wax jackets, swimwear and even wellington boots.
They offer a full range of activities for guests of every age and even dogs are welcome .
We were told of their exciting ten year plan for the development and expansion of the facilities, which sounded very exciting. We were just sad that we weren't staying longer. Maybe next time?

Room Tip: Make sure you know where you are going. My sat nav was not very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

been lots of times . stop in most of rooms inc the turret . best hotel . recommennd it 100% . lots to do . inc forests walks in grounds . masham good to call at . very very very special hotel .lots to do . food service spot on

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The castle is wonderful. Everything is prepared for your comfort. Forests and lakes are beautiful. My husband and I stayed in a wonderful room with a huge bath next to the room of our daughters. love and recommend.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with the family requests the interconnecting family suite. The rooms are connec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.